We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Muckross Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would like to comment on the wedding that i recently attended 2 weeks ago, in the Muckross hotel park hotel from the moment, I walked in I taught that the venue was superb the service was excellent. I got Chatting to one of the waitresses Therese, she was very courteous & all of the guests on our table thought how good her service was, she displayed even with our kids all the guest commented on the venue, Looking forward to our next visit during the summer with the family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    157
    85
    39
    18
See reviews for
144
567
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Mount Kennedy, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were fortunate to get a special offer and we had a super time in this hotel.
Special requests were fulfilled - I asked when booking - and everything was as I wanted.

It is on the outskirts of Killarney - we came for a quite time and got it.
The room was specious, the bed comfi, big and made to welcome a king!
Very clean, very nice big bathrooms - everything was working perfectly. Which is not normal in Ireland really.
We even had a balcony and in this room one could easily take a full weeks holiday with breakfast on the balcony if the weather allows for it and enjoy the phantastic landscape, lakes, mountains, parks and some buzz in the city.

The Spa well deserves a world spa award. The pool area is lovely, an outdoor tub is there too, sauna, a salt grotto, heated loungers -gosh just posh ;-)

Everyone is noice, welcoming, but not creepy and looking for lots of tips - not at all. From being welcomed, bags carried upstairs, getting some ideas of what to do in our free time up to a farewell bag with water and mints - it was a wonderful experience.

The breakfast caters not only for the Irish - so there is way more than just the Irish breakfast, healthy options, continental (with ham, special cheeses, salmon . . .), extra kitchen specials, lots of fruit, cerials . . .

We will definitely go again (even if it costs more.)

The only thing that was not 150% perfect was that the restaurant was closed on the Sunday evening, and the bar food was fine, but nothing special.

Room Tip: well we had a kingsize, facing the river - and we were happy. Large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed here on three occasions and loved it. The welcome on arrival is natural and friendly. The rooms though standard are really nice, clean and fresh and some have lovely views. Having used the spa on each visit is lovely, however some of the areas have either been closed for private use or broken such as the steam room and the other areas there. The pool and treatments are great though. Have had dinner in the bar and food is of very good quality though the menu is very limited off season.The breakfast is amazing with great choices. Overall a nice break with a partner

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Got a really good deal on living social. Stayed with a friend for one night.
Great location outside of town and beside the national park.
Staff really made the visit. Everyone was so friendly and overly helpful.
Got a treatment in the spa and again got a discount with the deal. Not sure that I would be willing today extra to use the spa facilities alone. It's a nice area but you wouldn't spend the day there.
Got a drink in the bar . Really nice for a hotel bar. Got a full dinner in the restaurant. It was on the expensive side but really nice for a treat.
The room was perfect. The breakfast was really good.
It's well worth having a few hours walking around the area..beautiful.
Staff were great on checkout, they gave us a late check out. And we were sent off with a bottle if water for the journey home.
If you can get a good deal here its well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the hotel. The hotel is very well situated. We had breakfast each morning and 1 evening meal and we thought the food was great. The Spa didn't quite live up to the on-line photos. We felt that some lights had been switched off and the results was a loss of the wow factor. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we would happily return to this hotel if we were in the area.

Room Tip: When we arrived we didn't like the view from our room and we received a free upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Muckross Park Hotel has everything that you could wish for. Nothing is too much bother as I found out when requesting some specialist wheat and gluten free diet food which wasn't on the menu.

It is the only hotel that is situated in Killarney National Park and has the beauty of this place right on its doorstep. In keeping with a five star hotel, it has its own shuttle service and can arrange any mode of transport on your behalf. The town of Killarney is just a few minutes away.

The food is excellent -- served always with a friendly smile. The restaurant has its own character and ambience about it which makes you just want to linger and chill out, enjoying that second glass of wine.

Don't get put off by the view from the front of this hotel which consists mainly of Molly Darcy's Traditional Irish Pub which is all part of the hotel along with the Monk's Bar. Once you drive into the car park at the rear you will see what a fine and outstanding building this is. I have posted a photo in this article.

Seeing is believing. Check it out for yourselves.

Room Tip: Make your choice -- room with large bathroom, access to wireless for Internet (not available everywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were guests at the Muckross Park Hotel recently as we attended a wedding celebration in the hotel. I have to compliment the hotel staff on their warm and genuine hospitality, and the many little details that we noticed through out our stay that make all the difference. The rooms are very well appointed and certainly luxurious, it is perhaps however time to remove the old fashioned TV cabinets that house the Old fashioned CRT TV's. Mount a nice LCD TV on the wall and you gain all that space? Carpet needs looking at also.
A stand out person during our stay was one of the Managers Niall, he was there on arrival and met us as we checked in. He was very visible through our stay and we also met him in the bar after the wedding where he was offering slippers to the ladies, whom may have tired from a long day in their heels, and dancing, nice touch.
Room service breakfast was without doubt the best I have had via roomservice. It was hot, fresh looking, delivered on time, with a complimentary news paper. The scrambled eggs were perfect.
Departure was smooth and we were wished well and presented some bottled water for our onward trip. We decided to hang around, and have lunch in Molly Darcy's. Must say the service and food here is great, and it has such a comfortable decor. The proliferation of celebrity photos throughout didn't seem to fit in, and the music selection needs a looking at, there is only so much Damien Rice you can listen to.

All in all a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.