We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joy to stay in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbutus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arbutus Hotel to your Saves list
Arbutus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin
1 review
“A joy to stay in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently stayed in the Arbutus Hotel with a group of more than 20 people. I have to say we could not describe enough how well we were looked after for the weekend. From the initial booking and correspondance back and forward to the time we were checking out, Sean and the rest of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is superb and ideally located. The rooms were perfect and we had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant on the Saturday night, were again the staff were so attentive. I would not hesitate to recommend the Arbutus to anyone travelling to Killarney, whether it be for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Michael,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor. I know that I am a little tardy with my replies and apologies for that. I hope that the wedding went well and that the honeymooners are back and all smiles still.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the whole Arbutus “service journey” from start to finish and may I take this opportunity to say what a delight that it was to deal with you.

We wish you and all yours the very best for Christmas and may 2014 be your best year yet!

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    193
    25
    17
    4
See reviews for
204
397
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Arbutus Hotel in Killarney for 3 nights in May and it was one of the most enjoyable hotels of our time in Ireland. From the time we were greeted at reception until the time we left we found all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The reception staff were extremely knowledgable regarding the town and surrounding area. We were given a large room with a separate sitting room and large bathroom which was very comfortable. But the highlight of the stay was meeting Betty who runs the breakfast room with friendly efficiency. She was a delight to meet and is an asset to the hotel. She has been there for 20 years and refers to herself as "part of the furniture", but she is much more than that.
I would highly recommend this hotel and its position in the centre of town is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Paul,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review and sorry for not getting down to replying until now.

Without doubt the greatest benefit that any guest may enjoy at our little hotel is the incredible friendly, helpful and knowledgeable team that work here and their main interest is in helping guests to make the most of their time whilst in Killarney. As for Betty, she is indeed a delight but she has been telling guests that she has worked her for 20 years for a long time now, a lady indeed!

“FIVE STAR SERVICE AT THREE STAR PRICES”, what can I say other than we continuously strive to deliver fair value at all times and by satisfied guests like your good self posting reviews and recommending us, we can cut down on advertising and marketing costs. Look after the guest and the guest will look after you was one of my grandfathers chants.

Hope that you have a lovely Christmas in Australia.

Slán,

Seán

P.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location very central. We arrived to be met with a friendly smiling face. The complimentary cup of tea and ginger cake set the mood. Atmosphere and friendliness made it so relaxing. The whole place was spick and span. Well trained professional staff. Room spacious and very comfortable. The lovely 'sitting room' with a cosy fire made it seem we were the special guests. It was all topped off with beautiful homecooked Irish breakfast with special touches. Would definitely stay in The Arbutus again.

Room Tip: Not familiar with the range of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thomas,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience at The Arbutus with all who read it, here on Tripadvisor. Sorry about the delay in replying to your review but thankfully we have been very, very busy and we have no hesitation it attributing this to you and all others who recommend us. Thanks.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed many of the unique benefits of our little hotel and that you were made to feel that you were “the special guests”. To us all guests are VIPs and as you say it is the special little touches and the friendly smile that can make all the difference. Delighted that you got it and found the atmosphere to be friendly and relaxing and that you would definitely stay in the Arbutus again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Until then we hope that you have a lovely Christmas and that you will Winter well!

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location just a few minutes from the train station It seems like one is staying in a private manor. It is well kept and the room is large. Nice bathroom and free wifi. The staff is great and make sure you are treated well. It felt like home after the first night. Enjoy a nice stay in a quaint Irish town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Barry,

Apologies for the delay in replying to your post, thankfully we have been very busy and are only now getting a chance to catch up on ourselves.

Delighted to see that you felt right at home and enjoyed your time in our nice quaint hotel in our quaint Irish town.

Seasons greetings and wishing you and yours all the best in 2014.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Was just lovely, we loved it from the moment we arrived until we regretfully left. It started with a friendly welcome including tea/coffee and divine homemade ginger cake. The room was very comfortable, the level of service impeccable but unobtrusive. The staff were always charming and nothing was too much trouble. Great location, close to everything but not noisy. Unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Family at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Annette,

Better late than never and apologies about the delay but thankfully we have been very busy at the hotel. We are all too aware that this is in no small way down to you and others who take the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are delighted to read that The Arbutus was the highlight of your travels and that you UNHESITATINGLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.
I love the way that you write, that it is all about getting the balance right and that is what makes things comfortable, from the moment you arrived until you regretfully left service was impeccable but not intrusive and location was close to everything but not noisy. I suppose one could say that it is a little like baby bear’s porridge, chair and bed. Not too hot but not too cold, not too high or not too low and not too hard or too soft. Whichever it is we are very pleased that you had a good time while you were here.

