We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only time has passed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gleneagle Hotel to your Saves list
Gleneagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Only time has passed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I'd stated in this hotel for the first time in 2001, 12 years later on return the reception area has been very tastefully upgraded and gives it a really nice and modern feel to the hotel. That's where it ends, the rooms are exactly the same, very late 90's style. Big clunky tv, far below standard ensuite and generally very poor decor.

We where staying to attend a corporate function and one of my main issues was the soundproofing of the doors. As party revellers made there way to rooms at all hours, you where awakened on each occasion.

The view from out room on the 5th floor was amazing, onto the lake. You could sit for hours just taking it all in!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction on your recent stay with us. We have in fact just completed renovations on 4 floors of bedrooms and have long term plans to continue with this refurbishment.

The lobby refurbishment was also one of our priorities also and are very happy with the finished result as it has a lovely feel to it now.

I am sorry that you were disturbed in your room with noise from other guests on this particular night. It was a corporate event and everyone in the hotel was also here attending this event which was a huge success. Just a shame that those who enjoyed themselves more so caused disturbances to you.

I hope this does not discourage you from returning to us one day in the future and I would be delighted to assist should you decide to give us a second chance. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will endeavor to ensure you have a more enjoyable stay next time.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    230
    106
    99
    100
See reviews for
243
233
10
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from a weeks trip to Killarney yesterday but would return tomorrow, myself and my aunt had a great time, went to see Celtic Steps in the INEC which is part of the hotel 'mesmerising, first class' All staff (especially in dining room) couldnt be more helpful wish makes you feel special! We had our own area, (room) as there was so many to cater for. Went on Ulster Bus Tour, we were on (Sir Davy) Coach 2 of 7 which shows how popular Ulster Bus tours and Hotel are!!!! Entertainment, food, amenities, location, company we meet, all amazing, there is nothing I can fault, doesnt matter if your alone or with friends/family, this is my second visit, went alone the first time and wouldnt hesitate again. 5 stars all the way!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have baloncies and views of mountains and deer, wasnt in one myself but wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us.

The Celtic Steps show is very popular and everyone has been complimenting the show and is definitely not worth missing. Last week was indeed a big success with 7 Ulsterbus Coaches down from Belfast & Derry for the Irish Country Music Festival, especially about the gala dinner night on Thursday.

We received so much positive comments about the week and we are very grateful to you for sharing your feedback on this forum and delighted that you had had such an enjoyable week.

We hope you decide to return to us one day and should I be of any assistance in the future please contact me directly here at the Hotel.

Many Thanks

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked this hotel for my Boyfriend and I as we were attending a show at the INEC. After reading some of the reviews on trip adviser I was unsure about booking. However I decided to give it a go because of its location. I was so glad I did, I genuinely cannot think of anything bad so say about this Hotel. The room was fab, large, very clean and an excellent shower. We had dinner in hotel that night and it was lovely as was breakfast the next morning. We did have to wait a few mins to get seated but it is to be expected for the time we went for breakfast. I could not believe all the amenities they had at this hotel. We had intended to go into town after the show, but we ended up staying in the hotel because of the great atmosphere. I don’t understand how this hotel has such a poor rating on tripadvisor, I have stayed in many hotels in Killarney and too date this for me was the best. I will most definitely be returning here again!

Room Tip: I phone ahead and arranged an upgrade, payed an extra 10 euro and was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your honest and genuine review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and these few lines really sums up our hotel…. So nice when people take the time to post their positive comments.
Thank you so much from all the team here at the Gleneagle we all appreciate it and hope you visit us again in the future.

Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from 3night stay was not impressed with the family rooms in this hotel at all extremely small and very dated room compared to what you see online and for the price you pay.. Lovely pool and breakfast was lovely though

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests

We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion, perhaps our Self catering apartments would be more suited to your family. They are very spacious with 2 bedrooms and the option of cooking if required while still enjoying the facilities and entertainment in the Hotel. They are located just 2 minutes walk from the Hotel and are very popular with families.

If we can be of any assistance in the future to help make your stay more comfortable please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Last October I was heading on a birthday, surprise trip with my wife, and her two sisters for an Ulster Bus trip to the Ring of Kerry. Included in the tour package was 6 nights staying at the Gleneagles, Hotel Killarney, Half Board, and a full 6 nights of top Country n Western Singers, and dance bands, entertainment.
The food was very good, the staff very polite and helpful. The rooms were clean and, tidy.
The tour trips around the Dingle, and Kerry area were brilliant, and we got the best weather for viewing the landscape, and islands, off Dingle, and Kerry, all in all it was a lovely birthday surprise, in the company of Helena, my wife, and her two sisters, Cathy, and Colette, thanks for everyone that made it so special. Albert.

Room Tip: The rooms we had, overlooked the main road, which also had a good view of the landscape, and watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

It’s so nice to read your review and hear that you really had a great time and you all enjoyed your week with us. The Ulsterbus breaks are fantastic and we love seeing them arrive here. This week we have the Irish Country Music Festival on again and we actually have 7 coaches from Ulsterbus here with us this week and it’s a fantastic atmosphere.

We hope you make it back to us again maybe in October again???
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we sure hope you get back to see us soon.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I had 5 nights at the Gleneagle Hotel with a party from work. We were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel was comfortable and clean. The meals were amazing with a large choice. Their was entertainment every evening! Even though the entertainment laid on was not always to my or my husbands liking. On saying that we did go to see the show Celtic Steps which we both enjoyed immensely.

The views from the front of the hotel were also amazing with dear in the field just across the road. And mountains in the background.

We had many tours out and about. But right on the door step is Muckrosshouse and lakes and Ross Castle. Both deserving of a visit.

The only down side I have regarding the hotel is the heating.
Our room was extremely warm with no air. We kept the window wide open most of the time.
The corridors leading to different rooms were either hot or freezing. Due to this I believe a few of our party came down with coughs and colds.
Also I am not particularly tall but the bed sheet seemed short. When pulled up to my shoulders my feet came out the bottom. So the sheet had to remain low, only to be kept warm by the top cover.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for all the positive comments you mentioned.

I am sorry you found some problems with the heating and the bed sheets, perhaps had to highlighted them to us during your stay we could have happily looked into these issues for you.
The Rooms at the front of the Hotel with the Balconies do indeed have an amazing view of the national park and mountains however I need to highlight these balcony rooms have a supplement of €10 per room per night, which most people who really want one are happy to pay.

Should you stay with us in the future please feel free to contact us with any issue no matter what as that’s what we are here for and will always be happy to help.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently visited the Gleneagles Hotel with a large group of colleagues and friends for a weeks stay whilst exploring the area. The Hotel was better than expected in all areas. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was excellent and the rooms clean and spacious. A particlular thanks to the restuarant who produced some memorable food (Irish stew, mmmm!). Top waiter was Eke, for sorting out a 'sweet' course for a colleague who did not like the options available. Bravo sir.
Our request for tickets to see the Celtic Steps show at the neighbouring INEC was efficiently handled.
Best rooms are to the front of the Hotel overlooking the mountains, but I had a particularly nice room at the back of the hotel, which was very quiet. Great pool, squash courts, gym. We tried them all. Will deffinitely use the hotel again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests.

On behalf of the team here at the Gleneagle we wish to thank you for your very generous review complimenting many areas and departments. It is our pleasure to always offer the best service we can and it very much appreciated when we receive positive feedback.
Hope we can be of assistance in the future and that you get to return soon again.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleneagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.