We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel with modern rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mallow Road, Lissivgeen, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel with modern rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Darby O'Gill's now called Torc Hotel is located outside of the town centre of Killarney. It took us a while to find the hotel but the owner put a sign on the main road to lead the way. I was surprised about the rooms. They have fully refurbished all of them and they are very modern and clean. The bathroom is excellent and one of the bests I have seen in Ireland. In comparison to most of the hotels in the centre of the Killarney the quality you get for money is by far better. I didn't have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was good. Plenty of choice on the continental buffet and the full irish was served on the table. Unfortunately, the corridors are not refurbished yet which gives arriving guests a negative impression going to their rooms. The bar area is very traditional and of a typical irish atmosphere with residential business. If you fancy to go to the town centre the taxi costs EUR 10 one way which I found a bit expensive for a 7 minutes drive. The free wifi wasn't working in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel before, January 2013 and had a not pleasant stay. You can read back on my review on here. Darby O'Gill has now changed to the Torc Hotel and be rest-assured, what you write here is not just read by Management but also taken on board which I find, not many hotels are doing. After my review in 2013, Management informed us of the many upcoming changes such as the recent change in Ownership, the upgrading of the rooms, breakfast etc. Sceptical at first, we gave it another go once we heard that they completed all the work. First of - I like the new name. It gives the hotel not just a more professional sound but the signage is good and looks well. Second of - the receptionist was lovely and very helpful. Once checked in we went to see our rooms and also here we were positively surprised. It's a 180 degrees turn to what it was before. The rooms are lovely decorated, large in size, clean and the beds comfortable. There is also plenty of space in the wardrobe to put your stuff in. For a big family like ours, this isn't always a given. Anyway we arrived fairly late (8:50pm) and so we had to hurry to the bar to still get a dinner. Dinner is served until 9pm and by the time we got down, it probably was on the button nine but again staff was very friendly and accommodating, taking our orders and looking after us. The food was good. I thought a bit pricey for the kids (€ 6.95 for a kids main) but apart from the price, good. The place overall has changed so much, it was a very pleasant stay. Breakfast was superb. You had a lot to chose from and they even made porridge and hot chocolate for the kids. This is not a given for me for a 3 star hotel. I stayed in 4 star places before where this wasn't available. Anyway we left this time very happy and would 100% come back and stay again. The atmosphere was good, the staff's attention was faultless, there were no unpleasant stale beer smells anywhere, the garden was lovely to let the kids run around too. There is no leisure facilities and Wifi is not available in the rooms but I think these are the only two things that differentiate this three star hotel from a four star hotel at this stage. Overall 5 out of 5. Excellent job done Management for turning this place around. We'll be back!

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor, it was quiet and lovely. room 204 and 205 are family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
North side crew
Thank you for choosing to return to us on your trip to Killarney,
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the huge improvements we have complete in the last year. From the time the present owners purchased the hotel in July 2012 we have being develop first class product by listening to all our customer views and addressing there needs. We continue to listen to feed back and work to resolving any issue which may arise. As the manager it is pleasing that you found the atmosphere good, the staffs attention was faultless and breakfast was superb. We are working on having Wifi through out the hotel in the coming weeks.
I hope to see you on your next visit to Killarney.
kind regards,
Brendan Downes.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Stayed here in August 2014.
Wasted an incredible amount of time finding it due to name change and misleading advertising.
Management is well aware of this issue but do not seem to care about the substantial inconvenience this causes guests.
Would not recommend the hotel to anyone as this non caring attitude seems to permeate through the establishment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Graeme,
I am disappointed you did not enjoy the newly renovated Hotel and high quality food and service we are now offering which is not being advertised on our present web site at the moment. When you had your visit we where in the process of change our signage which now has taken place which reflects the high quality Hotel we have.

kind regards

Brendan Downes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Stayed here month ago, excellent value toward most Killarney hotels. Rooms just renovated great size and spotless. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Its a cab ride or drive into town tho. Overall happy. WiFi didn't reach our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Nicholas,
Thank you very much for your kind words,
We pride ourselves on being one of the best hotels in Killarney offering through value and quality for money. Our offering in both rooms and food makes us stand apart from the many Hotels in Killarney. It is very pleasing when our guest recognise this. I hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Brendan Downes.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We got a fantastic deal on this hotel the main stipulation was we arrived on a Monday. It was perfect for my wife and myself as we had time booked off work. The weather was good and once the weather is good, Kerry's beauty shines. The hotel was lovely, the staff were very welcoming. We were in room 209, a lovely modern room with a huge bed and a spacious bathroom. Once we unpacked we headed to the bar for dinner the food was divine, the bar although state of the art is dark could do with the lights been turned up and the music that was playing was a bit dreary and haunting (clannad and the like) for my liking it didn't encourage me to stay in the bar for any length of time. You need a car if you are staying in this hotel, you couldn't walk into Killarney really as there is no path all the way into the town in saying that it is only a 5 minute drive to the town centre. This wasn't an issue for ourselves as we really only ate and slept there the rest of the time was spent exploring the Kingdom. WiFi is available in the bar and reception. The breakfast in the morning is plentiful and there is plenty of choice. We were to head off early the first morning of our stay and they opened the breakfast room a half an hour early so we could eat before we left. The staff were all excellent and we will definitely go back when we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Graham
Thank you for sending your review.
I am delighted to here you enjoyed your stay in the Torc Hotel. Over the passed year we have developed the hotel to a very high standard, which makes us one of top hotels for people to stay in when visit the Kerry region. Our food is getting rave review's.
I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards,
Brendan Downes.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Recently renamed The Torc Hotel, we enjoyed our stay and the hospitality of manager Emanuel and his helpful and friendly staff. The rooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable, food and hospitality were also excellent, we dined in the bar/restaurant on one evening, the menu was extensive and very good value. Live music in the bar on Saturday night added to our experience. The hotel is ideal for trekkers and bikers wanting to walk the many trails around Killarney, Carrantuohill, the Killarney National Park and lakes and the Gap of Dunloe are within easy reach by car or bike. Downside, the hotel is 4 KM outside Killarney town, so a car is a must, upside to this is the hotel is in a quiet rural setting. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anybody wanting great value and hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are at the rear of the hotel and are relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Adrian,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to get feed back on our customers experiences when visiting the Torc Hotel, our team at the Torc Hotel provide professional service to ensure a relaxin time for all. I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay. I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Brendan Downes,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

we stayed with a large group for 3 nights
Had a great stay
Fantastic food,Great rooms
Friendly Staff.....a dutch speaking lady.....Always handy
nice and quiet area.
hope to be back again next year....
all the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Det S
Thank you for your kind comments. The Torc Hotel has undergone an extensive renovation programme over the last year and we have developed a growing reputation for our food and service resulting in delivering a high quality experience.
I'm looking forward to welcoming you back next year when you're visiting Killarney.
Kind regards.
Brendan Downes.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel

Address: Mallow Road, Lissivgeen, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby o Gills Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.