We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite B&B in Ireland! It's like fairyland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friars Glen
Save
You added Friars Glen to your Saves list
Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Multinight offers Mar/Apr
Ranked #1 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Favorite B&B in Ireland! It's like fairyland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite B&B as you pull in the driveway it's like you are coming into a lively country estate. The house itself is exactly how you imagine an Irish country home inside and out. The garden is beautiful and I really felt like I'd see fairies pop out at any moment! The owners were so friendly and helpful and offered Us tea when we arrived along with a map and suggestions of the best use of our time. It's located directly in the national park and if you have the time you can walk to many of the attractions. The rooms were lovely and homey! They have a cute sitting room with a fire and breakfast is in a lovely sunroom facing the garden. We saw a ton of deer grazing in the yard during our breakfast. Breakfast was fantastic I recommend the crepes! Wish we had stated here at least 2 nights and will Recommend to anyone! Pub just up the road is walkable or town is a quick 5 min drive away!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    22
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
236
441
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

During our travel to Ireland last week, we decided the end of the trip to decide each night where we would go the next day. TA pointed us to Friars Glen and although we could not make a reservation, we sent an inquiry and started our drive from Dingle to Killarney. We arrived, pulling into Killarney Park and down the driveway of yet another amazing find. As we were greeted at the door, the host mentioned they hadn't got our inquiry because they had just opened for the season, THAT DAY, but they had space for us and were happy to have us. Settled into Room #3 with an amazing view of the backyard, complete with a steer munching on the grass and then had tea and cake by the fire as Mary helped us make some plans for exploring the area. First stop, food at Mollys just up the road. Cozy little bar, yummy food and great staff! Had a freak snow storm roll in which made it very cold but the owner John made sure the fire was going and told us how to shut down for the night when we had enough. It was an ubundently comfortable and welcoming place all the way through breakfast the next morning. The house was great, the staff was overly accomodating and the grounds were beautiful. So if you are planning a visit to Killarney, this is a great quiet but amazingly welcoming place to stop. We felt special checking out the next morning and being the first guests to sign the 2013 journal. Much thanks to John and Mary!

Room Tip: We had room 3 and although right above the dining room and a bit of noise in the morning, the view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Friar's Glen in April of 2012 (Yes, the review is late. I've been busy.) It is a lovely purpose-built B&B within the Killarney National Park, a short drive out from Killarney Town. The owner, Mary, was friendly and helpful and we had a lovely stay.

Our room at Friar's Glen had what I consider a standard hotel room layout and was spacious and well-suited to our needs. You can control the radiator in your room but be advised that as with other places we stayed in Europe, the heat will shut off overnight during the hours that you are (Presumably) asleep. There was a refrigerator just down the hall in the mud room for guest use. There is a common room that had a lovely peat fire burning when we arrived. The room is stocked with books and games and is quite cozy. We spent a good bit of our first evening talking with Mary and getting pointers about seeing the Ring of Kerry. Friar's Glen does have WiFi, but I had trouble picking it up on my device. On Mary's recommendation we had dinner at Molly Darcy's Pub, a short walk of less than 1km up the road. On the walk back we saw a stag in a field near the B&B, and the deep silence about the place made for a great night's sleep.

Breakfast at Friar's Glen is a thing of beauty. I'm a food guy, and this was the absolute best breakfast I've had anywhere in England, Ireland, or Scotland. Seriously. Our waitress' name was Bridget, and she was incredibly friendly. Bridget, like Mary, was full of helpful hints about the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, right down to exactly where to stop for the best view of the beach at Inch. According to Bridget, Mary cooks the breakfast. It was just stunning.

I highly recommend Friar's Glen for a number of reasons. It's out away from Killarney Town and so very quiet and secluded. It is within the Killarney National Park, with a number of pleasant trails just across the road. As I mentioned before everyone is very friendly and the breakfast was AMAZING. The price was reasonable for what you get and Mary offered a cash discount. It is a great base of operations for both the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I, along with our friends, stayed here for one fabulous night during our whirlwind trip of Ireland. This was by far the best place that we stayed. Mary was extremely helpful regarding our plans for driving the Ring of Kerry. She immediately provided us with tea and bread upon our arrival, even though we were later than we originally planned. We appreciated her flexibility. The location is perfect and peaceful. The home is beautiful and welcoming. We loved meeting Mary's golden retrievers! Breakfast was delicious! We only wish we would have stayed here longer and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were looking for a nice county setting outside of Killarney and this BB was perfect! The countryside surrounding this place is stunning...absolutely beautiful! The hostess Mary is a lovely lady. We arrived a little earlier than scheduled and she was so accommodating. We quickly had tea & coffee ready for us in the common room while our room was being prepared. Bridget, the other hostess, is awesome! She had us laughing so hard we were almost in tears. Thank you Bridget for cheering up my cranky father-in-law!! The rest of us really really appreciated it!

The BB is beautiful. It is very clean, spacious and our room had wonderful views of the countryside. Each of our rooms had internet access. Breakfast was outstanding! We had Baileys on our porridge...I could eat this for breakfast every morning...delicious!

Although it is located outside of Killarney, it was located very close to Molly Darcy's pub & restaurant where we ate lunch. It also isn't very far from Killarney. We went out for the evening into Killarney and we knew we were going to have a few drinks and didn't want to drive so Mary arranged a taxi for us to take us to town and back. I believe the cost was somewhere around 10 euros each way.

I would highly highly recommend this place. If we ever get the oppotunity to come back we will definitely stay here again. Thank you Mary & Bridget for everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My son found the inn on the internet and we enjoyed excellent accommodations on our way to the Ring of Kerry and onto to the Aran Islands. The owner, Mary, was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The room was immaculate and the breakfast scrumptious!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during June of 2012. In hindsight, we should have stayed an extra night or two. The location of this charming inn makes it a perfect place to settle in for a few days. It was convenient to Killarney, the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula (our favorite) and many other places of interest. There's a wonderful restaurant/pub at the end of the street that is an easy walk.
My husband took our rental car for the day to golf Ballybunion (an hour or so north of Killarney), so I was left on my own. Mary made sure I had a game plan - and it turned out being the best day of my trip! Friar's Glen is located only a short walking distance from the Muckross House. My day was filled with hikes through the woods, boating on the lake, touring the house (Downton Abbey-ish in every way!!), wandering the gardens. A fabulous adventure!
Friar's Glen was our favorite B&B for so many reasons - we loved the breakfasts, the red deer stags, the size and amenities of the rooms, the location, the comfy fire and friendly advice from Mary (thanks for telling us about Healy Pass - one of our favorite memories of the trip), the beautiful grounds, the relaxed atmosphere... we just can't say enough about this place! If and when we return to Ireland, Friar's Glen will be the first reservation I make! Thank you, Mary!
Sue and Lee K

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friars Glen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.