We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Castle

Ross Castle
Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
353-64-35851
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Ross Castle like an insider
Top Rated
$57*
and up
Full Day Tour of The Gap of Dunloe
Ranked #18 of 110 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century castle is the subject of numerous historical myths, including that of a ghost who still makes appearances at the castle.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Even though this castle is completely restored, there is a neat history here. You must take the tour, it was so informative! We learned more about the Ireland castles then we could ever imagine. They also had some very nice pieces of furniture throughout the castle, including a piece from the 1400's!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    278
    82
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good stumble upon place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Who can be upset about stumbling upon a castle in the middle of a national park. I decided against paying for entry after looking at the postcards of the rooms inside the castle. It is very easy to access all the grounds around the castle and take some fantastic photos right along the lakeside. I enjoyed walking around and the views around the castle were fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored, great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our tour of Ross Castle was surprisingly interesting and informative. The Castle has been restored with EU funds, and furnished with beautiful antiques -- some 400+ years old. The internal structure and story of how families lived inside was fascinating, protecting themselves from attackers, etc... Our guide (you are only allowed through with an official guide, at set times, and no inside photography permitted) was very well informed and shared the history and traditional use of the castle with us -- making it interesting for kids and adults. Worth the visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

While the grounds were lovely and the lake looks like it could be quite enjoyable, I was somewhat disappointed by the castle. It looks like it was very impressive "back in the day," and the history behind the castle is amazing, but the ruins were just okay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well restored, worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

You can only See the castle on one of the tours. Last tour by about 1645 approx. The guide is very informative. The restoration is excellent.
Subsequent castles we visited now make more sense and we can see how well this one has been restored.
It is a very pretty situation and I imagine that on a sunny day could be idyllic. In the rain it was still a good visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ross Castle also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Ross Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.