We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Molly's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub

The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub
Muckross, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Molly Darcy's Traditional Irish Pub)
+353 64 662 3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub is located in the heart of Killarney National Park. The pub is a landmark pub in Co. Kerry and serves the best of Irish Food. Enjoy a wide selection of drinks including craft Irish beers, whiskies and Irish coffee. Enjoy live entertainment on every weekend and our Irish Pub Show on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous Molly's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed delicious lunch served outdoors in glorious sunshine. We We had really tasty fish and chips with mushy peas served by a very efficient and pleasant waitress. Couldnt ask for better!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    106
    27
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt totally ripped off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were on a day out in the national park only to find no hot food available there so we headed to Molly darceys. As a family this was to be a treat, we are on holiday after all!! I expected service and good food at an expense, however the service was lacking greatly and the food, although good and tasty was very small portions for the price. The biggest disappointment of all was the 45 minute wait for our food and the poor and unenthusiastic waitress who took our order. We then moved seats from outside to inside, we were served by a more pleasant but not overly attentive waiter. When I complained about our wait for our food I was given an apology but still charged the full amount for the food which had lost its sparkle at that stage. Basically no one cared that I spent money and wasn't happy, we didn't have desert as my sons were worn out waiting for the main course. It ruined what was otherwise a good day out

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly D, Manager at The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for the feedback on your visit to Molly Darcy’s recently. Here at Mollys we try and maintain the highest standard of service, but sadly on this occasion we have failed to deliver. We very much care about each and every customer that enters Molly Darcy’s and they leave with a pleasant dining experience. We failed you from the manager on duty, right down to the two staff that where looking after your need’s and for that we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor food and atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ate here after a long day of traveling because it was close to our B&B. The management did a nice job squeezing us into the dining room just as a number of large tour buses arrived and the service was very good considering how busy our waitress was. While the food seemed fine as we were eating most people in our group had some degree of an upset stomach afterwards. Also, this was probably the least local/authentic experience that we had during our two week trip to Ireland since the restaurant was full of tour bus groups and the Irish dancers were wearing sequined hot pants. Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly D, Manager at The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for the feedback on your visit to Molly Darcy’s recently. Molly Darcy’s each weekday is hugely popular with Tour Groups due to our high standards of food and entertainment. So we are very surprised your group had such a poor experience regarding our food quality. Had we known you would not have been charged for such an experience. The dancers do change costume for different dances, and the costume you are referring to is worn when they perform the “Brush Dance” and “Barrel Dance” as modesty does not allow the girls to wear the traditional dresses when performing these dances. As one dance is performed high up on a pedestal and the other crossing a brush handle side to side while skipping over it. So apologies we failed to deliver our famous Irish Experience and hope it does not turn you off returning to us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We did not enjoy this eating establishment as much as we expected to. Although it came recommended, our house salad was minimal for the price and the dessert platter very poor although the tortellini was good. When we complained about the dessert platter the waitress offered to have the supervisor come and speak to us but she did not arrive until we were finally paying the bill. We understand the pub is now being run by the bank so maybe they have instated server portion control.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
875 reviews 875 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
574 helpful votes 574 helpful votes
“A taste of Ireland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I will start by saying that if you are staying at Friars Glen B&B, you are only a 15 minute walk from the pub. It was recommended to us by the owners there as it was so close in comparison to the town center of Killarney. Lets start with the only disappointment; we sat down at 8:25pm and waited till 8:50pm to finally have a server greeting us and asking what we wanted to drink. It was a terrible start to what we thought was going to be a promising dinner. But then our server was very friendly and recommended some great dishes. We started off with the seafood chowder and it has to be the best seafood chowder I ever had. In comparison to the States where you have one or two lump of meat, this thing was filed up with different types of seafood. Then we went for the traditional Fish & Chips and were not disappointed. Very fresh and and delicious! The beer was obviously great and the wives loved the ciders. The highlight of the night was the live music combine with the two local Irish dancers who mesmerized all of us with their talent and the art on how to river-dance!!! Great evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.