We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to my expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Muckross Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Did not live up to my expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a 2 night stay in Killarney & I booked this hotel as I wanted a 5 star experience & I paid accordingly. Unfortunately I was left disappointed - Main entrance to hotel is nothing special ,the plants & small garden has not been maintained and the shrubs & flowering plants are dying whereas all over Killarney the hanging baskets & flowers are magnificent.
Our room was functional but nothing special, cabinet for TV not working which meant I couldn't view from my side of bed. Housekeeping on second day was slipshod & it looked like they spent 5 mins in the room.
I enjoyed my spa experience, however steam room was out of order, and also the foot spas, which was a disappointment for me.
A complimentary newspaper is provided, however, we only received paper on first day.
Breakfast was fantastic & the staff were extremely good in the restaurant.
No feedback back forms available & when checking out I was not asked how we enjoyed our stay.

Killarney was fabulous,amazing so I will return but to a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

I was disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy some aspects of your stay.

I can tell you we strive to upgrade and update the property as much as possible all throughout the year. We have had extensive work done on ours grounds since your visit and as a result the hotel is now surrounded by some lovely summery colours. You had also mentioned a couple of maintenance issues including our steam room which have now been rectified as a result. Thank you very much for bringing these to our attention.

My apologies that your newspaper was only delivered on the first day, this is not our usual standard as we always like to deliver when something is offered to our guests. I can tell you the system for morning deliveries has been reviewed and altered. Your feedback on the room servicing on the second day has also been reviewed, like before thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Thank you so much also for your kind words regarding our staff, and also for your lovely compliments on our breakfast.

I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed Killarney and if I can do anything for you in the future please let me know. I would be delighted to be of assistance.

Kind regards

Danny McClure
Guest Relations Manager
Muckross Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    150
    85
    39
    18
See reviews for
140
537
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed one night in June, it was fantastic from start to end. The top service by well trained stuff, the scented towel to freshen after the journey while checking in, the rooms omg amazing, total five star class. The food and the excellence of the knowledge of the staff from starter, wine, main course to dessert was wonderful. The was amazing and the outdoor cedar wood hot amazing amongst the Yew trees. Just an amazing hotel and staff, without a doubt we will be back. Spotless and clean.

If you are an internet buff you will be given a code and there is lack of mobile reception, but hey you are in paradise -chill.

Thank you Muckross

Room Tip: Everything amazing, and the best breakfast I have seen by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cannot fault this hotel. Staff excellent, meal in restaurant to die for. Restaurant staff very knowledgeable. We had complimentary bikes so we took a leisurely ride through Muckross House. The bar staff where we had a pre dinner drink were really friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff friendly and competent. The deluxe room was very spacious and well cleaned every day, and had free wifi. We only ate breakfast in the hotel and it was absolutely amazing, both choice and quality! One night we had dinner in Molly Darcys and it was delicious in a more relaxed setting.
We found everyone very helpful and had a lovely treatment in the spa. The spa was first clas even without a treatment. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe room which was spacious with a spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a quick one night stay in Muckross park hotel and everything was out of this world. We sampled most of what the hotel had to offer, the bar, spa and yew tree restaurant and all were superb. Would highly recommend a stay for couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Look, - I'm biased - it was my daughter's wedding and it would have been great if we had gone to the local "fish n chips". I was cynical about going to a so-called "5-star" hotel. My wife and I have stayed in many of them and are usually a bit underwhelmed by the arrogance and poor service.
This hotel is very different!
From the beginning they were fantastic! The wedding day organiser was Niall, who was attentive, courteous and absolutely geared to making the day very special. There was a food-tasting session involving our new in-laws and the bride and groom. The food choices were explained to us by focused staff and the quality exceeded our expectations.
For main course we opted for a choice of fillet steak (done to your taste) and monk-fish.
On the day, everyone got exactly what they requested - blue, rare, medium or well done! I have only experienced this quality of service in the very best restaurants and NEVER at a wedding dinner! Then things went even more exceptional when extra portions of fillet steak and monk-fish were offered to all, - irrespective of what they had initially ordered on the day. Think about that!.
My daughter and her partner availed of all kinds of extras including massage and hydrotherapy pool, which were described as "fantastic".
Most of the immediate families went for a walk the next day into Muckross Park and this is literally just across the road (50 meters from Reception!). I am fairly biased here also! Muckross Park is just about top of the ultimate bucket-list if you are from Ireland or, seriously, if you are from abroad, you are nuts if you do not treat yourself to some of the most beautiful scenery on the planet!
Magic, Magic Hotel experience.

Room Tip: Don't worry about it! All the rooms are great and I've seen about 5 of them including one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I couldn't rate Muckross Park Hotel higher. I had an amazing stay here. Room was beautiful, dinner in the restaurant outstanding & the staff a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. I didn't get to try the spa but I will return for that extra pleasure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Cloisters Spa. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.