We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleann Fia Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gleann Fia Country House to your Saves list
Gleann Fia Country House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Home Sweet Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place was 'THE BEST' ... Treated me and the wifey like there very own family, lending coats and umbrellas! Great location, nice and quite with a full and wonderful homemade breakfast!! We loved them soo much we stay 5 days and took pictures with the owner's !! Love you 'Conner and Bridget'

Rooms were nice size and fairly private for a B&B, we came to explore Ireland so not going to write much about this.. but we were satisfied with it all and did have any problems with our bed ;)

Even had a 'Honesty' Bar in the green house portion.... nice little are to chill and relax, even allow you to use there radio and everything, we had a nice chat with Conner our first night setting us at ease that we had made an excellent decision in our first b&b in Ireland

Room Tip: Pick... There all great, enjoy the company of the owners they will love to recomend where to go next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear IrishSoldier

Conor and Bridget here - thanking you for the very gracious comments you bestowed on us and our property Gleann Fia Country House - your very kind and may I say it was our pleasure to have met you both and we totally enjoyed your company.
Our very best to you both in your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Gleann Fia Country House. The location was lovely, a quiet road but only a 2 minute drive to the centre of Killarney, a very popular tourist attraction with loads to do. The staff where very friendly and we where pleased with our room. The great facilities included a separate bathroom, a lounge, a conservatory, an honesty bar, river walks within the grounds and even welly's to borrow! Despite this, there was no kettle in our room and the toilet didn't flush properly. The B&B was well presented and very clean, though the taxidermy was slightly off-putting. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Sally P

Thank you for your review and kind words regarding your stay with us. We dont have tea, coffee and biscuits in guestrooms but in the conservatory where its available 24/7. For guests, if they request a tea tray / kettle in the room then we can of course provide this. Our toilets are dual flush so perhaps you were not giving it the full flush - this happens and when mentioned to us the solution is offered and works.
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Ireland and hopefully one day you will return. In the meantime we wish you good health and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful Country House. We had a very enjoyable 2 nights stay. Powerful shower and big deep bath to relieve all the aching muscles from long walks. Charming hosts, Connor and Bridget, couldn't have been more helpful or charming. Genuine irish hospitality. We'll go back.

Room Tip: Our room would have been ideal for a young family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear bb45

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding your stay with us. Guests are wonderful but real nice guests / people like yourselves are special and for us makes it all worth while. Take care of yourselves and I hope one day you will return - remenber you are never too far from the Kingdom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Ireland. Overall we had a good experience-- the home is very lovely. Atmospheric, good service, lovely breakfast and a beautiful setting... The room was large and well equipped with a great shower, TV and ample closet space.

However, the real disappointment was the bed. It was SO hard and uncomfortable. For the entire stay my partner & I did not get any sort of a restful night's sleep. Both of us 'woke' up aching and sore. I hate to nit-pick on this one thing when everything else was just fine.. but I feel like if you are in the business of providing SLEEP lodgings, your beds need to at least be 'sleep-able'. Perhaps our bed was the only one in the place that was so terrible? It's possible...

Overall, I *would* recommend Gleann Fia Country House to friends.. The setting (right on a babbling creek) is just idyllic and the staff were so warm and friend. However, I would caution you strongly against the beds and urge the owners to seriously consider replacing the one in Room 1 at the very least.

Room Tip: Avoid the bed in Room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear tlholt.
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay and our property - we really appreciate you taking the time to write. Its very important for us to know that our guests are enjoying their visit and that they are comfortable. So while you were with us, you should have mentioned to us that you found the mattress on the bed very hard and we would have found a solution. We feel awful that you had to endure 3 nights with little sleep. The mattresses on the beds are orthopedic and we feel are the best for guest comfort however not for you.
Again I'm sorry and I hope that remainder of your stay in Ireland was enjoyable and you had a pleasant journey home to BC.
Thank you,
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Bridget and Connor are very nice people. However, the beds were hard, the bathrooms were a wet mess after one shower, the heat wasn't on until someone asked, the breakfast was ok but inconsistent, and the towels were damp. That being said, the house is charming and it was nice to sit near the fire at night. You cannot walk to town because the road is too busy. The creek is also wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Cindy C.

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

Difficult to reply to your comments as not everyone can be pleased with the firmness of the beds. The shower well if you leave the door or curtain loose then pressurised water will fly. Heating is on a timer with 6 zones in the house but not on in your zone when you needed it. Breakfast I belive is consistant with homemade breads, preserves, fresh fruits, fresh coffee and cooked to order from the Kitchen. Towels should not be damp and I am sorry for this.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Ireland and one day you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place wasn't horrible but compared to the other places we stayed when traveling around Ireland, it wasn't up to par. Connor and Bridgett were great and super accomodating. The location is convenient to go into town and Killarney National Park. The rooms were small, smelly, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and I woke up freezing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Krispy831
Thank you for your review regarding your experience and stay with us in April 2012, we apriciate you taking the time to write your views and opinions.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us but I am a little confused with the word "smelly" in your review. I dont know what type of smell you are refering too.

Our rooms are not standard size so whatever room you had, well that must have been all that was available for your stay.
Regarding the bed being uncomfortable - to be honest, lately some other reviewiers have also highlighted this. Our beds are Orthopaedic with none over 5 years old. I wonder is one person discomfort anothers comfort. Its pity you did not say something while you were with us and we would have addressed this problem. Now for waking up "freezing" April is not a hard cold month - our heating is on timers and Im sorry now that this was enough for you.

I hope that the rest of your visit to Ireland was enjoyable and you had a safe trip home.
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hypoluxo, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My girlfriends and I went on a girl’s trip and came across this charming little B&B. It was not only adorable but the people running the inn (Connor and Bridget) were absolutely amazing as well! I strongly recommend this little place. It is approximately 2 miles from town which ends up being a 6 euro cab ride and it's totally worth it! Be sure to ask Connor about things to do in the area and he'll give you an ear full!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Michelle C

Thank you for taking the time and effort to wrte this review you are very kind and good to Bridget and I.
Thank God this year, I am giving lots of earfulls and not getting them. Take care and best regards to you and friends.
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Address: Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gleann Fia Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, is open year round (365) and located just 2km from Killarney Town centre.Situated on Mature Gardens with Woodland and River Walks. All our guest bedrooms overlook our natural surroundings. Guest lounges with open fires, a reading and music Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, snacks, and an honor bar.Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours and activities arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleann Fia Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.