We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added International Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
International Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location . It's in th heart of town and a short drive to area attractions, such as Muckross House and Killarney National Park, as well as the start of the Ring of Kerry. The room was nice and the hotel staff friendly, particularly the servers in the dining room where breakfast was served. Would recommend for anyone staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TravelerSteve,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we're delighted you enjoyed it and your time in Killarney. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff, particularly our breakfast team.
We hope to see you back again at another time in the future.
Kind regards
Anne Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    260
    59
    23
    10
See reviews for
246
507
59
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This has long been a favourite fo mine but a year ago it was badly damaged in a gas explosion at a nearby premises and closed for months, only finally reopening in March this year.
It is to the huge credit of the staff, and the Front Desk team managed by a superb lady named Anne Marie that everyone in a superb team held together- i cannot imagine how hard it must have been without seeing a guest for months- and it is every bot as good as it was if not better. Food, drink,location and service are all outstanding. But it is the people that make this, in my eyes an icon for the tourist industry on which a town surrounded by unparralled beauty, depends.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk-
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Frank,
We are always delighted to see you back and it is great to have such appreciative guests!
Thank you for the fantastic comments, it is the team here that make the hotel what it is, from our General Manager downwards, all our staff work together for the benefit of our visitors.
We're so glad you enjoyed your few days with us and looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcock, Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just back from a weekend in Killarney, The international hotel is located in the centre of the town which is great. The staff are friendly & very accommodating. We stayed in an executive room which was spacious, clean & the bed was very comfortable. We only ate breakfast here & it was tasty the only thing that bothered me about it was it's a set menu & not buffet. I would recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: The bed in the executive room is huge & the bath has jets, would recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Kieran C,
Thank you for your very good review. We're very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and got a good nights sleep.
We are just a little surprised by your point that you'd prefer Buffet to table service breakfast. Our served breakfast is one area that is so highly commended by our guests, who love the personal touch. That said, it is all a matter of individual choice and we appreciate all feedback.
We hope we'll see you back again to the International and thank you again for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm here with a group tour. I am pleased with the room, food, and services. Very charming; very clean. However, according to fellow travelers, there is some qualitative differences between rooms: some very small, few rooms have AC. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Marietta,
Thank you so much. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Just regarding your comments on room size and AC, our Executive & Superior rooms are slightly larger than our Classic rooms and you possibly got a Complimentary upgrade to one of these. None of our rooms are very small, they meet standard size requirements for Irish hotels.
We have AC in approx. 50% of our rooms, and we're more than happy to pre-allocate one of these rooms if required.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your Ireland tour and returned home with many happy memories!
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is a combination of Old World Charm updated with modern conveniences. Railtours of Ireland booked us into the International for 2 nights during our tour and we were very pleased. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Our room had 2 double beds and a single so there was plenty of space to spread out.

Room Tip: We werre assigned a room on the first floor of rooms, one up from the lobby. There is an elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Touringfolks,
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. Railtours offer excellent trips, backed up by first-class Customer service and we are delighted to be their main partner hotel in Killarney.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Service and staff could not be more helpful. Room was spotless and very well decorated. Food in the bar and breakfast was excellent. I would recommend anyone stay. General manager was most personable and I will stay in the hotel when in killarney next.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Raymond O,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All our colleagues work as one unit from the Manager to our Reception, Bar & Restaurant, Housekeeper etc and it shows in the level of co-operation and dedication to service displayed by our entire team.
We hope we'll see you back again for another stay in the future.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great welcome from all, very comfortable room, great food, very friendly staff, making for a great stay, and I will be back in the near future. Based in the center of Killarney easy access to everything, plenty of parking close to the hotel,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Pat,
Thanks a million for the great comments - yes - it was a fabulous weekend in town! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you got around the Ring to your satisfaction.
Hope to see you back again in 2015.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.