We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Killarney Lodge to your Saves list
Killarney Lodge
Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A superb b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The killarney lodge's experience is different from the regular b&b. It is best described as a small hotel.
The room was quite big, clean, air-conditioned. There is a free wi-fi all over the lodge and even a computer for the use of the guests.
Breakfast was very good, better than anywhere else.
A lot of free parking space.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Killarney Lodge and for staying with,.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
79
117
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mississauga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed one night with my family and mother-in-law. They provided 2 rooms for a discounted price. The family room was very spacious with 3 beds in it and still plenty of room. The staff were helpful and friendly and the lodge was within a couple of minutes of the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review Killarney Lodge.
I hope you all enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had 3 nights booked in another B&B, but the proprietor had written down the wrong start date and couldn't accommodate us. So, she spent a while on the phone and managed to book us a spot at Killarney Lodge for 3 nights. What a find! Lovely rooms, closer to downtown Killarney than our original spot, great breakfast, and with lovely hospitality. I particularly liked this place because it had a quiet, green garden and parking area around the free-standing house. This is not the case for many Killarney B&Bs (in row houses on busy streets).

Please note, this place is a little bigger than the usual B&B ... perhaps 10-12 rooms. Not sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying and for taking the time to give us a great review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to the area.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Killarney lodge for 5 nights and upon arrival we were graciously welcomed by the owner. First off, the owner, Catherine Treachy, served us tea and scones which were just a taste of what we could expect at breakfast. Each breakfast was custom prepared and cooked to perfection with a large selection of choices. The location was a two minute walk into Killarney but yet far enough to be quiet at night even with the windows open. The rooms were large and very comfortable with good beds and hot showers. Catherine and the staff were very welcoming. They were available to answer any and all questions about the area. They provided guidance on what to see and do in the area and their recommendations were always spot on. When we return to Killarney we will definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you Melanie.
I enjoyed meeting you both and thank you for staying and taking the time to review us.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We almost booked a hotel as I am not keen on B&Bs. I am so pleased we didn't. Catherine and all the staff runs this place with great skill and kindness Location was superb as others have said so close to everything without being able to hear the late night partying that is traditional in Ireland. Nothing was too much trouble. Tea and coffee and biscuits always available in the lounge and air conditioning that was a godsend as we hit Killarney in a mini heatwave! Breakfasts delicious and freshly cooked to order. Great rooms with showers that work! We would definitely book again if we have the good fortune to visit this magnificent part of Ireland again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for takihg the time to review and for staying with us.
I am delighted your first bed and breakfast experience was a good one.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I, 40-somethings were traveling with my parents, 70-somethings. This was the favorite amongst all of us during our trip to Ireland. The rooms and baths were more like what my parents had expected, i.e. closer to American sizes. The beds were amazing, the showers hot and the owners and their staff could not have been more helpful. I am gluten free and the owner made sure I had GF toast and muesli for breakfast, she even had GF biscuits waiting for us when we checked in and found tea and coffee waiting for us. If ever my path darkens Killarney again, I will be rebooking here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us a great review.

best regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Killarney Lodge during a week-long golf holiday. The lodge was a very comfortable, friendly place. Rooms were large and bathrooms were fine with good water pressure. The location was a 5 minute walk to the main street in Killarney which was fine because the lodge itself was in a quiet location. The staff was very friendly and they made excellent breakfasts. Will surely stay here on my next visit to Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time go to review Killarney Lodge.

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Address: Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney lodge is a large four star guesthouse conveniently located within walking distance of the Town Centre, Killarney Lakes and world renowned National Park. Owned and managed by the Treacy family, Killarney Lodge provides a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere which will make your stay truly memorable. Spacious air conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV, radio, hairdryer, and direct dial telephone and complimentary wireless internet access. Secure car parking is available on the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Killarney Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killarney Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.