We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wheelchair accessible Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 New Street, Killarney, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Cork
2 reviews
“Best Wheelchair accessible Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wheelchair facility very good except for a small dip from bathroom to bedroom which could easily be rectified to make this room 100% accessible.
Staff were so friendly and helpful- best we have stayed with since my husband had a stroke.
The members of our party were very impressed by the friendliness and the pleasant atmosphere in the hotel. Excellent location.

Room Tip: What appears to be a newer part of the hotel had bigger rooms with jaccuzi baths for exra comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Phil M
Thank you very much for your recent review, we all are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you and your hasband again,
Best regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    124
    73
    27
    30
See reviews for
47
151
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

In July I went to Ireland with my girlfriends for 1 week , 4 days in Dublin 3 days in Killarney. When we checked into the Eviston House I knew I would have a great time. The hotel is right in the center of town witch was great. Loads of shops, restaurants,hotels & pubs.Its a great place to stay if you want to go shopping !! We shopped till we dropped !! The hotel was lovely , really clean & the staff could not have been more friendly / helpful . The Danny Mann is the bar/restaurant attached to the hotel, owned by the hotel. The food was Delicious!! They have traditional Irish music every night , witch we really enjoyed. Again the staff couldent be more helpful. I had a great time !! I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Kourtney B
Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that your visit in Killarney and our Hotel was so enjoyable. We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanica, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in the Eviston House a few months ago, It was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. The Danny Mann is the bar connected to the hotel wich locals and guests can use. There food is devine and they're staff couldent be more friendly.We got a free upgrade and the room was way nicer than we expected! My husband and I went down to the bar and had some lovely dinner ( I would reccomend Cajun Salmon ). I really enjoed the music " The Molly Maguires " they were great "craic". There was a really cute little irish dancer, Alannah. We will definetly be back when visiting Ireland again !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Jade B and sorry for the late response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of our Irish Music and especially our young Irish Dancer Alannah. We have passed on your nice comments. Best regards, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Was suprised to see this hotel ranking where it does with tripadvisor - because it's one with plenty of character and personality!!

The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the food great and the staff very welcoming. Sure the carpark is a bit tight, but with a little care it is really no trouble.

It is at night where this hotel really comes to life, with some fantastic entertainment with the live music in the main bar. And the bar staff must be amongst some of the best in Ireland given how busy the place can get on weekends.

In short this is a little gem of a hotel in Killarney, and one we are looking forward to visiting again very soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guru Rebel,
Thank you for staying at our hotel and your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Best regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed for a week at the Everiston House Hotel and I have no hesitation is saying the person who made my stay the best I experienced in Ireland was Paul the barman.

He was also the hotel handy man who fixed my leaking toilet in no time flat.

The accommodation and meals were good but it was Paul who made the differnce, he is informative, funny and a bloody good bloke. He told me about all the non touristy places to visit which made my touring so much more enjoyable.

I recommend anyone staying at the Eviston catch up with Paul, he is a fantastic bloke.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front are better, its a long way to the back rooms if carrying luggage. Be awar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patev, Owner at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear peterc 1705,
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our hotel. Paul was delighted to see your review. He is certainly a character and puts customers and fellow staff in a good mood. Hopefully you will visit Ireland again in the future and meet up again. Apologies for the late response and best regards, Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at Eviston House Hotel last weekend with the group of friends
The customer service we received from the entire staff was unequaled to any of our overnight stays. Kris the Manager went over and above to make our stay a pleasant one. All of the staff in the Danny Mann Pub were each absolutely splendid. Unfortunately I only know John the Bar Manager by name, but each of the others should be contacted to write a book on excellent customer service. The room, bar and the lobby area were very good. I highly recommend a stop here if in this part of Ireland. Many thanks to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear SuziiP
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoy the stay at Eviston House Hotel and we are waiting for you to come back.
Best regards
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The only positives we could find about this hotel was the location. There are lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance, and the one within the hotel was nice too. Every other aspect was very, very rough. The walls and ceilings are paper-thin. Someone walking down the hallway sounded like a heard of wild horses. People in the room above us sounded like they were bowling when just getting up and walking around in the middle of the night-- needless to say, sleep was very challenging. Not to mention, the hotel staff did not make up for any of this. We stayed here three nights, never even complaining, and came and went from our room numerous times, at which point we were never acknowledged by hotel staff with any greeting at all. Not to mention, the parking situation is ridiculous. You have to park under the building after going through an alley with two inches on each side of your car, and trek through a club and the restaurant to come and go. We were very disappointed that this was the hotel we had to spend the most time in during our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisM68, Manager at BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear JessicaToy1011

Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay and sincerely apologise if you felt our staff were not engaging enough. I can assure you that this is not normally the case and I have addressed this with the staff in question. We also are having our maintenance staff rectify the sound transmission you experienced. It is unfortunate you did not inform us as we would have offered to relocate you immediately. Regarding our Car park, yes it is down a narrow lane but due to our town centre location we cannot change this. We do inform all our guests on arrival about this and also that there is additional free overnight parking only 2 minutes walk away. It saddened us that we were not made aware of your problems during your stay so we could make you happy. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Best regards,
Assistant General Manager
Kris Muciek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel

Address: 97 New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is family run, ensuring guests a genuine Irish welcome. Situated in the town centre, yet minutes from the National Park. Choose from excellent value standard rooms to new superior rooms with broadband and contemporary decor. For an extra special stay why not try one of our luxurious deluxe rooms with whirlpool bath and king size bed. Enjoy excellent cuisine and the best of lively traditional Irish music in our "Danny Mann" pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eviston Hotel
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Eviston House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.