We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hands down the best place to stay in Killarney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ross to your Saves list
The Ross
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hands down the best place to stay in Killarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This place has everything. Very friendly staff, stylish decor, comfortable beds, immaculately clean, great breakfast (and cocktails!). I know Killarney very well at this stage, and it is the only place I would consider staying in. Another big plus is the rooms are pretty much sound proof. I'm a light sleeper and was afraid I would hear everything on the street as it's right in the middle of town. But the windows must be quadruple glazed as I didn't hear a thing.
Just stay there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Micheal,

Thanks for your great review.
We are delighted with your comments. We hope to see you and your girlfriend come again soon to escape the craziness of London.

Le meas,
Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    88
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
240
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Didn’t stay at this hotel but did enjoy dinner in the bar & some delicious cocktails.
Good food, large portions & good service. Good cocktail menu, while the prices look expensive at first glance they are large and worth a try.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear The Jenness,

Thanks for your great review. Its fantasitc you enjoyed all easpects of The Ross. I am sorry about the mix up on payment of your drinks. We hope to see you again soon down in The Kingdom!

Le meas,

Ciara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great location. Warm welcoming staff. Food fab. Room beautiful. Would reccomend for a stay in Killarney. Cocktail/disco bar on Saturday night. Only minus was the barman asked my fiance for payment for a round of drinkss when he had already paid. Left us feeling a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear The Jeaness,

Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We are sorry about the mix up on payment. We hope to see you in the Kingdom again soon.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My family and I are regular visitors to this gem of a hotel. The hotel is stuated right in the heart of Killarney and is beautifully decorated in a contemporary and modern style.
Coupled with this, what truly makes this hotel unique and stand out from the rest, is the friendly atmosphere and wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you. What's more, the attention to detail is amazing and makes guests feel so special. For instance, when my husband and I stayed recently, we were touched at how they remembered we recently had a new baby, who came with us on our previous visit. Plus we were really overwhelmed when we were given an upgrade due to being regular guests. What's more, when my sister and her boyfriend stayed for Valentine's, in their hotel room was a bottle of Prosecco and strawberries with a note saying, "welcome back, following your stay with us last Valentine's."
We would definitely recommend this hotel and know you won't be disappointed!
D & G Crowley

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Geraldine C,

Thanks for your great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your weekend in Killarney without the baby this time! We are glad you like the little touches we like to give to repeat guests. We hope it wont be too long before we see you again.

Le meas,
Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend a while back with the gf and it's definitely different than your average hotel in Killarney!

It's a proper boutique hotel with lots of pink and purple and lime greens accompanied with funky decor and in my opinion, definitely geared more towards younger couples and groups of girls/hens etc. Couldn't exactly see a bunch of lads skulling pints of Guinness in 'The Pink Lounge'!

The room was really cool, big comfy bed with a nice bathroom and there was a welcome plate of desserts and coffee waiting for us on arrival. Nice touch. Staff were fine to deal with.

As for the restaurant, we had a meal there and to be honest neither of us enjoyed it. The setting is great but the food just wasn't up to scratch and we ate elsewhere the second night. The Lane bar keeps in theme with the hotel and does a nice selection of drinks.

Overall, would definitely recommend this hotel for a couple. Central location is great as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Fredkay,

Many thanks for your detailed review of your stay at The Ross.
We are thrilled it ticked most of the boxes you were looking for. I am sorry to hear Cellar One did not live up to your expectation. Would you believe we often get local guys having pints in the pink lounge, however this may be to be able to check out the beautiful women of Killarney on a Saturday night! Many thanks again.

le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a party of 20 girls stayed at The Ross Hotel from 21st-23rd Feb. We all thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. The hotel was fabulous and perfectly located.The staff were so professional, attentive and accommodating. The ladies at Reception were extremely helpful when I was organising the weekend. The rooms were lovely and the service and food was excellent! Everything was fabulous. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Kateh 1978.

We are delighted you and the gang enjoyed The Ross, our food, cocktails and location.
We hope you all enjoy the wedding and we hope to see you back here for many other celebrations to come.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this lovely hotel a couple of weeks ago. Looked small from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised when we walked through the doors. The staff were very friendly. Right on the doorstep too for a lively night out. Also close enough (about a three minute taxi ride) to the INEC.
We had tapas in one of their restaurants and it couldn't be faulted.
I'd highly recommend this reasonably priced, little gem in the heart of Killarney.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Royzerboyzer,

Thank you for your lovely review. We like to think of ourselves as a little gem too!
Hope to see you down for more INEC gigs....There is so much happening this year out there...Kodaline are playing next week!

Le meas,
Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.