We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day Out Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kerry Way

The Kerry Way
Killarney, Ireland
353-64-34712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Attractions in Killarney
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Day Out Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were truly blessed to have a beautiful day to travel the Kerry Way, although the start in the morning wasn't too promising. The countryside, mountain and sea views - in fact everything - was truly memorable. The Skellig Experience Centre was the perfect place to stop half-way round, but even without that, we would still have had a great day out. Could easily do it all again....with the same weather of course!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    31
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Ring of Kerry- more hype than its worth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We read so many positive reviews we were disappointed in the reality. Yes, some nice views but not enough to justify the amount of time spent traversing the 175 km. Some OK towns in-between, but I would recommend driving the Dingle peninsula before spending time here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“long but picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The scenery on the bus tour was very good but the trip seemed quite long by the time we got back to our hotel. No real attractions to see but the views were great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“The Gap of Dunloe, a place to let your soul breathe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

In a previous Kerry review I ventured the view that while Dingle for me represented the soul of Kerry, Kenmare was its heart. A view I am sure that would be contested by Killarney with its endowment of so many riches in nature’s beauty.

Southern Kerry in itself has a bountiful supply of nature's blessings and their access is best provided via the Kerry Way. I was reconfirmed in my view of the uniqueness of the landscape of this part of the country when compared to the ruggedness of Connemara and the soft rolling hills of Donegal.

So having taken some time to stay at Kenmare I opted to visit Killarney via the N71 which brings you over the mountains and through the National Park. This is a dramatic road journey but the bowl of jewels that holds the breathtaking views to the valley floor of Killarney arrive as a surprise. Arriving through a gap hewed through the mountain a stuning rolling panorama of heather, grey boulders and water opens up before you.

There are several viewing platforms on your way downhill to the valley, and each are worthy of a pause, but the first at The Gap of Dunloe is where you let your soul breath as your eyes try to take in the detail of the landscape. The aptly named Purple Mountain, McGillacuddy's Reeks, the Caher Mountains all combine to frame the valley of nature’s bounty almost 1000 feet below.

There is nothing visually intrusive here. The Black Valley takes your mind and makes it wonder how the distant homes and their inhabitants faired in winter in this beautifully remote place. It was the last place in Ireland to receive electricity in 1976. Maybe even muse on the question of radio or television!

No one thing arrests your attention as you take in the whole valley though eyes are inevitably drawn to the five upper lakes that glint in the distance. Below are Moll’s Gap, The Wishing Bridge, the Torc Falls and the most exquisite lower Lakes of Killarney but for the time you are on the mountain drink it all in before your arrive at the less serene metropolis of Killarney with its 'turn a buck' mentality and overdone horse and jarvey ‘quaintness’. By then you are back again in the real world.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Car tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were on a tour of Ireland so the ring of Kerry is a must. We went anti clockwise which seems the better way to do it. It takes most of the day and the best scenery is on the south side of the peninsula. We swam in the sea at Waterville, and all in all it was a great day

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kerry Way also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Kerry Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kerry Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.