We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, clean and friendly plus delicious breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Lodge to your Saves list
Abbey Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Beloit, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, clean and friendly plus delicious breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Abbey Lodge was a one night stop for our family. It was in a really good location to walk to Killarney's City Center and a short drive to Killarney National Park. The park is stunning, I highly recommend hiking there for a day or two.

At breakfast I was offered a shot of Baileys for my steel cut oatmeal! I declined, but doesn't that sound yummy?

The owner of the hotel waited on us at breakfast, he was very enjoyable to talk to and wanted to make sure we had a good stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We traveled with my 4.5 month old son and wife just a couple weeks back to the Lodge (which is attached and shares breakfast to the Ardree House B&B) in Killarney to spend a few days seeing the Ring of Kerry, Gap of Dunloe, Killarney Park, and Dingle. We had a great experience in the house. The breakfast is good, the room is clean and quite large (we had a double room). The owner is friendly and helpful, even bringing a cot up to the room for our baby. My only gripe was that room was cold at 3am til 5am in the morning due to how the radiator system works, normally I wouldn't notice but my kid woke up. I believe the weather was unseasonably cold then too.

Otherwise it was an excellent stay, location was close to town center and again the owner was extremely accomidating, providing a back entrance to the B&B and suggesting places to eat in town. A great stay over all.

Room Tip: The owner said that the Abbey Lodge has consistently larger rooms than the Ardee House which has roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Abbey Lodge in Killarney for my 50th Birthday, there was 7 of us, and everyone in the party all remarked on how clean,friendly,and helpful all the staff were and that we would certainly go back again. The location to the town centre was ideal and the food was excellent, and me personally i had an unforgettable time. Thanks John

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently spent two days and one night in Killarney. The area is beautiful and the people are amongst the most hospitable and charming in all of Ireland....and that is saying something. The Abbey Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. My trip involved 10 nights across Ireland in four different hotels. The other three were very good, however, the Abbey Lodge was the best by far. The entire lodge is decorated with quaint and comfortable antiques. The room was very clean and comfortable, not fancy, but very nice....like staying at your favorite uncle's country house. Killarney is easy to navigate on foot and the Abbey Lodge is centrally located. I walked to and from the train station in 7 minutes. The majority of the shops, restaurants, and pubs are within 5 minutes walk. It was incredibly convenient. The value was excellent. All that being said, I must say that the most outstanding feature was the service. The property is owned and run by a man named John King. He and his staff were extremely knowledgable about the area and more than happy to give directions, explain various local features of Killarney, make wonderful recommendations, and even store my freshly bought cheese for a day after I checked out so I could traipse around the National Park. Also, I had the breakfast served in the lodge. The food was wonderful, the service was flawless. I recommend the traditional full Irish breakfast. My only warning...you better be hungry. The portions were more than generous and cooked to perfection. Overall, my trip to Ireland was wonderful. My only regret is that I would have liked to have spent a full week in Killarney and I would have spent every night at the Abbey Lodge. I will return! I will bring others. Thank you, Mr. king!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Abbey Lodge in Killarney and it was one of our best lodging. It's a family run hotel and John , Jana & Evelyn make you really feel and home.
Will definitely go back to Killarney as it's a beautiful city and with no doubt I will choose to stay at the Abbey Lodge.
Thanks again for the hospitality!
By the way and the breakfast is WOW!

Noel Farrugia
Malta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A lovely town to visit with wonderful people. Abbey Lodge was a little gem with spacious, clean rooms and wonderful service. We travelled as a family (2 small kids) and enjoyed that the B&B was within walking distance to any activities and town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were on the final stages of our two week stay in Ireland. My wife and I on an escorted tour the first week (staying in hotels), joined by our son and his wife for the second week (staying in bed and breakfasts). We did not call ahead and took chances on finding accommodations each night. We were happy to find The Abbey in Killarney. Off street parking, warmly welcomed by the owner, assisted with our luggage, Ice supplied on request, comfortable,clean rooms (on the ground floor), close to town for walking to dinner, and very nice breakfast, with a nice presentation. I would heartily recommend this excellent bed and breakfast.......
Dr. and Mrs. Robert Montague of Long Beach, California, USA.

Room Tip: Use the Bed and Breakfast Book, check for distance to town center or to touring interests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Irish welcome awaits you at Abbey Lodge. Our 4 star guest house is family run and boasts 15 luxurious ensuite bedrooms. We are situated 2 minutes from Killarney town centre, complimentary WIFI is available. The house is tastefully decorated throughout and features many interesting antiques and art. The accent is on friendly personal service backed by the highest standards throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.