We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and beautiful Cloisters spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Muckross Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful hotel and beautiful Cloisters spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Myself and my friend had a very enjoyable 2 night stay 2 weeks before Christmas. It was out first time staying there and we were very impressed! Our room was very comfortable and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We ate in Molly Darcys bar and the food was really lovely. Our plates were cleared! We also enjoyed the facilities in the Cloisters spa including the most relaxing mud body wrap. Felt great after it! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    157
    85
    39
    19
See reviews for
142
567
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed on new years eve to attend a wedding at the hotel,
Upon arrival the reception made us feel so welcome and a concierge showed us to our room with wine and chocolates waiting for us,
The room was perfect and had everything you could need,
The food and service was top notch,
But what stands out is the attention to detail in every part of the hotel,
We have often stayed in hotels were like I've said had everything right but little things like dirt on a wall or a broken tap or a bad smell would let it down but not in the muckross park
A real 5 star experience :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stunning hotel to stay in. We were shown to our room by concierge which had a bottle of wine and a few chocolates waiting for us. The room was extremely spacious and had everything we needed. We even had a balcony over looking the gardens and river. We ate in molly darcy's bar which was very tasty indeed. I would recommended there burger mmmmm.
We went for a walk in the morning in around Muckross House which is just straight across the road from hotel.
Breakfast in the hotel was a buffet and had a very good variety.
The front desk staff were a pleasure to deal with even when there was a mistake in our bill in the morning the fix the problem straight away no questions ask.
When we were leaving the hotel we were given a bottle of water each for our journey which we though was a nice touch from the hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay the few euro extra for junior suites with bottle of wine and breakfast included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location and ambience of this hotel is ideal for a quiet and relaxing stay. Located in the Kilarney National Park, the beautifull drives, walks and scenary on the door step compete for your time with the relaxing Cloisters Spa. The bedrooms are completed with high standard amenities and top quality period style furniture. The spa is exceptional. All staff are helpfull and very pleasant. The hotel bar is not to everyone's tastes. It is a rather large and barnlike take on a traditional Irish pub.

The food was the lower point of the stay for me. While the bar food was of reasonable quality and plentyfull, there wasn't great variety. The hotel dining room also had a limited and I felt over stylised menu. No lamb on either menu! Must the main courses be served on slates rather than plates? Given its location some distance outside Kilarney town, with its variety of bars and restraunts, better more varied menus would be a real addition to this hotel.

Overall I really enjoyed the stay, but very much more for the location and the quality of the hotel accommodation and fabulous spa than for the food. Overall the stay was very good value for money

Room Tip: East or south side rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloonfad, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked in for 2 nights as was attending a wedding. Was very impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. There were some minor issues which disappointed. The WIFI did not work at an adequate speed and the rooms were on arrival were too hot@25C. The food in the hotel was five star. The food at the bar nearly as good.
I just have to take the time to mention the staff. They were a breadth of fresh air. In all the hotels I have stayed in, in Ireland, the staff at the Muckross Park were the best I have dealt with. They took ownership of issues “I will deal with that sir” “Consider it done” and the issues were resolved, not the usual blank stares or avoidance sometimes you get in some places. The staff were professional, courteous, helpful, properly trained and are a credit the hotel.

George

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this hotel for 1 night as a Christmas treat. While the Cloisters Spa was lovely it does not make up for the failings of the rest of the hotel. The deluxe room was small and old fashioned. The mini bar was not stocked. We were not informed that you must ask for the mini bar to be stocked and when we requested this at reception it was too late in the evening at 11pm. We then tried the residence bar for a small snack (peanuts, crisps) we found they had nothing. The description for the hotel on the website and in the room information booklet stated that each room had a DVD player. Our room did not have one. We requested one and found that there were none to be had. Very disappointing especially since our TV continuously said no signal and only worked intermittently. The wifi also did not work in our room. A hotel advertising itself as a five star should be getting the basics right. I must mention that the staff were friendly. Overall the hotel is nice but does not achieve anything close to a five star rating from me. I would not visit again unless improvements were made.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Past Guest,


Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor. I regret that you were dis-satisfied with the size of your room. We do offer upgrades to our larger superior rooms to include wine & chocolates for only an additional €30.

Unfortunately Killarney had some very bad storms over the Christmas period where we lost electricity, TV reception & Wi-Fi for a considerable time. Thankfully the hotel has a generator and was able to continue to operate fully. However conditions were such that it look longer for the TV & Wi-Fi issues top get address and I apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused.

I am glad to read that you found our staff members to be friendly.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I attended a friends wedding here in December and stayed for two nights and I have to say everything about this place screams five star!! It is absolutely fabulous from the bedrooms to the food, the decor to the staff I can safely say that it's one of the best hotels I've ever been in!
The spa is out of this world, the kind of place you just don't want to leave!
The concierge Ted is wonderful he has a way of making you feel like you're the only guest at the hotel and he is friendly while remaining professional, he's a real asset to the hotel! All of the staff we encountered were helpful, friendly and professional!
The hotel is nestled in an amazing location just a few minutes from Killarney and has stunning views!
Having just got engaged myself I will definitely be checking this place out as a potential venue and am hoping to return here for a couple of nights very soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.