We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guesthouse- Comfortable and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gleann Fia Country House

Save Saved
You added Gleann Fia Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Guesthouse- Comfortable and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this spotless guesthouse. The room was spacious, the hosts very helpful and the setting gorgeous. Just outside of Killarey (about two minutes drive) this was a peaceful respite for our travels - and we decided to stay one day more than planned. There is a conservatory with an honor bar for guest usage and a nice hot breakfast every morning. The overall impression was very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    33
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were welcomed by Conor the second we walked through the door. He was knowledgable about the area and very helpful in planning an itinerary for the next day. He couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast was delicious and the location is great. The rooms are a little older but clean and a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had originally planned to stay for one night but ended up staying for two while travelling the Ring of Kerry. Very quiet and scenic but in very good location for all amenities.

Conor & Bridget were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and very friendly. Travelled round Ireland for a week and is by far the best place we stayed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We were a group of 17 staying at Gleann Fia for 5 nights. Conor and Bridget were the perfect host and hostess during our stay. We toured by day and relaxed at "home" most evenings. Conor and Bridget are experts on the region/country and shared their knowledge with us. We started every day with a traditional Irish breakfast which had little variation. The Guest House was clean and comfortable but a little on the cool side. We would highly recommend Gleann Fia to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Daughter was married in Ireland and we had a total of 17 people traveling together. It was nice that we could all stay at the same place with rooms to be shared by all and private space with your own bathroom when you went to your room. Conor and Bridget were great hosts with many traveling and resturant suggestions. Rooms very clean with everything you might need on your stay away from home. My only complaint would be the house was a little chilly and would have liked a little more variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We had a group of 17 of us staying for 5 nights in March and had a wonderful time. We get married while there and Conor and Bridget made our entire stay wonderful. They recommened great places to see and eat. There was several larger public areas that our group to sit and talk together. Breakfast was great each morning and always made to order for each person. I would recommend or anyone even if it just 2 of you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed at Gleann Fia march 11-18 with my boyfriend as a base to explore all the south/west of ireland.
The location is just down the street from the main city. This was a home away from home, with Conor and Bridget always keeping an eye out for us during our stay, which was comforting. Sleep was never an issue, the house is very quiet. You shouldnt miss the breakfast, it was amazing. Real food!
The room we stayed in was number 7 on the top floor. I was completely in love with it. So ask for that room!

Conor and Bridget made sure to ensure our stay was as pleasant at possible, and it was perfect. This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and i will never forget how wonderful it was to be here. Conor is very helpful in helping you plan the best itinerary for your trip. Listen to him! He is right!! Bridget was so wonderful to us!

Im already planning a trip back and I will most definitely come back to Gleann Fia!
If you want comfort, peace of mind and a quiet base for your itinerary, this is the best place to go!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Address: Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, is open year round (365) and located just 2km from Killarney Town centre.Situated on Mature Gardens with Woodland and River Walks. All our guest bedrooms overlook our natural surroundings. Guest lounges with open fires, a reading and music Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, snacks, and an honor bar.Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours and activities arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleann Fia Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.