We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, luxurious, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Killarney Royal to your Saves list
Killarney Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Small, luxurious, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at the Killarney royal mid June. From our initial booking, stay and departure everything was managed with utmost efficiency. The room was fabulous. Very large - was actually like a suite with a sofa in the room. The bathroom was lovely along with the bath products supplied. Kingsize bed was very comfortable.

The food was excellent - we had the choice of eating our meal in the restaurant or the bar area. We chose the restaurant which was extremely quiet. The waitress was very nice and professional. The meal itself was lovely and price for dinner was good value compared to some restaurants around.

The bar itself is small but cosy and was very quiet during our stay . There is a small lounge area to the front of the hotel opposite the bar area where many guests relaxed on the settees there. The hotel is well situated at the top of the town. Now the town is not very big so everything is within walking distance. We went to the Arbutus hotel opposite one night for music and it was brilliant. There were 15 local musicians playing and the atmosphere was great.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    104
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
133
316
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
travelerslight
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Myself and Husband stayed in The Killareney Royal for my 50th in july 09.
The welcome we got was nowhere I have seeing before, and was not a show-these people were very geniune and could not go out of their way to help us or make us feel at home and they enjoyed what they were doing. The Management team were just lovely,very ,very friendly.
Breakfast was a pleasure-again staff just brilliant,I would go back again -no problem, and have recommened this Hotel to friend's,
we had a lovely weekend,
Michele & Ricky Milne

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Lovely hotel with an excellent location right in the city center. Very friendly and knowledgeable front desk. Comfortable rooms with modern amenities. Delicious food in the restaurant. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Leitrim
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Killarney Royal is a great hotel. We were so pleased with everything and the
staff were especially great. We will definitely return!
Betsy & Brendan Cox
Co. Leitrim

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Killarney Royal in June. It was perfect from the first moment to the last. We have never been treated with such care and attention and Gillian was beyond belief. Our rooms were great and every member of the staff treated us as if we were the only travelers there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I cannot rate this hotel high enough, from the moment i arrived the staff were friendly and very helpful. The decor is tastefully done, from reception to the rooms. The hotel room itself was paradise between four walls. Everything was so crisp and clean and relaxing. The weather was very warm when i was there and to have air conditioning in the room was fantastic. The food served in the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast was out of this world and well worth every cent. Im really looking forward to returning to this hotel for a break away... i would highly recommend the Killarney royal hotel, only downside was no parking but it would not change my mind about staying there

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This hotel really made my time in Killarney. The staff were so welcoming from the moment we arrived. The rooms were luxurious and the food second to none. The hotel itself is located in the town centre and so is an ideal base for getting to local shops, restaurants and pubs. It had a lovely local family feel to it and the staff were always happy to help. There was great atmosphere in the bar and the restaurant of the hotel. It would suit both young and old to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 29 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.