We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Victorian hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Killarney

Save Saved
You added International Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Killarney
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spacious Victorian hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent room in a nice hotel. Front desk is efficient & helpful. Dinner at the restaurant is expensive & not very good, although breakfast is fine. Excellent location. Just go over to the next street behind the hotel to find good local food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mkfromia,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and your kind comments on our accommodations and staff.
We are disappointed however that you found our Restaurant lacking which genuinely is very unusual, however we appreciate all feedback and would be glad to get more details on this if you care to email me personally - Annemarie@killarneyinternational.com.
In the meantime, we hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and got to savour some of this beautiful weather we are experiencing.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    196
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
175
384
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Street, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Convenient location within walking distance to restaurant, shopping, and pubs. Comfortable rooms and great service. All of the hotel team were friendly, very accommodating, and well informed about the area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Killarney.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear MartyZ836,
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent stay with us, which we are very pleased to see are so positive.
We have a great team here, most of whom are either local or have lived in the area for many years, are very knowledgeable about Killarney, and more importantly value the importance of great service.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to see you back again at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. Excellent service and the food is excellent.
We have supper and breakfast there and it was amazing.
Rooms are clean and nicely decorated
Great stay - do not hesitate to book here.
Thanks !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Tester038,
Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and of course recommendations are always appreciated.
We'd love to see you back again at another time and we hope you had a safe journey home to Canada.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Killarney in June 2013. I was extremely pleased with this hotel and so glad we had chosen it.
It is a lovely hotel right in the town centre, easily accessible to the shops and also to the bus tours of the area. We took the Ring of Kerry tour the one day and the required location for us to catch the bus was just around the corner from the hotel. We used a city lot for parking during our stay which was also nearby and very accessible. The hotel is charming. It has a beautiful lobby, lovely dining room, pub with live music, library and games room (pool table). We were able to obtain a room that accommodated 3 adults that included a single bed plus a double bed. The room was upscale, clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Hot breakfast was excellent. Staff were very kind and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear BLF31,
Thanks so much for your great review of our hotel. You've touched on so many of our services and facilities and been so complimentary of them all which is very heartening for us to hear as our aim is to genuinely offer the best stay we can to all our guests.
We hope to see you back again at another time and thank you again for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First rate staff from arrival reception staff were very friendly great service and this was the same standard in all areas this hotel is beautiful great rooms very good food great value.very good location really nice hotel for a break.will return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear KerryDirector,
Thanks so much. What can we say? We aim to offer a great service to all our guests and we're delighted that we did so on this occasion and that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay.
We'd love to see you back again and in the meantime, thank you again for taking the time to review your experience.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best part of my trip to Ireland. The heart of kilarney where you experience the most of Ireland. The staff and rooms meet every expectation. Never before wasnivso close to my ancestors. Thank you kilarney am
Nd the kilarney international.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Douglas L,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Despite its many visitors every year, Killarney has managed to retain a real Irish feel and we think the International does too! We endeavour to employ as many local staff as possible to add to your experience and of course their familiarity with the area means they are a fountain of local knowledge!
We're delighted you enjoyed your time in Killarney and Ireland - it sounds like it was a sentimental journey for you and we hope to see you back at another time,
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Intn'l Hotel in Killarney was GREAT! Our tour company,Railtours of Ireland, made us a "standard" reservation without explaining that the room would not have air conditioning. We were fortunate enough to have bright sunny weather for the first day of our stay and it became quite hot which made our night very uncomfortable. The hotel took the responsibility to rectify the problem and moved us to an air conditioned room for the rest of our stay. They were also accommodating when we requested a sheet and blanket to use instead of their heavy comforters. Really a beautiful and welcoming hotel with very gracious and friendly staff. We highly recommend them. They are also very conveniently located to the Hop-On Hop-Off bus system and within walking distance of many of the attractions and Hueston train station is right across the street!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Dancer46,
Thank you for your great report of the hotel, we genuinely do go the extra mile for our guests, it is our way of operating our hotel and we're always happy to help with any requests that are at all possible!
We do have AC in approx. 30% of our rooms, as you kindly mentioned it is not usually a pre-requisite of an Irish Holiday, but we were delighted we were able to oblige even so!
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Ireland and we hope to see you back again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Killarney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.