We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay in Killarney!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathleens Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kathleens Country House to your Saves list
Kathleens Country House
Tralee Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
us
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A delightful stay in Killarney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

We spent three nights at Kathleen's in October and left the morning that she was closing for the season. We chose Kathleen's because it was recommended to us by friends who are from Ireland and they have stayed there. It was a wonderful experience! Kathleen is a most gracious hostess who gave us wonderful suggestions for touring the Dingle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry and Killarney National Park. She directed us to a hillside, a short drive from her house, where we could look out over the Lakes of Killarney...a magnificent spot at dusk. Our trip around the Ring of Kerry was enhanced by a luncheon stop that she suggested for seafood chowder. The rooms at Kathleen's were very comfortable, clean and overlooked the garden. We enjoyed being a mile from downtown, rather than in downtown. It was a very peaceful setting. The library and downstairs sitting room are most comfortable. Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room overlooking the gardens. Everything is cooked to order and was an excellent start to the day. We have recommended this stop to both friends and family that will be visiting Ireland this summer. We will definately return when we visit Ireland again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    18
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

Have stayed at Kathleen's 3x and looking forward to another visit this year. Businesslike and profesional, Kathleen doesn't mother you, if that's what you are looking for. Great suggestions on tourist sites, restaurants and even a birthday gift for my wife when she discoverd the occassion -- well maybe that was motherly!!
If there is a flaw, it's the couple mile car ride into Killarney, but other than that, it's ideal.

Stayed March 2002
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

Ireland is certainly beautiful, but what sets Ireland apart from other places to visit are the Irish people themselves. When you stay in an owner-owned Inn, it's like staying in someone's own house. And the trick of being a good host is understanding that your guests are like family you haven't seen in a while. Kathleen's Country House is like moving into Kathleen's gracious, beautiful home. She's warm, funny, knowledgeable, patient, accomodating, and classy. The food was great, the rooms were lovely, the grounds were pretty - what more can you want? Even though Kathleen's is just a bit out-of-town, somehow a taxi was always there, and just a phone call away when you were ready to return. My kids enjoyed the experience ("there's a library!") and we all agreed that it was a wonderful way to enjoy Killarney. Our favorite food on the menu: Irish Oatmeal, of course!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

As we visited this part of Ireland together with my mother, we booked ourselves at Kathleen's Country House and stayed there 2 days. It is very well located to visit the rings of Kerry and one needs 2 days to enjoy the area. Kathleen is a delightful woman, who takes pride in showing her country to anyone. As it was my mother's birthday, Kathleen arranged a birthday cake at the restaurant she had recommended and that was a very nice touch. I am sure that everyone will enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

We stayed at Kathleen's for three nights and it was a great experience. It is a beautiful place inside and out. The breakfast is great and Kathleen is a fabulous inn-keeper and trip advisor. We had our three finest meals in Ireland while there -- all through Kathleen's recommendations. She also gave us good touring advice and directions. She even booked us a great hotel (at a reasonable rate) back in Dublin so we could be near the airport for our flight. Her inn is a very short drive into Killarney, which is a nice town but would be a bit congested and noisy for an overnight stay. Kathleen's offers the best of proximity yet peace and quiet to the bustle of Killarney.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

My mother and I went to Ireland to visit friends and explore our roots. Our first night we had the pleasure of staying at Kathleen's Country House in Killarney.

Since our flight landed early in the morning we had arrived a bit on the early side to Kathleen's, but no worries...our room was immediately available. The setting was idyllic as the property is surrounded by beautiful plants and shubbery and just a stones throw away from all history, shopping, restaurants that Killarney has to offer. Kathleen herself was readily available to greet us and offer some excellent recommendations as to how to fill our day. My Mom and I felt most welcome and enjoyed chatting with Kathleen about family and Irish literature. If you are interested in Irish authors...just ask Kathleen, she is quite knowledgable about Irish books!

Just as an aside, I am a flight attendant for a major US based airline so when I speak about hotels/ accommodations, I feel I am uniquely qualified. I actually spend more nights in hotels than in my own home and still squeeze in time for the occasional vacation. On that note, I believe that Kathleen's was an excellent place to stay based on the rooms, excellent breakfast and overall attentiveness of Kathleen and her staff. If in Killarney make Kathleen's your base for exploring beautiful County Kerry.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

The pot of gold at the end of the Rainbow! Kathleens is the perfect place to stay in Ireland, great breakfasts, the best power showers in Ireland, top of the range beds and Kathleen herself to look after you throughout your stay. Kathleen's personality and character epitomizes true Irish hospitality at its best. What an Ambassador for Ireland!.She obviously loves what she does and delightes in sharing all of her local knowledge and passion of her own wonderful area with you.
We came as guests but departed as friends. We felt so welcome and made feel so much at home from the moment we arrived. The area also had so much to see and do that we simply had to extend our stay. From the time you arrive until you have to depart Kathleen and her staff are the perfect hosts. You feel like you've always known them. Kathleen will help you & answer any of your queries. She also appears to have a priority booking for the best tables at the best local restaurants. You will get routing maps on best routes to your golf courses or for your touring routes for the Ring of Kerry, Dingle etc.
Kathleens surpassed our expectations. The location is perfect, so easy find just off the N22 and right at the start of the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula and so central to numerous top golf courses and yet only at the edge of Town. What amazing gardens! we could sit all evening sipping our tea,coffee and wines enjoying the tranquility. The weather was very kind to us throughout our stay with Kathleen.
What was 'the icing on the cake' for us was when my wife mentioned that her friend here in the USA had a sister Eileen a nun in Ireland but had no name nor the exact convent but yet expressed a wish that it would have be nice to say 'Hello' had we the contact but we really felt that this is would be like 'looking for the neeedle in the haystack'. By the time we had returned that evening not only had Kathleen got the name, location of the nun in question but had her telephone number awaiting us.
What more can I say other than we will be back. I am delighted to highly recommend Kathleens Country House.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathleens Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleens Country House

Address: Tralee Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleens is a charming family run 4-star Bed & Breakfast Hotel, renowned for its traditional hospitality and welcome with exquisite decor throughout. Immersed in luscious gardens and ideally based for touring The Ring of Kerry or Dingle & Golfing, walking, climbing, horse riding. Private parking. 5 mins to town. All bedrooms with private bathrooms, flat screen TV, orthopedic beds. Sumptuous breakfasts are cooked fresh to order. Free Wi Fi & computer in the library for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kathleens Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathleens Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.