We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this so tranquil and beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Abbey

Muckross Abbey
Muckross Estate, Killarney, Ireland
353-64-31633
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 63 attractions in Killarney
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Don't miss this so tranquil and beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

No entrance fee or tour needed just walk around and explore. Beautiful views and very peaceful you can take the lovers walk trail by the lake to or from the muckross house to the abbey

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    76
    19
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spooky at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Walked through at sunset and although it was amazingly beautiful, it was also eerie with the wind howling and cold temps....Must see

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Needs More Descriptors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

One of the main attractions in Ireland is the ruins of abbeys or friaries. They are everywhere and each has a unique story to tell. The Muckross Abbey in Killarney National Park is an excellent example. Although a ruin it is in a good state of disrepair. The biggest complaint I have is that there are no plaques or other descriptors to let the visitor know what they are looking at.

The friary was founded in 1448 by Franciscan monks, but I only found that out looking it up on the internet when I got back to my hotel.

There is a lot to see as you wander around the site, but perhaps the most interesting is the yew tree that is growing in the middle of the courtyard. My travelling companion was having a particularly bad day with her knees so didn’t explore the upper levels. When I met up with her after over ½ an hour of exploring she asked if I had seen the carving on the wall in one of the lower rooms. I hadn’t even though I thought I had explored the entire site. Clearly there is a lot to see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“So atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I am a sucker for ruins, and this one is beautiful. Beautiful colours in the sunshine, and loads of history in it's walls.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tranquility in a superb ancient woodland/lake setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Abbey is in the grounds of Muckross House, has been left roofless and is a stunning example of mediaeval stone work and craftsmanship.
There are many preservation works that have been completed and others required.
A historic site with burial grounds and one of the must see attractions in Killarney.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muckross Abbey also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Muckross Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Muckross Abbey to your Saves list