We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfort, clean and great hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleann Fia Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gleann Fia Country House to your Saves list
Gleann Fia Country House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very comfort, clean and great hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night with our little dog. The living room is very cosy and nice. Breakfast is great and plenty. The hosts were very kind and helpful. Thank to their advise we found some hidden gems along the coast. Definitely recommend. We are planning to go back in spring again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear X_Xiao.

Thank you for your lovely and very kind comments of your stay with us. Sadly your stay was only for 1 night. Its nice for us to have guests who appreciate and respect a property for all it has to offer. I wish you all good health and happiness until we meet again.
C & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Killarney and loved staying at Gleann Fia. It was a beautiful setting and we loved the conservatory and warm fireplace for tea or coffee after getting wet in the rain. The breakfasts had a great variety and very delicious!! We loved Bridget- she was so friendly and wonderful! She made us feel at home and gave us alot of great information on the area and helped arrange a pick up for our Ring of Kerry Tour. We were so happy with our stay there and were sad to leave. The only drawback was that we would have liked to walk to town; it was close (about 2km?), but the road was a bit too busy and not a great path. But overall, we loved it and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Fishy74.

Thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay with us. Please also remember it was also a pleasure for Bridget and I to have met you and assist you with your travel in Kerry and Ireland. Hope you had a safe trip home and as for the footpath I will continue to lobby Kerry County Council. Take good care of yourselves please until we meet again.
C& B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were very excited on arrival al Gleann Fia as it was my job to organise our accommodation for the 3 of us. On arrival it was breath-taking and absolutely beautiful - luckily we had our own car and could travel to and from town - a long walk otherwise!
We had been searching for laundromats/laundrettes all over Ireland before being told by Conor that no they don't have those in Ireland. Every other country we've been to yes, but not Ireland. And Ireland is one of my most loved places in the world. On arrival. we were treated to Conor's knowledge of the local area and told we would have to listen as he would not repeat it if we came back downstairs and asked again. So we were deterred from asking again. Having been a Customer Service Manager I was perhaps a bit sensitive to the welcome. Having said that our stay was wonderful, the conservatory was magnificent (it has inspired our renovation of our own home extensions and Gleann Fia was at the heart - sitting there in the evening being able to take in the outdoors and the stars at the same time in the warmth of the inside - plus the honour system of the bar was outstanding!). I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I would like to see Brigid happier and Conor enjoy his job more - they have a tiny gem in the heart of the world well worth visiting!

Room Tip: Don't know where room 1 is but we had a room with a double and a single and the TV wasn't vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Bargain21

Thank you very much for your very nice review of our property - we appriciate you taking time to write.

In reply to some "buts" you had;

In Killarney we dont do self service laundromats/laundrettes but fully serviced laundry, where you hand in your items and they are washed / dryed / ironed or folded for you to collect later the same day on your return after visiting the Ring of Kerry / Dingle or other local attractions.

On your arrival and introduction to the local area, Oh dear; Im afraid you missed the Irish sense of humour - 90% of guests always need a recap or reminder of what I told them. This is very good as it tells me that they are enjoying, interested in the area and need more information.

I am not a psychiatrist but for me Bridget is a lovely natural and caring person with no airs or graces about her - she enjoys her guests company and goes the extra mile for everyone. As for I, well I can very honestly say I love my work 24x7x365.

Again thank you for staying with us and we both hope that you had a pleasant trip home and all is well.
C&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were doing a road trip and wanted to see Killarney and the ring of Kerry and stopped at Glenn Fia Country House just for one night. The guests were absolutely lovely, they provided very nice recommendations on where to go and what to do around and the day after, we got to see Torc Waterfall and Muckross House which was fantastic. The room was a little small but this was a small detail that didn't bother us at all! We particularly loved the fireplace and the breakfast, quick advice: buy some raspberry jam, you'll love it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Ne01325

Yes it was a flying visit but we remember you well - you were all so happy and looking forward to your day exploring the Ring of Kerry. Thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay and we hope that you had a safe trip home. You will have to return and report again on the Raspberry Jam!!

Best regards,
C&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the lovely guest house situated about 2km from Killarney town centre. The hosts, Conor and Bridget are friendly and professional. The rooms very comfortable and nice and warm. Breakfast the next morning catered for everyone's tastes; healthy cereals and fruits as well as the Full Irish breakfast for those who like to indulge. What stuck out most for us was the friendliness of the owners and the owners son (who welcomed us) and for €55 for the night for both of us, you couldn't fault the stay, it was superb value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mareesa.

Thank you for your very nice review of our property and your stay with us. The pleasure was all ours looking after you and we hope you will find the time to return to Killarney and Ireland's wonderful South West.

Remember by train or car its only 3.5 hours from Dublin.

We wish you well and every good wish for 2013.

Best regards,
C&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is located about 2 min car drive from the city centre.
First thing that caught my eye was the tidiness of the whole property.
The rooms are simple yet all VERY clean.
I have never seen such in Ireland before (I am from Germany!!!).
The owner Conner welcomed us personally.
Very friendly and familiar atmosphere.
Conners recommendations were astonishingly precise and correct.
The breakfast also took place in a very familiar atmosphere and made the perfect start in a long day exploring the area.
We were all over satisfied with our stay and we will definitely going to stay exactly there again if we should come back (which we will).
Thanks to the whole family for that experience.

Room Tip: I think the room are pretty much all the same. There was a nice bath tub in room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Schmu K.

Thank you very much for your very positive comments. Can I say we also enjoyed your company and its was our pleasure to meet and look after you while you were with us. I hope one day soon you will return - Cork is not so far.

Best regards to you both and greetings from Killarney.
C&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful setting near the town of Killarney, you are a mile away from the town. But feels like away from it all. Conner and Bridget are such wonderful hostess. We were sorry we were staying just one night. Conner provides more than you can ask for... He gave us easy route to get to cliffs of Moher, recommendations for great restaurants, pubs to hear Irish music, and even call me after I left because I left my jacket...

Waking up to the sounds of bubbling creek on the side of the b&b was a plus.

Food was delicious. I can't wait to get back to Killarney and definitely will be staying at Gleannn Fia

Room Tip: Call in advance and get your reservations in for a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear sbk225.

Thank you for the very nice review you gave our property. The time and effort you took to write your comments are greatly appreciated and very welcome. We hope that you all had enjoyable visit to Ireland and a safe trip home.

When again in Ireland we hope that we will have the pleasure of your company for a longer stay and get to know Kerry known to us as the "Kingdom"

Best wishes for now, Conor and Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Address: Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleann Fia Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, is open year round (365) and located just 2km from Killarney Town centre.Situated on Mature Gardens with Woodland and River Walks. All our guest bedrooms overlook our natural surroundings. Guest lounges with open fires, a reading and music Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, snacks, and an honor bar.Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours and activities arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleann Fia Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.