We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the 2013 award it received and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Deserves the 2013 award it received and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Restaurant manager and christy particularly helpful and efficient.
The hotel reception staff were friendly and welcoming
The information given on booking was relevant . The food well presented and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    236
    104
    33
    8
See reviews for
105
404
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a great experience here. Staff was very friendly and the hotel was fab. Rooms were lovely and clean, just what you expect and as other reviewers have said, I found the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and I only wish I had had the time to experience the spa. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We appreciate all our good reviews; it’s great to see our hard work appreciated by the most important person, you, the guest. We will look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future and we will try to make your next stay even better than the last.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel meets 4-star expectations in terms of room & amenities... bed was very comfortable, (with greater sleep quality than the 5 star hotel we stayed at in Dublin earlier)

Service staff especially at the front desk were exceptional. There were 2 ladies (unfortunately I cannot remember their names but they worked the morning shift on Aug 10 & 11) who were most obliging and helpful even when we wanted to move shortly after checking in , when we felt it may be noisy as the rooms face carparks and are without air-conditioning. They helped check for alternative hotels - as it was the peak season, several hotels were full , so we stayed. Stay turned out to be fine

Room Tip: All rooms face carparks .... but avoid the ones that face the delivery entrance and rubbish dumpster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very proud of the team of staff members we have here at the hotel, especially at the reception desk. They are the first impression the guest is given of the hotel and it is a good one. The two ladies were Ciara and Danielle and ill be sure to pass along your review to them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I can honestly say that I really love staying in the Riverside in Killarney, it is so near the town and an excuse to walk in and out of the town. The staff are very friendly and helful..The breakfasts are lovely but there could be more choice. Meals are lovely.. The only disadvantage about the hotel is that their is no leisure centre and I think that is what it really needs it. I am looking forward to another trip to the Riverside in the Autumn. Claire

Room Tip: There is no seimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. And thank you for your kind words about the staff, it really is the people that make the hotel what it is and it always pleases me to see that other people notice. Please let us know at the hotel when you intend to return so we can do our best to make your next stay even better than the last.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillimh, Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for an overnight at the last minute and were very surprised at the standard and quality of the location and the professionalism of the staff, upon arrival the lobby was welcoming and the receptionist was most helpful and courteous.The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable and clean. The room was of a good standard throughout. Breakfast was very tasty with table service and a good selection of buffet cereals and juices, asking the server for a Gluten free breakfast was no problem and they even had gluten free bread. Overall this hotel was a good experience and I would recommend it to friends and I definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. W are very proud of the team of staff members we have here at the hotel, they are always in great spirits and that seems to rub off on the guests so its always nice to have them acknowledged for it. Please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel should you wish to and let us know we you are a return guest so we can make the next trip as good if not better than this.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of August 2013. I must say I was very satified with every aspect of the hotel. The hotel reception is very big and clean and the people on thr reception were lovely. There were 5 of us on the trip so we got a double room and a triple room. I stayed in the triple room which was very spacious and comfortable. We expected to be given a double bed and a single bed but were pleasently surprised to find a double and 2 singles! The double room was lovely also. The bathroom was very clean and our room was cleaned daily. The only small problem which I had was that breakfast wasn't added into the price of our room and being a group of students we are very money conscious. We walked into Killarney town itself every morning instead which was fine seen as the town is so close. I would definitely reccommend this hotel to a friend or family member and would stay here again if I was returning to Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We try our best to ensure that each and every guest has the most enjoyable stay possible. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all the staff; I know they will appreciate it.

I’m sorry your breakfast wasn't included; sometimes when it is booked online our guests are not clear what is included in the package. If you do decide to stay with us again please ring our own reservations department; we do great rates for return guests and will be clear on what the package includes.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

four star hotel no leisure centre, poor selection for breakfast. dinner was disappointing lack of choice . listened to a guest making a complaint at the desk and the manager was rude and sarcastic to the guest who was talking to him.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a TripAdvisor review, while not every review can be as positive as we hope or reflect the positive experience we want our guests to have. We appreciate the time it takes and use all reviews to help us improve the overall experience at the hotel.

I regret that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel. As you can see from the many reviews before you, the one shining light of the hotel is and always has been the friendliness of its staff so I will be taking the matter very seriously. I would very much appreciate if you could email the hotel with the details of your stay so I can investigate this further.

While I regret that your stay did not fully live up to your expectations I sincerely hope it does not put you off returning to the hotel in the future as I assure you any problems with your stay are a rare and almost nonexistent exception to the service we provide.

Hope this finds you well.

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern contemporary interior with tasteful furnishings, giving a warm relaxed atmosphere; the perfect Business Retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Riverside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.