Hope that you have a lovely Christmas and a very happy 2014.

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Delightful family run hotel right in the middle of town. Staff are extremely helpful & friendly.
Our room was large & clean & decorated, like the rest of the hotel, in that lovely old world charm, without looking dated. The breakfast was included with our accommodation & it was excellent...a full Irish breakfast which will last you for the day. Lots of choices! Cooked breakfast as well as the usual cereals & breads, but they also had some lovely homemade cakes, muffins etc. Well done to the chef because the food was delicious & I had the best porridge in the world here: It was served with cream & Bailey's Irish whiskey on the side. What a fabulous combination! It was to die for.We also had a very nice dinner at the pub across the road, which was kindly recommended by Michelle, on reception desk. Great fish & chips & the bread & butter pudding for desert was lovely!
Just a step outside the hotel & you have the lovely township of Killarney, with all manner of shops, cafes & restaurants. A delightful, little town!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Arbutus! It has a lovely atmosphere!
The parking can be a tad challenging if the weather is inclement or you are burdened with a lot of luggage, but we are able bodied & it wasn't such a problem for us.
Just a quick tip! If you have the chance, the nearby Ross Castle is worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room away from where the smokers group, outside the pub at night. They can get a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Owner at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Kat,

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to post your powerful review and recommendations here on Tripadvisor. We are all delighted to see that you had a pleasant time while you were here. Apologies about the delay in replying.

I may be biased but I could not agree with you more about Killarney being a delightful little town and now that it is getting ready for Christmas it is magical with many things contributing to that elusive thing that I take as your greatest compliment about our hotel, atmosphere.
To get it right it is like a good wine, there is some science, some art, listening to your guests, a good quantity time to develop it’s own character and at the end of all that, a lot of luck. If it is of any great distinction it will not be to every ones taste.
The ATMOSPHERE of The Arbutus is similar and you mention that it has a lovely one. It may be down to a combination of it being a delightful family run hotel which has been loved and cared for by the same family since 1926, located right in the middle of town where the staff are extremely helpful & friendly, a lovely old world charm without looking dated, an excellent breakfast (which will last you for the rest of the day) which included the best porridge in the World and this might be the secret sauce. Give them enough Baileys early in the day and the guests will soak up the atmosphere and have a very relaxing time here.

I have shared your comments with all involved. Since you were here Michelle and Dennis have had their first child, a beautiful called Emily and so Santa will be calling to them this year.

Wishing you and you’re the very best,

Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved this place. It is pure charm, in the middle of everything in Killarney. Near the best restaurants and bars in the city; walking distance to Killarney National Park. The staff is friendly and the service is great. Breakfast is well cooked to order, and served until 11 so you can sleep in if you like; I loved their scones, We booked the deluxe double and the room was well appointed in a classic style, ample with two sitting chairs and a desk, plenty of closet space, The bathrrom was modern. Not much view from my room, but it was silent at night. The only drawback might be the free parking which is about 300 yards from the hotel, a really nice walk if sunny, maybe not as nice if raining. There is paid parking closer. The wifi worked perfectly. The TV is old CRT style and small with few channels, not an issue for us. We loved Killarney and the hotel was part of what made it special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArbutusBuckleys, Grandson of the founders at Arbutus Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Isabel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your beautiful and charming review and please forgive me for my tardiness in replying.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Killarney and that The Arbutus was part of what made Killarney special. Your review highlights many of the benefits a guest can enjoy while they “make themselves at home”. The Arbutus and the Buckley family have been at the heart of Killarney tourism for nearly 90 years now and the pleasure never wains.

We hope that we will have the honour of your company again and promise that all the TVs should be replaced by the next time you visit.

Until then, Slán,

Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbutus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Hotel

Address: College Street | Killarney Town centre, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#6 Family Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbutus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arbutus is one of Killarney's true original hotels. Located in the town centre it is a historic, family run hotel -The Arbutus is best described as a Country House Manor in the heart of Killarney . Whilst small (25 rooms), it has the luxurious accommodation and service expected from a larger hotel, with the advantage of all the personal attention and discretion that a smaller property can offer. Location, service, knowledge and comfort. It is often described by guests as a home away from home. We look forward to the opportunity of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arbutus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbutus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.