We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average pub grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub

The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub
Muckross | Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Molly Darcy's Traditional Irish Pub)
+353 64 662 3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 148 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub is located in the heart of Killarney National Park. Famous for great food and entertainment, the pub is popular with locals and visitors alike. Fresh local Irish produce such as Atlantic seafood, prime Kerry lamb and Munster beef are served 7 days a week from 12:30pm. The Jarvey's Rest is also a venue for superb Irish entertainment with it's well known Jarvey's Irish Night show running from March - November each year. Visit us today and explore the local Muckross area while here, only 4 Kms from Killarney Town centre.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Above average pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stop at this place after you leave Muckross House, Torc Waterfall or even drive out from town. We had the smoked salmon and shrimp open face sandwich on guinness bread and a steak and mushroom pie with locally brewed beer and benoffee for dessert. Fantastic recommendations by the wait staff and a great atmosphere. Only complaint is getting the bill paid took a little longer than desired but this is Ireland, nobody's in a rush!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    99
    25
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choice for vegetarians!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Molly Darcy’s was recommended to us by our host (Meredith? I'm not good with names) at the Forest Haven Farmhouse (fantastic B&B, by the way). As vegetarians we had some difficulties on our round trip in Ireland finding restaurants with vegetarian food - if you don't want to eat vegetarian pasta or pizza or go to an Indian restaurant every other day... So on 2nd September we were very happy to be able to decide between five vegetarian meals at Molly Darcy’s! The salad and strudel were excellent, the sharing platter for dessert was divine and our waiter (Ganesan?) very attentive and friendly. But unfortunately, the portions were quite small (especially the salad), compared to the fish&chips served at the table next to us. That’s why we only give four points.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I ate here 2 of our 3 nights in Killarney/Muckross. The Seafood Chowder and Fish & Chips were delicious. We also had the Chicken Supreme and the Sirloin...both equally tasty. The star of the show was the Bread & Butter Pudding. It is absolutely to die for!!! We could have eaten 10 of them! Don't be afraid of the Brown Bread ice-cream...it tastes something like cookies and cream.

The wait staff is professional. The service is quick and non-intrusive. The live music was the best we experienced in Ireland. You can tell they spare no expense for quality entertainment.

Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not as good as it use to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

the staff are not as friendly as they use to be and the food is overpriced and a bit of a let down, it was a long time since I was here and things have gone downhill since my last visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzwilliam, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Molly Darcys great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

meal for 4 all great ,ambience great.pub great with excellent irish music ,and dancers .one of the best pub restuarants i have experience of

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.