We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gleneagle Hotel to your Saves list
Gleneagle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed for 3nights with my partner and young son .we had a mix up with rooms when arriving we got a double even though we booked a triple the staff where not apologetic at all. The food choices where very bad just the restaurant no bar food in the evening and 2 sittings in the restaurant so you couldnt just walk in and sit down you had to wait and the choices where off a set menu so not much choice and we had to wait ages for food nearly an hour for main course after waiting for an hour to get a seat before hand so with young children who are hungry its not suitable again didnt find staff helpful or friendly at all. We did not eat at the hotel after that we where not informed of how the restaurant worked at check -in which would have helped us greatly.
There is a lot to do for kids a ball park and good swimming pool and a kids club on school breaks which is good.
rooms where ok , bathroom was horrible and leaking toilet and side of bath was hanging off when we went in.
Wont be returning there is a lot nicer hotels in Killarney.

Room Tip: Pick the upgraded rooms they are nicer and some have a good view although the ones with a view are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

On behalf of the hotel I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the fact that you had such negative feedback on their recent stay with us and that you found the Hotel to be so disappointing.

We had just one Restaurant open at the beginning of the week however the Management amended this immediately by extending the serving of Bar food until later each evening to accommodate the Families and offer an alternative option. Had you made your comments known to a Duty Manager at the time when your were here or inform us of your dissatisfaction we could have tried to assist you and offer you an alternative option or offered you to view one of our lovely 2 bedroom Apartments on site that maybe you would have preferred and suited your needs more.

We respect your opinions however let down that we did not get the opportunity to try to make your stay more enjoyable while you were with us.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    210
    97
    96
    100
See reviews for
232
216
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 4 times now & each time I feel that we had good value for money. The front desk staff have always been friendly and efficient, all rooms have been very clean & well appointed. I have eaten in the Flesk restaurant & was more than happy with my dinner, plenty of choices which was well presented on hot plates. It's good that they offer a wine of the month at a saving. The breakfast is basic & there are choices. The reason that we return here is to see a show at the INEC, wow - fantastic venue. The best part is to leave the car in the car park, have dinner & a few drinks, see a show at a very reasonable price & then walk into one of the bars to continue the night with live music & knowing that there is a warm & comfy bed upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your realistic and genuine review. We are delighted that you have stayed with us 4 times already and that we hope to continue to provide you with memorable experiences and enjoyable holidays.

Should I be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in asking for me, it would be my pleasure to assist you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your opinion, it’s much appreciated from all the team.

Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed in The Gleneagle hotel with my mam a few weeks ago. There is a great service from the train station where a shuttle bus will pick you up and bring you to the hotel, the driver was so nice and friendly. When we arrived we checked in and the staff were lovely. Got to our room which was spotless and warm. We had dinner in one of the restaurants and the food and service was very good. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and there was a great choice of foods on offer. We then took the shuttle bus which comes and goes into town and to the train station several times a day back to the station. Overall I would recommend this hotel as it has everything you would want in it for your stay, the staff and the bus driver especially were a credit to the hotel, you dont get that everywhere, will definitely be heading back at a later date.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor which was quiet and we didnt hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guests

I would like to say a very big thank you to this trip Advisor member for such a wonderful report on their recent visit.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review and for your lovely comments in relation to the Staff and the Bus Driver. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Many Thanks
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Back from a one night stay with a family booking of 14 people. Reception on arrival was friendly. We had dinner booked in the flesk restaurant for 6pm before going to see Brendan Grace in the INEC. The selection of food on the menu was very poor. The starter was soggy and the main course was dry, very disappointing. After the show went to the bar for drinks which was very over crowded so ended up getting seats which we carried to the lobby area ourselves. On going to bed the noise level from the room across the way was desperate. Went to pool the next morn with my mother to be told they had no towels for us but would have them by the time we got out of pool. 30 mins later on getting out of pool the girl told me they still had no towels so we had to stand dripping wet while one girl went to across the way to the laundry I think to get 2 bath towels. As the hotel was clearly very busy with families and young children you would presume the pool should be well stocked with towels. I travel to Killarney on weekend stays and have stayed in numerous hotels but I won't be returning to the Gleneagle Hotel and certainly won't be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We wish to acknowledge your review and offer our apologies for not living up to your expectations on your recent visit. This is certainly not the norm here and not our usual standards by any means.

I have raised your very valuable feedback with the relevant Departmental Managers to look address with their Team and to ensure these issues do not happen again.

