We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location for a wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Muckross Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location for a wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for two nights. I wish we were able to stay longer. We arrived after a long drive, to be greeted with hot, wet washcloths to freshen up. The gentleman on duty assisted with all of our luggage, and we did not pack lightly. The staff were all more than friendly, extremely helpful and very professional. Breakfast was delicious. We both had the eggs Benedict and although, expectedly, they were not exactly as we would have in Ontario, they were delicious. The rooms were beautifully and ornately decorated, upgraded but maintaining its grandeur. The area was so magnificent and breathtaking, I wish we could have stayed longer. The concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend this if you are looking to be treated as someone special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    146
    82
    38
    18
See reviews for
137
511
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arrived late in afternoon following trip to Dingle. Was staying at small B&Bs along the way. Stayed at this hotel looking for a pleasant retreat. The hotel offered basic rooms with king size beds and shower/tub, dual vanities. Small tv, somewhat dated furniture. Clean.

Was contemplating a spa treatment for the next day. So the manager got us to stay another night by promising an upgraded room (a suite) for the same price we paid for the first night. I booked my treatment then and there.

Turns out he lied, they just moved us to a similar room. We called from the room questioning why we were moved to an identical room with a view of the parking lot? We were told no suites were available. He did not offer any other compensation. We were very unhappy with this. I booked my spa treatment due to the fact we were enticed into a second night stay by a room upgrade.

We then went down to speak to the manager in person and showed our displeasure. The manager then showed us a "miraculously available suite" but then requested an additional 50 Euro ($70 US dollars) lol

LIES and TRICKERY.

Ultimately we felt hijacked/swindled. At this point it was very late in the afternoon and we has no choice but to stay.

Will not stay again. Be careful when discussing upgrades or specials. Manager was dishonest!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Past Guest,

I have investigated the matter you referred to in your review. I have spoken to the manager involved who said that if you were staying on he would try to give you a suite. Unfortunately when he checked, we only had one suite available and as we had many guests paying suite supplements that night he was unable to give this suite for free. However on checkout as a gesture of goodwill, you were offered a 3rd night stay complimentary, which you did avail of. I regret that you did not mention the fact that you received a free night stay in your review. I feel the reception team were generous in their compensation for not being able to give you a free suite upgrade.

Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough after staying there recently. The level of service is second to none. Our room was immaculate and had a very large balcony over looking the grounds of the hotel. All of the staff were so friendly and obliging they really could not do enough for you. Breakfast in the morning was a definite highlight, such a vast selection of food and all dietary restrictions were catered for. I will most definitely return for a longer stay in the near future. Keep up the good work guys you have well earned your star rating :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey/Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary and travelling around the south coast of Ireland. We stayed in many lovely hotels but this one was extra special! When we arrived our room was ready and our helpful and funny concierge, Ted gave us a quick guide to what to do that afternoon and for the following two days. Invaluable advice and we made the most of every moment - champagne and strawberries on our actual anniversary in the cosy bar, the bedroom was very comfortable with plenty of space and good size bed. The spa was beautiful and the treatments are delightful with professional and attentive staff. The location is perfect for exploring Dingle and the Ring of Kerry, so much to do that we would love to return and spend even longer. Dinner in the restaurant was OK but the food in the pub next door and the Irish dancing and live music were exceptional.

Room Tip: We asked for a deluxe room - we booked through booking.com and you don't automatically get the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a lovely if brief stay at the Muckross Park & really look forward to going back...soon I hope!
Had a beautiful room at the back of the hotel overlooking a little garden area, compleate with stream! Good sized room, very comfy bed. Had a travel cot in there & there was still plenty of room. Nice sized bathroom alos, seperate shower to bath which I loved.
Breakfast was.....amazing! Buffet incl hot options plus you have a choice off the breakfast menu. Had the pancakes, yum!
Was with my family & some friends so they kindly arranged for us to all sit in one area which was great.
Staff were great overall, no complaints.
Killarney is such a beautiful place & the Muckross Park is a wee bit outside of town but in such a pretty area. Walking distance to the Muckross Park house & gardens and some amazing walks.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the back of the hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Double Rooms and it was very nice. The room was a great size, and beautifully furnished, there was also a large en-suite. The was a very large King Size bed, which was quite comfortable, I would have preferred a slightly softer mattress. Our room did not have a particularly brilliant view, but in that we were only there to go to sleep it didn't matter to us. The hotel is in such a wonderful location that all you have to do is walk ten paces to find another staggering vista. The hotel staff were superb, in particular we wish to credit Teddy (Concierge) and Chris (Barman). Teddy's knowledge of the area is second to none, and he will do anything to help you. Chris was an excellent barman, he was very attentive without being obtrusive, and again had excellent knowledge of the area.

The spa was very nice, although the outdoor hot tub was out of action for the entire week we were there. This didn't bother us particularly as there are plenty of other facilities. There were a couple of broken tiles in the spa which need to be repaired, however it is a stunning spa where you instantly feel relaxed.

We have very few complaints at all. My partner is a vegetarian and really struggled to eat within the hotel restaurants. They all offered the same vegetarian alternatives, and the selection was not great. All were highly calorific and contained cheese as a the only source of protein, also most included goat's cheese which is an acquired taste. It would have been nice to have seen some pulses used in the vegetarian options. A veg chilli or chickpea burger for example? The breakfasts were very nice, with an excellent selection of foods, and all beautifully presented.

Overall the stay was brilliant, and the location is perfect to tour the Ring of Kerry, walk to Muckross House, the Abbey ruins, the Torc Waterfall. The Meeting of the Waters is a short drive, then walk away.

The adjoining Molly D'arcey's is worth a visit, although is not particularly authentic. The music and dancing provided a good evening's entertainment. Our favourite was the Monk's bar, where you can relax after a long day touring such wonderful surroundings. There are plenty of very comfortable sofas, where you can sit by the fire and sip some of Ireland's finest Whiskeys or beers, or treat yourself to a lovely cocktail.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and in fact I already have to two different sets of people despite only being home for about 12 hours!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived a bit early but the concierge made every effort to get us situated before a long day in Killarney National Park. After letting me get changed in the spa, they immediately set us up with free mountain bikes to take for the day - with a full itinerary for a nice 3 hour ride along the gorgeous lake and surrounding scenery. I cannot say enough about the concierge and staff; helpful, friendly, and warm would be a good start.

In terms of the accommodations, top notch. The room was spacious with beautiful furniture and a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was near sparkling clean, with high end amenities including an electric towel drying rack.

In the morning, prepare yourself for a large buffet breakfast along with made to order dishes - we had an omelette and pancakes which were both above average At night after a long day, Molly Darcy's is a great place to settle in for a few too many pints.

Sure, it's expensive but trust me you won't worry about the money when you're done with your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Business Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Cloisters Spa. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.