We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Muckross Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muckross, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Wicklow
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here a while back and what struck me was how beautiful the bedrooms were. Killarney is a fabulous location too and the hotel has a great bar and restaurant too. Local tourist attractions are very nearby without being overly central or noisy

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Killarney's National Park.
Our rooms were all completely refurbished in 2007 and we recently won the Supreme Award for Best Five Star Accommodation in Ireland 2012/2013
by the Irish Accommodation Standards Institute

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    157
    85
    39
    19
See reviews for
142
567
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

An absolutely fantastic hotel with incredible service and staff! The rooms are so beautifully decorated with lots of nice touches in the bathrooms! The full access to the spa is undoubtedly the highlight! Amazing facilities in such a tranquil environment! We were even allowed to use the facilities for a few hours after we checked out! Such a relaxing place to be and great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read you had such a relaxing stay with us, and that you enjoyed The Cloisters Spa. Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff, and incredible service also.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A gorgeous hotel with high-class amenities. Bathrooms and spa are updated, and linens were high quality. Staff was friendly. Free wireless internet was convenient. The location is very convenient to Muckross Park, and just outside of Killarney. To get to town, you will want to take a cab or shuttle as the road is too busy for safely walking especially at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Killarney's National Park.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for a week last August and came from The US for a wedding. Having traveled for 12+ hours with two small children we were tired and hungry when we first arrived at the hotel and breakfast had just ended - the hotel manager called to the kitchen and the staff agreed to stay open while we enjoyed some food. It was not the first time during our trip that the service levels went above and beyond our expectations. The onsite food options were great and we enjoyed several family dinners and lunchs at Molly Darcy's which is a restaurant/pub attached to the Hotel. They had some great "kids meals" options also. Breakfast was our favorite and they had lots of options at their excellent buffet. In the evenings Molly's also had Irish dancing and music which started early enough to enjoy during dinner. Our daughters birthday also happened to fall during our trip and she wanted a themed birthday cake which the hotel chef did a tremendous job on. Location wise, the hotel is located directly adjacent to Muckross Park and you can walk from the hotel directly to the park which has excellent jogging and bike trails. The hotel also organizes group hiking every day. Bedrooms are large and definitely 4 or 5 star level plus we had adjoining rooms for our inlaws which worked out really well. What really distinguished this hotel for us was the service levels, from housekeeping to restaurant to front desk staff everyone was helpful, courteous and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to someday returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us for your recent family Wedding.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff team, who work very hard to ensure our guests are happy at all times.
Molly Darcy's Irish Nights run 5 nights per week all summer and are very popular with diners each night.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We shared an excellent weekend away with a group of medical friends at this hotel. I have to commend the staff in every department for their friendliness and helpfulness (especially our waitress on Friday and Saturday night in the restaurant for her suggestions on the menu). The room was very comfortable as you would expect.
The food was delicious and a good choice was available to suit all tastes.
I would recommend it as place to go for a weekend away either as a couple or group of friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff friendliness gives great affirmation to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in that hotel and it is by far the best one we visited during our stay in Ireland. The hotel and the rooms are stunning, the crew very forthcoming and friendly. The SPA is amazing and by far one of the best we ever had the chance to use around the globe. The hotel is located very close to the Killarney lakes (walking distance) and although at a main road, very peaceful. We personally preferred the landscapes in the north around Gallway, nonetheless it just a lovely and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear past guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel, and bedroom in particular. Our Accommodation Team take great pride in ensuring all rooms and public areas are impeccable at all times. We recently won A Gold Irish Accommodation Services Award, as well as The Subreme Winner Award 2012 also.
I am delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our Cloisters Spa, World Luxury Spa Winner 2011.
Located in the heart of Killarney's National Park, The Muckross Park is the ideal location for enjoying all that Killarney has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Kind regards
Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thank you to Sean O'Driscoll and staff for organising a wonderful birthday party for out little son. The food served at the barbecue was delicious and the staff worked so hard throughout the day to ensure that everyone was very well looked after. We requested a specially themed birthday cake which tasted delicious and was beautifully decorated. The hotel is very luxurious and our bedroom was spacious and luxurious. Breakfast was very tasty, serving the freshest of food.

We would highly recommend Muckross Park for any special occasion as Sean pays great attention to detail and ensures that whatever is requested is actually delivered on the special day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanODriscoll, Guest Relations Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted your son had such a lovely birthday party here at Muckross. We strive to provide the very best throughout the hotel at all times and
we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Geraldine O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.