We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earls Court House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Earls Court House to your Saves list
Earls Court House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road | Woodlawn Junction, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Thomson, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel and very quiet so close to a busy streets. Our room was lovely as well as the afternoon "tea room" and sitting room with fireplace and antiques in the lobby area. The location was great and within easy walking distance to good restaurants and shops. The breakfast was especially good with a variety of choices instead of just the standard Irish breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    79
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
104
227
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here over the St Patricks Day weekend for 3 nights in a Deluxe Queen size room with a balcony. Hotel was easy to find just off the Muckross road. On first impressions it seems more like a luxury guesthouse rather than a hotel. Emer the owner greeted us on arrival, dealt with our check in efficiently and offered some complimentary tea, coffee and cake in the front room.

Room was large with antique furniture and a nice size balcony with views of the mountains. Excellent standard of cleanliness and comfort.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to choose from each morning, kept us going for most of the day. Staff were very friendly.

No restaurant or bar in the hotel but menus for various restaurants around Killarney are available for viewing at reception which is very handy. On one of the nights we ordered a pizza from Four star pizza and they delivered to the hotel it was great.

On the last day we decided to go for cycle around Killarney national Park so we asked at reception if it was possible to leave our luggage in the room until we got back so we could shower and change and they said it was no problem. By the time we checked out it was nearly 2pm but they had no issue at all with it.

Would highly recommend this hotel for comfort, value and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front with balcony, nice view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have been travelling in Europe now for well over two months staying in hotels and B&B's. This hotel was by far the best we have stayed in and it did not break the budget. The rooms are large, the people who work there friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic with a varied menu we had not seen anywhere else.
We went to Killarney to drive The Ring of Kerry and the suggestions Emer gave us made it a truly memorable day.
We stayed in this hotel two nights but if I had known how nice it was I would have stayed longer and used it as a base.
When we book hotels we look at budget, parking, WiFi and room size and this place excelled in all of our categories.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed here several times and find it is wonderful. The rooms are very nice, clean, and the antique furnishings are wonderful. We booked a "four poster bed room" and enjoyed it and it is well worth the price. The other rooms in which we stayed were also very comfortable. The wi-fi is easy to use and is fast. The hosts are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is good, fast and hot. The porridge is award winning for good reason. Whenever we are in Killarney we will stay here.

Room Tip: Four poster room is well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed 2 nights here while travelling around Ireland. I really like the location in that it was easy to walk to town yet not in the hustle and bustle of it all. The furnishings are quite lovely around the entire hotel. I arrived early and was able to check in as my room was ready. The staff were very helpful in offering tips for touring around the ring of Kerry or anywhere else nearby. Good restaurant recommendations and even called ahead to make sure food was still being served when I returned late after walking the Gap of Dunloe. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good with many options to choose from as well as the buffet. I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

In our 70's, and after years of traveling, we consider the Earls Court House Hotel in Killarney as the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed in. Our experience made it obvious that the the owners, Emer & Ray Moynihan, put their hearts and souls into their beautiful, antique filled house. Emer greeted us cheerfully every day and helped us with many aspects of our delightful stay in Killarney including calling and making me an appointment with her doctor when I needed a prescription. The breakfast was delicious and everything was very fresh. They serve tea and fresh baked goodies every afternoon and there is an excellent restaurant close to the hotel. In addition, they are happy to make a lunch or snack for you and serve you drinks in the homey, book filled living room. In their pursuit of excellence, the Moynihans have "raised the bar" to new heights that hopefully other hotels will attempt to emulate.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If only all establishments could be as good as this. It is located close to the the city centre and the national park, but far enough away to avoid the noise and bustle. Rooms are large, tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean and have large ensuites. Staff are polite, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding. Public areas are large and comfortably furnished, with complimentary afternoon tea provided. There is ample free parking. The only (minor) drawback is the lack of a restaurant, but there is an excellent bar/bistro just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earls Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earls Court House

Address: Muckross Road | Woodlawn Junction, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Killarney
#9 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Earls Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Earls Court House, Killarney in the south west of Ireland. Here you will enjoy the traditions of warm Irish hospitality. The Hotels splendid Victorian accommodation has been complimented with every modern comfort for your enjoyment and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Earls Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earls Court House Hotel Killarney
Earls Court Hotel
Earls Court Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls Court House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.