We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home at the 19th Green” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 19th Green Killarney

Save Saved
You added 19th Green Killarney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
19th Green Killarney
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lackabane | Fossa, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Brunssum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“At home at the 19th Green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

wow! This Bed and Breakfast should be ranked #1. We felt at home. The family room was by far and away the largest room we've seen in Europe and the price was very economical. Breakfast was fantastic. We showed up and immediately they arranged a tee time for my husband the next morning. Everyone was so warm and welcoming and we would stay there again if ever we get back that way. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to my friends or anyone heading near the Killarney area. Also, go to Dingle and you can learn to surf at Inch beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19thGreen, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review,
I do believe it is the best we have recieved, We are absolutely thrilled that you felt our property was so good,
Thank you,
John and Freda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    44
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
56
86
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just left 19th Green and enjoyed our stay. Very friendly owners. Helpful for travel ideas. Nice to be able to enjoy the lounge at night instead of staying in your room. Great Breakfasts. Will stay here again. Plenty of room for 4 in our room. Thanks Freda and Family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments,
We hope to see you again soon,
Freda and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

When we arrived we about waited ten mins at reception before a woman arrived to check us in, and i can say she was not too polite, seemed upset we interrupted her ! Any way second thing , not great that breakfast ends at 9.30 am ! This on a sunday morning when most people like a rest in, place was clean but needs updating, location ok, but too far to walk to town, has good parking, noise from adjoing bedroom was crazy(small party) rang to reception for help but no answer, glad i tried this spot but feel i would not return again, there are too many B&Bs in Killarney to settle for less.

Room Tip: We got room at back of house, was ok but overlooked, so front rooms might be better i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us,
We hope that you will reconcider staying with us again,
Kindest Regards,
John and Freda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here during our trip to Ireland last week. The place was very comfortable and Freda was great with anything we needed. Her recommendations of local places to vist was fantastic. We traveled all over Ireland and this was our favorite place...even my teenage kids said it was their favorite (and everyone knows how hard it is to please a 15 and 18 year old). Would definitely stay there again when we return...

Room Tip: The family rooms are great...you have an extra bedroom for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you,
Having 3 kids of our own we know if they are happy all is well.
Come back soon.
Freda and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Another stay at The 19th Green and even better!! Lovely front facing room this time with a great balcony which we used well. Excellent golf and Freda went the extra mile leaving us breakfast to accomodate an early tee time!! Extra ad hoc pots of coffee and the usual helpful hints on the ongoing travels and places to eat. The !9th Green is the ideal location for Golfers and as other reviewers have stated, the base for your trip round the Ring of Kerry. We preferred to be just outside the town and a 40min walk away or €7-8 taxi fare. We will be back next year, if not before!!!! Thank you Freda and John and keep up the excellent work.:-) Paula &Tony Denvir.

Room Tip: Stairs only to the upstairs and therefore book a downstairs room for any mobility difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the 19th Green, our hostess Freda was friendly, accommodating and a true ambassador for Killaney! Freda you made our stay a wonderful treasure to remember for a life-time, thank you for going the extra mile for us! Hope you enjoyed our cheeses, biscuits and guiness we so stupidly left behind! much love Bridgette and Norman Pieterse from the Coppepotguesthouse in Newton Park Port Elizabeth

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony overlooking the entrance and in the distance the golf club a perfect area to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and John also appreciated the review on our Restaurant at the Golf Club. It is especially nice for us that someone in the same industry as ourselves appreciated what we do. We hope you got home safe and look forward to having you back again some day,
To answer your question, Cheese and Guinness was lovely,
Thank you.
Freda.
P.S. We looked you up, pool looks brilliant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The 3 of us stayed in the 19th green on the 13 and 14 June. We booked a triple room and it was so huge it could sleep 5 people! The whole place was cosy right from the moment we stepped it. Full of brochures to plan your itineraries. Good place to start for the Ring of Kerry which took us bout 3-4 hours to complete, which includes stopping for some picture taking. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to really explore Killarney itself as we drove to Cliffs of Moher, about 6 hrs to and fro. We drove pretty fast that's why!

On top of that, I must say that 19th green's breakfast and hospitality is one of the best you can get around.

Hope I'll get a chance to come back someday :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 19th Green Killarney, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review,
We hope you will come back soon,
Freda and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 19th Green Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 19th Green Killarney

Address: Lackabane | Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 19th Green Killarney 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, cosy and welcoming, we are the ideal location for visiting Killarney or the surrounding area, just 3 km from Killarney and 500 metres from the world famous lakes. From the moment you step inside our aim is to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We know all that this part of the world has to offer so whether golfing, walking, fishing, seeking adventure or touring, why not let us look after you? Freda and John ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 19th Green Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 19th Green Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.