We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times in Killarney!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Killarney

Save Saved
You added International Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Killarney
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
“Great times in Killarney!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were there for a St. Paddy's Day vacation, and unfortunately, my wife had a serious hypoglycemic episode and quickly became unconscious. Facing a medical emergency in another country is always a scary thing, but the two employees at the front desk of the International Hotel were terrific in helping me. Not only did they get me in touch with a doctor and the ambulance, but they also took the responsibility of watching for their arrival so I could stay with my wife. We were very impressed with them and will definitely stay there again and recommend them to any other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Candee C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and firstly we hope your wife is fully recovered.
Our aim is to offer a warm friendly welcome and atmosphere, but also to provide a totally professtional service and to be of qualified and immediate assistance should circumstances warrant it.
We hope this situation did not take from your enjoyment of your time in Ireland and we would be delighted to see you both back again at another time.
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    196
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
175
384
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent service. The night staff made a special pot of coffee for us on our early morning day of departure. Perfect location. there is no need to drive your car anywhere. The room was ideal. The bed was very comfortable. Close proximity to the National Park, points of interests, restaurants and shopping. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Karen N,
Thank you very much for your great account of your stay. We're very glad you enjoyed it and be assured,we would never knowingly let anyone leave us without their first coffee or tea of the day, we appreciate it is the most important one!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home,
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Score says it all. Very impressed with the hotel and its location. We are already planning the next trip.

We have been telling friends and family since. The hotel was a last minute booking and the quality was completely unexpected

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear CliffandClarissa,
Thank you both so much. We're always delighted when a first time visitor becomes a return guest to us and we'd be very happy to have you back again to stay with us.
Regarding your lovely comments on our standards, we're just nearing the end of a refurbishment programme spanning a number of years and all public areas and bedrooms have been upgraded to the highest standards.
We look forward to seeing you both again, and in the meantime wishing you a happy Easter,
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great hotel, staff, food, drinks.... BEST SCONES WE HAD IN IRELAND.
Loved Killarney and the International. Everything was clean and comfortable. We went to the national park that was so close and everything was beautiful. Killarney was our favorite area of Ireland, and the international hotel was our favorite accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Jesse H,
Firstly, congratulations to you and your husband on your recent nuptials and we're delighted you enjoyed the International and Killarney so much. We welcome all feedback but when it is so positive, all the better.
We would be delighted to have you back to us at another time - hopefully you might choose the Intenational for an Anniversary stay some year!
With best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathgar, Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a lovely weekend in Killarney with my husband. No fault to find with hotel and the food there is lovely. Our only complaint is that we both agreed that the horses/ponies who go on the 7 mile journey throught the Gap of Dunloe and too small and they take on too many people. Our horse was dripping with sweat and we all got off to give him a break going up steep hills. Our Jarvey was a big man too and that meant there were 5 of us with a combined weight of around 70 stone. I have written to the ISPCA to see if they will check it out.

Room Tip: It's in the main street, very central, so if you are a light sleeper, you might prefer to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Tillydog7,
Thank you very much for your very kind review of your stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your weekend in Killarney and we'd love to see you back again at another time.
With regards to the horses at the Gap, to be honest I dont know very much about this, but hopefully the ISPCA will have some information to put your mind at ease. I do know that the horses who operate from the town centre are very well looked after, with systems of care in place.
With kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Killarney is a beautiful town with so much to see and do; we had a good stay at the International Hotel. The staff is exceedingly courteous and the location is great. The rooms are a bit small but the beds are very comfortable. Our room was overlooking the entrance but --remarkably-- little noise came in from the street. We did had some difficulty one night with the noise made by other guests but Tom, the night clerk, was able to remedy this quickly and smoothly.

Room Tip: Street noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear the WizardEd,

Thanks very much for your kind review of the International Hotel. We're very glad you enjoyed your time with us and the killarney area.
We also feel proud that our staff are always commented on so positively, many of our team have been with the hotel for many years and genuinely do have a desire for our guests to enjoy their stay with us. I am glad to hear that the noise situation was resolved promptly.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at another time and hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your trip around Ireland.
Kind regards,

Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The manager who name is Terence and all of his front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I dined in Hannigan's restaurant in the hotel along with my wife and again I found the staff very friendly and the food excellent. We also had breakfast each morning and the breakfast was excellent and all the staff in the breakfast room was so friendly especially a lady called Pat who is the resurants Manager.
I have stayed in several hotels in Killarney over a period time,and I found this Hotel to be my number one. No complaints whatsoever .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMCollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Dave,
Thanks very much for your fantastic review, we're always glad to have you stay with us, and l know you travel a lot, so you know hotels!
I'll be sure to pass on your comments to Terence, Pat and all the team and looking forward to seeing you back soon.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Killarney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.