We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough but fab climb avoid the Ladder!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrantoohil

Carrantoohil
Dunloe, Killarney, Ireland
353-66-976-9244
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 110 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ireland's highest peak.
Killarney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tough but fab climb avoid the Ladder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Went up by Br Sheas Gully on a clear and warm day! Gusts were tricky but a fantastic ascent. The group leaders decided to descend via the Devil's Ladder! I wouldn't recommend this route down, too dangerous and loose rock everywhere!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Rays visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the highest mountain in Ireland and it must be treated with respect otherwise it will have you big time. Think what you are doing and no problem even with teenage kids and trainers ( I have seen there) Allow about 7 hours. Make sure you are ok health wise and beware of the strain it puts on the knee joints,NOT going up but coming down. Take a back pack, drinks eats small first aid kit whistle, usual gear. HINT, wear one of the man made material shirts that allow wicking of sweat, dont go for cotton like stuff. The cotton soaks up the sweat. Damp wet patches arms and back with the back pack on. When you stop for a rest the air gets to the damp patches and you become cold very quick. Wicking gets rid of the damp and cold spots so you keep warm. Park at one of the free car parks, heed the warning signs and follow the path. The lead-in is a long path that leads to Jacobs ladder/ devils staircase or whatever name. A steep uphill scramble over loose stone- rock- water course to the top. It may be a pain in the butt but stay on this path up, dont veer off onto the smooth grass at the sides. I saw 2 women coming down as they thought on the easy grass slope at the side, what they didnt see but I could, was the grass was sloping more and there was no hand foot holds their decent speed was increasing and they were headed to a 60' free fall which was out of their view, I moved over to them quick and called them to a slow and I had to jam my carbon poles into the grass slope in front of them so they could use it as a stop hold to halt their fall. The poles held and the 2 were pulled back to the boulder path. They went into shock but were ok. so dont stray.. keep straight.. At the top of the ladder, turn right and keep going up to the cross at the summit. Enjoy and come back. It started snowing when I was there so Merry Xmas to all my readers. Come down the first decent to where the top of the ladder is and here you can go back down the ladder or if you look to your left there is another decent called Heavens Door, this is another marked decent path but watch out for about 3 separate stages of 20' free climb down.No problem if you think first. and home james. Dont forget the camera. Make sure you have the clothing gear for the weather

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Dacent Kerry Folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Cronins Yard is a friendly welcoming place to begin climbing or to enjoy the low level walks. It also happens that John is a experienced member of KerryMoutain Rescue so its fitting that some benifits comes back.
Its suitable for Parking, tea, cake, soup etc, showers and camping with permission with reasonable donations/costs.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Its a mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The highest mountain in Ireland and it was our second attempt at it. The fog lifted just as we were coming to the top otherwise we would have seen very little. Amazing views.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I never thought I would ever climb this Mountain, but to-day I did just that. Good parking and a lovely little Tea/coffee shop. The walk to the Devil's Ladder wasn't bad but as for the so called "Devils ladder" ....yes it was pretty hard going. However when you got to the top of the ladder you felt great. (what an achievement) The rest of the climb to the summit although tough, was good. The views from the summit were just fantastic ....Comming down was not easy but when we got back to the car pk and enjoyed a great cup of tea and scone we feel tired and at the same time a self of achievement.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrantoohil also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Carrantoohil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrantoohil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.