We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasent stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added International Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
International Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Galway,Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“pleasent stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

We stayed at the International Hotel for two nights recently. The hotel bedroom was a little on the small side but very clearn and warm. THe service was very good and staff were very helpfull at all times. We had lunch on arrival which was nice, our evening meal that night was really lovely and cooked to perfection. Breakfast on both morning was really very nice also. The hotel is quite central the only thing is there is no paking which is a bit inconvenient. A public carpark just down the raod is the best place to park at 1euro an hour until 6.30 then free after that but it is difficult to get a spot. We were waiting about half an hour on sat afternoon for a spot. The hotel did run out of hot water in our section of the hotel on sat nite so we couldnt have a shower before heading out for the night which was unfortunate but hopefully this was a one off and they did appologise many time for this. Overall had a very pleasent stay and would recommend it.

  • Liked — clean bedroom and bathroom/nice restaurant/good food
  • Disliked — bedroom on the small side, hot water malfunction!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    229
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
208
448
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend break flying from Manchester with Aer Arann. We paid £133 via ebookers for 2 nights bed and breakfast, this was for a standard room. We collected a hire car from Kerry Airport but had a little trouble finding the hotel, which is opposite the cinema in the centre of town. The hotel doesn't have its own car park but you can use the public ones just up the road. Charges are payable Monday to Saturday from 8.30 am until 6.30 pm at 1 euro per hour. It's a short walk down the road to the hotel, so not a problem. Check in was fast and efficient. Our standard room was clean and sufficient for our needs. Unfortunately the room overlooked an alleyway at the side of the hotel and this turned out to be a major cut through from the cinema into town. Although on the second floor, the sound reverberated and we were kept awake virtually all night. I rang reception at 1.30 am but was told there were no other rooms available. However, when we complained the next morning the very pleasant receptionist was extremely polite and apologetic and upgraded us to an Executive Room in the newer part of the hotel! Excellent customer service. It's certainly worth the difference paying for one of these rooms. It was a lovely quiet room (no. 143) with jacuzzi bath, flat screen tv, hairdryer, kettle and very nice furnishings. The hotel's location is brilliant. You're right in the centre of things. The breakfast is probably the finest we've had. Table service and a choice of Irish breakfast or fish dishes, together with delicious porridge and the usual juices, cereals, yogurts, etc. Highly recommended! All in all I would recommend staying here, but definitely opt for the Executive Room and make sure your room doesn't overlook the alleyway or you may be in for a sleepless night, especially at weekends!

  • Liked — Excellent customer service and Executive Room
  • Disliked — Noisy alleyway and sleepless night in standard room!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights during a self-drive tour of Ireland.
We arrived earlier than expected, but were able to check in with no problem. Our room was very comfortable (standard room, not executive) with plenty of room for our luggage and bits & pieces we had accumulated over several weeks of travelling. Bathroom was plenty big enough with bath and shower.
Breakfast was included and was really good with plenty of choice. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel, however we did have a lunch added to our bill in error, but that was removed as soon as we pointed out that it wasn't ours.
Location is really good - just a few minutes walk to town centre shops, etc and a laundromat just around the corner.
The only downside here was parking - it's on a meter with a maximum of I think 3 hours (memory's fading!) so if you're just hanging around town you have to keep moving the car. Overnight parking is free, but the meters kick in again at 8am, so you either have to feed the meter or move the car.
Would I stay here again - yes, definately.

  • Liked — Comfortable room with friendly staff
  • Disliked — Parking hassles
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

I stayed at this hotel after Xmas thru to the new year. I read two reviews posted by the last two reviewers and Im not sure if we stayed at the same hotel at all. The Best Wesern International was super & it was really xmassy to. There is a hugemoungous xmas tree in the lobby of the hotel and all outside was lit up with fancy lites. Ill post up some photos I took as soon as I get the chance.
I never thought of going to Killarney in winter before as I always thought of it as a summer town but its great for winter to. I went ice skating in the town which was cool but got a couple of bruises when I fell!! N Years is excellent is Killarney, we had a class nite out and we only had to stagger a few minutes walk until we were tucked up in bed. I got dinner in the hotel before I went out and they had a fancy do with a four course meal and baloons and stuff which was class also.
I have to congratulate the girls on the desk, I found them really kind and friendly, they gave me the insiders track on where to go out for the night and they sympathised when I came down with a sore head the next morning!!!!
This is really cool hotel with super people working dere and Im deffo going bak in the summer.

  • Liked — The xmas decorations and the lights
  • Disliked — Drank too much in Killarney!!!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

Having returned from the Best Western International Hotel in Killarney two nights ago, myself and the party I was travelling with are still outraged at the manner in which we were treated. I was with a group of six girls and we had travelled to killareny for a birthday weekend. We are six well mannered, polite girls and the way we were treated was completely incongruous.

Dispite being treated abruptly at check in, the trip was going fine until we got a phonecall at 9 o clock in the morning to tell us we were being fined for disrupting the guests next door to us, and using foul language towards them when asked to be quiet.

The reality is it was not our group who were making the noise. We did not have anyone come to our door to ask us to be quiet. And we certainly did not use foul language towards anyone.

The guests who complained obviously got it wrong as to who was making the noise, but the hotel staff simply failed to listen to a word we had to say! When we went to check out and explain our case, we were laughed at and ridiculed. It was obvious that because of our age group (21 average) we were treated without an ounce of respect. The kind respect any human being deserves.

In the end we were threatened by hotel staff that if we wouldnt pay the fine, it would be deducted from our credit card anyway. They backed us into a corner, and we had no choice but to pay. Pay a fine for something we did not do.

There were obviously other guests around and we were embarrassed by the hotel staff who were completely unproffessional towards all of us.

I'd reccommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't have a problem with forking out an extra 60euro on top of their bill, for a "crime" they did not commit.

I wouldn't reccommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be treated with respect and dealt with in a proffessional manner by hotel staff.

Maybe it was because of our age we were treated like this-in that case I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone who dislikes discrimination of any kind, because discriminating, disrespectful and unproffessional is the only way to describe the staff at the Best Western International Hotel in Killarney .

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

The only positive thing i can say about this place is that it is in a central location.

Upon arriving the receptionst told us nothing about check out times or any hotel rules regarding noise or conduct and also failed to mention we were staying in a room sandwiched between a party occupying two rooms where children were present- as a groups of young adults away on a birthday weekend i feel we should have been told this so that we would be aware and inturn be able to keep noise to a minimum.

However, being awoken at 9.05 am the next morning being told we had to pay a fine for noise without any warning or notice came as a shock to say the least. When we went down to discuss this matter further we found the receptionists completly unprofessional and condesending. We were laughed at when we requested the manager and was told he was unavailable.

Upon finally talking to the manager he was unreasonable and non co-operative. The fashion in which we were treated was appaling and I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone under the age of 50 due to the manner in which we were spoken to and treated by staff.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

This hotel is in a great location on the edge of the city centre area...directly across the street from the Killarney Park Hotel. The Best Western has two styles of rooms...the Executive level rooms which are in a newer section of the hotel, and the older style rooms. You definitely want the executive room. It is much newer, larger, cleaner, and just more alluring. The hotel also features a nice pub off the lobby, and a GREAT full Irish breakfast. There is also a pool / snooker table in the lobby which is good for hours of fun. The Best Western International is a great hotel, in a great location, and the price is amazing.

  • Liked — Price and Location
  • Disliked — The City Was A Bit Dead While Were There
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.