We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Bar & Grill

Plaza Bar & Grill
Killarney Plaza Hotel & Spa, Town Centre, Killarney Co.Kerry, Killarney, Ireland
(0)64 66 21100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in Killarney two nights over Valentines! Unfortunately we didn't get to stay in this hotel but we will definitely be staying here if we return. We did have a delicious meal and some drinks Valentines night. The food was absolutely delicious, we both ordered the Chicken burger, it was so tasty and a great size portion for the price. The service was prompt and the staff were so friendly, great service! The atmosphere also made the night aswell, as the hotel we were staying in serious lacked the Valentines busy atmosphere. One of the staff members also mentioned she had spent all day looking for the heart shaped candle holders, that were such a great idea alongside the rose petals on the tables, definitely worth it! :D Beautiful hotel,we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and very reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Three of us stopped into the Killarney Plaza Bar & Grill for lunch and we were all very pleased with the room, the service, and the food. We were seated at a table right inside the window at the corner so we were able to view the action on the street as well as the beautiful staircase inside the hotel. It was by far the best table in the house for three weary travelers, who simply had to take a break from a fun, but hectic day, without missing anything!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great lunch,reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ate lunch at the bar on new year's day - excellent choice of sandwiches & really, really good. We could also change up the sandwiches by adding in or taking out ingredients. Very clean surroundings & perfect for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal, Wonderful Ambiance, Terrific Staff! Thanks Danius!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

On our second evening (10/15/13) at the Killarney Plaza Hotel, after doing a whole day of touring Dingle Peninsula and the Conor Pass, we were famished! The weather was getting windy, so we decide to try the Plaza Bar & Grill. The room was decorated like the rest of the hotel - casual subdued elegance.

We made an excellent choice, as we had a fantastic meal, served by one of the best wait staff personnel we had during our 11 night Ireland tour. We were immediately seated by Danius at a table next to a window.

As we ordered our drinks, I made a request for some bread & butter, as I was starving! Danius was very accommodating and brought some lovely homemade brown bread that was still warm.

After the drinks arrived, we ordered the Ring of Kerry Lamb Shank (€13.50) and the Supreme of Irish Chicken (€13.75) The chicken breast was stuffed with goat cheese, wrapped with
bacon, served over baby potatoes, chorizo sausage & lentils. The lamb shank was so tender it fell off the bone and was served with champ (mashed potatoes) and seasonal vegetables. Our total bill was €39.90 plus a well-deserved gratuity.

Later in the evening, Danius told us that he had worked on a cruise ship for several years and that he loved his job at the Killarney Plaza Hotel. It showed in his excellent well-paced, attentive service. We would definitely recommend the Plaza Bar & Grill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We had our dinner here on thr 26 sept arthur guinness day....the food was soo good,I had fish n chip ...hubby had fillet steak ,worth the value for money..u will not regret it if u eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Bar & Grill also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Plaza Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.