We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and free view of Killarney.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torc Mountain Walk

Torc Mountain Walk
Kenmare Road, Killarney, Ireland
353-64-31633
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 65 Activities in Killarney
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great and free view of Killarney.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We wanted to make more out of our day then simply viewing the waterfall and I read about this trail and figured it would be a good choice. Don't be scared by the crowds at first because they only go as far as the waterfall (which is beautiful but crowded). When the mountain was in sight we only seen 4 people (2 on the way up and 2 hikers on the way down). The view of Killarney is spectacular and if you turn around the view of the other mountains is equally as satisfying. If you can walk for 2-3 hours then I'd suggest giving this hike a try. Great way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    74
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clara, Ireland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is an amazing waterfall and walking up the mountain is beautiful over looking the killarney lakes.. The Torc Mountain walk Is extra special to me as its where i got engaged such a magical and romantic setting

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent walk - fab view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't mix up Torc Waterfall and Torc Mountain. Close by one another individual walks that can easily be combined. The waterfall is best accessed from the main Killarney to Kenmare road and is a nice 30 minute walk. You can continue onto the old kenmare path and then take a right and head up the mountain itself (535 mt). Path is a mixture of stepping stones and railway sleepers making it a "clean" walk underfoot. Steep in a few brief sections it's a manageable walk. View of the lakes and wider Killarney area is well worth the effort. Rather than do the waterfall section of the walk you can drive to the upper car park and begin your walk from there. From top car park the walk is about 65 minutes to the top and 55 minutes back. Enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Killarney ammenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Without doubt for the effort involved, the fact that it doesn't take all day and for the absolute breathtaking view of killarney it makes it an absolute must see. Good weather is kind of important for the view but not necessary for a lovely walk.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

a beautiful small waterfall at the end of a long hot summers day i wanted to jump in the water and cool down

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torc Mountain Walk also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Torc Mountain Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torc Mountain Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.