We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely leave Dublin and head to Killarney!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre to your Saves list
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Definitely leave Dublin and head to Killarney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Killarney Towers is the choice for bus tours, and they handle groups efficiently. Long corridors, lovely although smallish rooms, comfortable with a/c which was needed in July. Our tour gave us breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, and the buffet food was delicious and hearty. They scheduled groups so things moved smoothly. Two bars, with live music in each. Great location in the middle of shopping / walking area through shops, pubs, restaurants, and street performers.

Room Tip: Even on the "busy" street side, room was quiet. You might want to be closer to elevator/st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    141
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
57
151
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed in the killarney towers on saturday nite 6 th july after cycling the ring of kerry that day
Room was lovely, lovely whirlpool bath in the room, bed was poor it was two single bed pushed together, no fridge in the room. At night you could hear every word spoken in the bar below plus the band that played untill well after midnight it wasnt value for money payed

Room Tip: dont pick any room on the first floor around room 155
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were on a pilgrimage to Ireland and stayed here. Our two night stay was booked for our group through Catholic Travel and overall, we think this is probably the best hotel we stayed in. All the hotels were nice, but this was, all in all, just about perfect. It's right downtown, close to the action. Our room was great - bed slept good, not a lot of noise, it was clean and the bathroom was in good order. The dining room was quite nice. Although this was buffet style, it was very nice. We were treated well and I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a pub attached to this hotel with live music. Some in our group had rooms that were right a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel. It was a somewhat dated room and had yet to place doonas on the bed - as is common practice now in modern hotels -, rather it kept the old fashioned quilt (and germ carrier) and bedding. (Room 250). The mattress was also old and creaky. The bathroom while clean was also very dated. The room had an iron/board and advertised free wi-fi that was so weak that it was virtually impossible to connect.
The outstanding problem with this particular room was that it looked out towards another adjacent building that had a heavy, large industrial air conditioning unit on top. Probably for a theatre or ballroom underneath. However the sound coming from this sounded like a Boeing 747 taxiing and intruded into the room 24 hrs. The window was not double glazed so one had to learn to cope if a light sleeper ( I am).
Next the room was approx 2 floors above a bar with an entertainer. This sound persisted until 1130 each of the nights when apparently it then closed off. Nevertheless if one wanted (as a traveller) an early sleep it was not possible.
Lastly, for whatever reason the room above seemed to have a mad occupant, or perhaps it was a staff member in a storage room who persisted in running around the floor for extended periods.
The hotel's compensating factor was an efficiently run restaurant, with very good, friendly and attentive staff. The food was good also- for breakfast.

Room Tip: Be very aware of the bar noise probably affecting a number of rooms, and the adjacent building air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The room was very clean with a Jacuzzi tub. Our room did look out onto the main street and we did hear some people celebrating at 3 in the morning but most of the time it was quiet. The food was wonderful with plenty of choices. After a wonderful meal, we walked to the National Park and attempted to walk off some calories. Since it stayed light late into the evening, we felt very safe walking through town. We did go to one of the pubs in the hotel. One of the nights, there was traditional Irish pub music that was very enjoyable. The other night the music wasn't as good but it was very convenient to be able to walk upstairs after a couple of drinks and not have to go out into the rain to get back to our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

With our 33 Austalians and us on a coach tour, we arived at this hotel on the 17th June '13. The hotel is highly visible with its tall revolving door and situated on the main street. The entrance hall with the reception is of moderate size. Our room (266) is large and spacious with two single bed together to form a very large double. The bathroom has a large shower with easy access and virtually no lip to climb over. Free Wi Fi is available in the hotel. There are two pubs giving live music very close, if not actually in, to the hotel. They did finish playing about 11pm. We enjoyed a taste of Irish singing and customers enjoying themselves. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice hotel with a small modernistic lobby. Very efficient front desk staff. Rooms were ample with many amenities and were very clean. Was not bothered by noise perhaps because of room location. Did hear a complaint from another guest. Many pubs in area. Two pubs in hotel but did not visit them.

Room Tip: Ask for room on backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#26 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Towers Hotel And Leisure Centre
Towers Killarney
Killarney Hotel
Killarney Towers Hotel Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.