We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Oaks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Killarney Oaks Hotel to your Saves list
Killarney Oaks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Break :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here on a night away as we got a good deal including dinner and breakfast. Beautiful hotel, had been here previously at a wedding and had a great day and decided to return to stay the night. Rooms are lovely and modern with all the usual amenities. Very comfy bed. Had dinner in the bar as there was a wedding on that day in the hotel and the restaurant was closed so ate outside as the weather was nice. Lovely meal. Staff at reception were lovely and all except one staff member in the bar were very nice and friendly. The only downside was a staff member entering our room abruptly to leave a flyer at an inopportune time however it didnt bother us too much. Really enjoyed our stay here otherwise and it's the perfect base to explore and enjoy Killarney :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Shaunagh B

Thank you for your lovely review of The Killarney Oaks Hotel. I'm glad that we made such an impression on you at the wedding you attended that you had to return. I'm surprised that the restaurant was closed due to a wedding in the other rooms because it is quite busy at this time of year so we may have been fully booked, Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I apologise if you were disturbed by a member of staff delivering a special offer voucher to your room. We reward our guests at different times throughout the year with promotional offers fro discounted stays as a little thank you for choosing us. I hope that you will avail of the voucher in the future and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    39
    13
    14
    18
See reviews for
46
74
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Attended family wedding at Killarney Oaks. Wonderful reception area and the meal was fabulous. Staff were very attentive throughout the meal. Stayed in the hotel that night and slept peacefully. Beds were very comfortable and it was lovely and quiet. No noise from lifts or other guests which was a delight for me. Breakfast the following morning: Great variety on offer. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor. All I know is that I couldn't hear any lifts which gave me a great n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear 234marley

I would like to thank you for reviewing your recent wedding experience at The Killarney Oaks. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from a fantastic meal to a great night's sleep in our deluxe bedrooms. We pride ourselves on our customer service, high quality of food and modern décor. I would be delighted to welcome you back to The Killarney Oaks on your next visit to Killarney.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel was quite normal, no romantic, no stylist. Staff was a bit rude, not helpful and when we complaint about that the WIFI didn't work, they didn't care. They said it was internet in common areas. We paid for an internet service that we didn't have.
Inelegant hotel, impersonal and dull decoration.
Poor breakfast for this size of hotel.
Big room and new bathroom. Small bath towels. Clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Elena B

Thank you for choosing The Killarney Oaks Hotel for your recent trip to Kerry. I am more than a bit surprised that you consider the hotel "normal" as we are continuously complimented on our décor, service & food. I am surprised to hear that you had paid for Wifi as we do not charge for WiFi throughout the hotel and only common areas need a code, maybe this is the reason you could not connect. I strive to ensure that our WiFi is up and running all of the time as in this day and age nearly all of us rely on technology.

We commonly get praised for our fantastic breakfast choice and quality.
Our extensive buffet consists of:
Fresh fruit including pineapple, grapefruit segments, pear halves and a fresh fruit mix.
Choice of yogurts.
An array of cereal choices (6 in total).
Freshly made pancakes with a choice of peanut butter and nutella as well as syrups.
Selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries and croissants.
Traditional Irish Soda Bread, freshly baked white and brown bread (Toast)
Sausages, Bacon, black & white pudding, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes.
Our egg selection includes fried, scrambled, poached as well as omelettes.
This is accompanied with fruit juices, choice of 8 different tea varieties and 5 coffee selections as well as hot chocolate.

If you had any suggestions on how to improve our breakfast we would very much have appreciated it.

Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hi all At the weekend it was my brother wedding and my family and I stayed in the Killarney Oaks hotel for the wedding. When we arrived at the hotel the staff were very welcome us for the weddding. The Killarney Oaks was a lovely place to stay for the wedding. During the dinner at the wedding the staff came around to each table to see how the dinner was and that people had plenty to eat. On the Sunday morning when I left the hotel we had a great breakfast ready for us. I hope to visit the Killarney Oaks Hotel again soon

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was nice and quiet in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Paula Mary M

Thank you for your review of your recent family wedding. We strive to make each guests stay with us a memorable one from the first "Hello" to the very last "Goodbye". We pride ourselves on the high standard of food and service that we offer and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We would be happy to welcome you back for your next visit to Killarney.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had our wedding in the Killarney Oaks in June 2014 and the service we got was excellent.
From the outset Billy was extremely accommodating. He explained all of our options for the day and helped us each step of the way and went so far as to organise a wedding car.
The day itself was fantastic, we got the real VIP treatment from all the staff.
The food for the reception dinner was amazing with each course coming out like clockwork. The rooms were lovely and very reasonably priced. All of our family & friends thought the food and service was outstanding and have said they would stay here again the next time they are in Killarney. We can't thank the Killarney Oaks enough for making our day so memorable.

Aoife & Dan

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Dan M

We are delighted to have had the opportunity to be involved in your special day and to ensure that your wedding experience was a memorable one. You are a lovely couple and we wish you every happiness for your future together. You will always receive a huge welcome here at The Killarney Oaks.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed in the killarney oaks for one night and by and large it was ok at a reasonable price for killarney. Room was ok apart from a notice in the bathroom warning you basically not to take the towels or will you be charged which I found insulting, had the dinner in the bar which was very good, breakfast was tasty also. Wifi worked very well

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Brendan C

Thank you for choosing The Killarney oaks Hotel for your recent stay in Killarney. I am disappointed that you only found your stay to be "ok" as we pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the high standard of food and service that we provide.
I apologise if you offended by our towel pricing in the bedrooms. Unfortunately some people enjoy using our towels so much that they take them home from time to time and the notice is just a gentle reminder to such guests that towels are not included in the accommodation rate and they must pay extra for such a luxury.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our extensive breakfast options and also the speed and availability of our complimentary WiFi service. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Killarney Oaks on your next visit to our beautiful town.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed with the overall experience! Firstly we arrived to our room which was located beside the laundry room! The view outside our room was a shabby high wall!glancing around the room, our eyes were drawn to a notice informing us that our room was a non smoking one and if we decided to smoke we would have to pay 150 euro to foot the cleaning bill!on entering the bathroom we were met with yet another sign informing us that if towels happened to go missing,our credit card would be charged accordingly!this set a very negative tone for a nice relaxing break!supplies in the room were extremely skimpy,eg an empty soap dispenser, none of the usual toiletries provided apart from two lonely shower cap boxes on the bathroom shelf!!the staff also failed to impress! We generally found them to be quite inexperienced,most of whom seemed to be lacking in basic hospitality!on both mornings we were awakened to the sound of very noisy staff bellowing in the corridor from early morning!in addition to this our 'do not disturb' sign was ignored by a member of staff who entered our room!there was no hot water in either the basin or shower by 11 am!there was no wifi available to us for most of the weekend and was clearly only turned on when requested! We were very disappointed with the standard of this hotel and would find it very difficult to say something positive from our experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Oaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.