We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's only ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kathleens Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kathleens Country House to your Saves list
Kathleens Country House
Tralee Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's only ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The décor is dated and cheap looking, although the outside of the building, the entrance hall and the garden are beautiful.

It's no better than a B&B, yet charges more than many hotels would, without the facilities.

The cleaning lady burst in on us at about 9am while we were dressing. Same thing happened to someone in another room.

The hostess likes to get to bed early and gave us the impression she resented people arriving back in after midnight.

Frankly, we felt a bit ripped off and will stay in a hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    18
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very charming B & B! The hostess is lovely and shows great attention to detail and was very helpful in recommending nearby places to visit. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This review is delayed as I stayed at Kathleen's a couple of years ago, but never made the time to write a review. Our stay was perfect - the B&B is beautiful and Kathleen is such a lovely person. She got us onto the Ring of Kerry trip last minute (We didn't realize we had to register and show up earlier!), and also booked us a new hotel at our next destination elsewhere in Ireland when she realized that the hotel we initially booked was too far from the airport. My friend and I still talk about our wonderful stay at Kathleen's, a charming B&B with a wonderful owner. We hope to come back again one day!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent several nights in June at this lovely B&B and it was our favorite inn! It was charming, clean, convenient to town and very comfortable. Our breakfast was wonderful too and we were grateful for free Internet. The best asset of this inn is its hostess Kathleen. She invests in her guests and devotes tireless energy in seeing that your wishes are met and you experience Ireland at its best. She is well connected and eager to assist in your travel plans. She truly enriched our stay and we will most certainly go back! Tom & Catherine Donahue

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Lovely, immaculate hotel with excellent facilities, thanks undoubtedly to Kathleen's own warm personality, efficiency and attention to detail. We are so grateful to Kathleen for taking so much trouble in ensuring we got the most from our short stay and certainly plan to return as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 9 days, partly as a relaxation vacation, partly as a base for exploring local diving centres.
The hotel was spotless. The traditional Irish breakfast was excellent.
Kathleen herself has an encyclopedic knowledge of Noth County Kerry, and was very helpful with our various enquiries and requests.
Not so easily accessible from the centre of KIllarney without a car.
Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife stayed one night in Kathleens Country House and it was lovely.Kathleen made us very welcome and breakfast was great ,would stay again,only one small thing they dont do fried eggs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathleens Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleens Country House

Address: Tralee Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleens is a charming family run 4-star Bed & Breakfast Hotel, renowned for its traditional hospitality and welcome with exquisite decor throughout. Immersed in luscious gardens and ideally based for touring The Ring of Kerry or Dingle & Golfing, walking, climbing, horse riding. Private parking. 5 mins to town. All bedrooms with private bathrooms, flat screen TV, orthopedic beds. Sumptuous breakfasts are cooked fresh to order. Free Wi Fi & computer in the library for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kathleens Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathleens Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.