We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Avenue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Killarney Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Killarney Avenue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Avenue, Town Center, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Kerrykeel, Ireland
1 review
“Return Group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On saturday the 3rd November we held our 4th. Irish angus dinner dance at the Avenue Hotel Killarney .Our guest that attended the dinner and those who stayed in the hotel were extremely delighted . The food was superb..The staff were excellent and so efficient .A special word of thanks to Denis for all his work and attention to detail .We cannot recommend this hotel enough.We will be back for our 5th. Thank you from the munster branch of Irish Angus

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    42
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
72
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently just spent the October Bank holiday weekend staying at the Avenue Hotel. My brother and his wife had their wedding reception there and we had a fantastic weekend. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous and they applied themselves to our every need over the whole weekend. The rooms were lovely and had everything in them, even a jacuzzi. The food for the wedding and over the weekend in the hotel was superb.The hotel has a lovely homely feel and is very cosy and relaxing. We stayed in the bar for the day after and the fancy dress went down a treat....and the finger food was lovely and the bar staff were very efficient and took great humour out of the night. Overall a fantastic hotel, very centrally located with cosy atmosphere and very friendly, effiicient, helpful staff in particular Niall the manager and Marlina the receptionist. Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

spent two nights at this hotel recently and cannot recommend this beautiful hotel enough.
rooms are cosy and very well appointed as well as being spotlessly clean.
restaurant and bar food were fantastic as were the staff who were most helpful all of the time.
location is also perfect, 2 mins from town centre and well as being on the start of the muckross road which means the lakes are practically on its doorstep.
fantastic stay, will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent 2 nights here on CIE tour. Our 3rd floor room looked out onto the main street--best hotel view of our trip. Most convenient location--jaunting cars right across the street, main area of town one block away. Safe to be out at night. Walked across to Killarney National Park one morning and took a beautiful walk. Food-breakfast and dinner--was very good. Would recommend.

Room Tip: front rooms--3rd floor have nice view--may be a little noisier at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the nicest hotels that we stayed in on our tour of Ireland. The dark wood of the lobby and bar area made for a rich and classy look. Everything about this hotel was first class and modern. The food was good but I found the breakfast menu was the same from hotel to hotel. The location was great for shopping and close to the national park.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from the wonderful town that is Killarney. I have been to Killarney many times but it was my first time staying in the Avenue Hotel. I found the staff on the desk most welcoming and they couldnt do enough for us, they organised day trips for us nothing was too much for them. The food in the Restaurant was just beautiful my compliments to the Chef. Hotel was spotless could not fault anything, will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a few days this week and i will not be rushing to book it again. A meal was included in our stay and we had this on the first night . I ordered chicken wrapped in parma ham with black pudding it arrived SWIMMING in a kind of gravy like a big black blob could not even see the pudding needless to say only stomached a tiny bit and my dining partner wanted very very small portion of mash and veg and out came HUGE plate of mash and hard veg waitress apologised so obviously presentation and listening not chefs priority. Did not find staff in any area very friendly or enthusiastic and when we checked out they did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay or hoped to see us again .Rooms quite cold and only remote controlled heating available.
I think ALL staff need bit of retraining in the hospitality area .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killarney Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Avenue Hotel

Address: East Avenue, Town Center, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Killarney Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.