On behalf of all the team I wish to say how disappointed that we are that you did not fully enjoy your stay and felt let down.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed Saturday 26th for one night. Paid €99 for family room, stayed with kids.
We arranged to stay here to meet friends (also with kids) because of good children's facilities. Were checked in by friendly staff. Went to room which was fine, 2 single beds and a double, perfect for our family. Met our friends in O'donoghues (I think) bar where they were eating. Food was very basic. Went to pool and this was great, male staff member ther could not have been nicer and facilities were great. We had dinner in Killarney in the Mexican (best Mexican I ever had - check out 5* review!) and back to hotel to put kids to bed. Room was cold and heating not working but duty manager came up twice and got it working - he was very pleasant and helpful.

My friend and I went to bar and a good singer was on, enjoyed the gig, had 2 drinks and off for a good night sleep, everything going good. Then it began - the noise!
Drunken louts shouting, banging on doors, howling - woke me briefly at 2, 3.45 -called desk - they said they'd send security, quiet for an hour then again from 4.30-5am - called security again, night and weekend ruined - couldn't they just put familys on separate floors to the stags/hens/singles etc. Staff at reception in morning looked like they had heard enough complaints when we voiced ours and reading reviews below it seems to be a common occurrence.
Other than that Breakfast was fine, we were down earlier than most, bacon was overdone, staff were fine - choice was good.
Hotel would be fine if you are going on a bender and sleep is not a priority, when one has young kids and rarely gets away, sleep is a must.
Pity...

Room Tip: I dont know if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and both times we really enjoyed our stay. The staff are nice the service is good. Rooms are clean. The only negative was that on our last stay the radiater was broken and would not turn off so the room was way too warm. The night porter did bring us a fan on the second night, but we were not offered another room. But besides that we really enjoyed our stay! Breakfast was nice. I will definatly be returning

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we delighted that you have enjoyed both visits with us. Sincere apologies for the issue with the radiator sometimes things happen that are unforeseen circumstances however we always do our best to rectify any problem that a guest may have when they bring it to our attention.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel and should you have any problems please do not hesitate in contacting me or any Duty Manager in the future.

Many Thanks

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Firstly the price, booked a Sunday night bed and breakfast including a show at the INEC. Total cost 55 Euro each, which I think is fair to say is excellent value. So I guess everything negative I say has to take the price into consideration. On arrival the staff initially ignored us for several minutes and then were distinctly unfriendly. Asked if our room was in the refurbished section and was looked at with disdain and was told the hotel was completely refurbished and what was I talking about. The room 204 was ok, the bathroom was tiny and had one of those horrible shower curtains and the shower spray was poor, All the tiles were cracked and had a grotty feel. The bedroom was average enough but the bed was very comfortable. There was a level of noise from the road outside (not disturbing for us but would really effect a light sleeper). On arrival we asked the receptionist about dinner and booking the restaurant, she booked a table at the Flesk restaurant for 30 minutes later. She never mentioned the other alternatives but tried to sell us an offer of 20 Euro for three course meal, which would cost us 25 euro if we waited until we seen the menu, We opted to wait but was surprised that this was the only menu available. Paid 9.50 extra for the steak option (Plus the extra five for waiting), which made the meal extremely expensive and put it in the fine dining ranch when it was more like a fast food canteen with table service and unfriendly staff. The starters were boring but edible. The steaks were over cooked, we skipped the desserts, they looked equally boring. The whole experience was poor. On to the |NEC for the show which also poor but as it was the performers last night ever performing I wont go on. The only thing to watch out for is the seats, my partner who is 6'1 was extremely cramped as he had no leg room. After we went to the Green Room for a drink but there was a very loud group (possibly a bus tour) mature aged people all singing extremely loud and drunk so we stayed for one and went to bed. Back to the Flesk for breakfast, equally poor, breakfast selection poor, canned fruits, watered down juices, Irish breakfast which consisted of rasher (rubbery), sausage (deep friend), poached egg (you could bounce it) and beans. Checked out with a different member of staff, again no friendly fairwell. Yes I know I paid 55 euro for B&B and a show.

Room Tip: 204 overlooks the car park and road is a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guests

We are sincerely sorry that we failed to reach your expectations on your recent visit for the Elvis Show and that you had so much negative feedback on your stay in relation to the room, the food and the staff.

We normally get so much positive feedback especially in relation to the Food and Staff. I will be sharing your feedback with all the Heads of Department this week at our weekly meeting and follow up will be noted where necessary.

We wish to thank you for your comments and opinions and we will follow up accordingly.

Many Thanks
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleneagle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.