We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel Killarney

Save Saved
You added International Hotel Killarney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Hotel Killarney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Killarney
Northern Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel right in the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the International Hotel in Killarney for 2 nights. It was a nice, clean hotel. The room was a bit small, but perfectly fine unless you plan to spend your time inside all day (which we did not). It's walking distance to a ton of restaurants, pubs, and shops, and we took the Ring of Kerry tour which picked us up right at the hotel. The only difficulty is that there is no parking, so you have to pay for street parking or pay to park in the lot down the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Buttercupjd,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our wish is that every guest has a relaxing and pleasant experience at the International Hotel and happy memories of their visit.
Hopefuly we may have the opportunity to see you again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    196
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
175
384
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallmadge, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in Killarney a few weeks ago for two nights. When we finally found the hotel, we walked in and were greeted by friendly staff and a beautiful, old world-type lobby. Our room was great, if a bit dated. The hotel itself, though, is a real gem!! The library downstairs and the balcony on the second floor are accessible to guests and both are wonderful. We only ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast, and it was delicious. We would totally stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Ames139,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return!
The hotel has been totally renovated while retaining many of its original features as it one of the oldest Killarney hotels and it does indeed have a lovely traditional feel.
We have also recently upgraded our breakfast menu to great effect.
Many thanks again for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent 6 nights in Ireland travelling from Dublin to Galway and after asking for an upgrade the International at Killarney was probably the nices hotelt. Our original room was very small. It is very centrally located, but it would be better if we knew where the parking was prior to arriving. Having the best room in the hotel was a treat and well worth it. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Towel rail was great to dry the washing

Room Tip: Careful if you get a room overlooking the side walk way, can be noisy as everyone leaves the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear AussieBeach
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your upgrade! Our Executive rooms and Suites are indeed of a very high standard.
Regarding the car parking, I am sorry if you had difficulty with this, there are 3 carparks within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.
We hope you enjoyed your Ireland trip and had a safe journey house.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We entered this elagant Hotel and were greeted by a smiling front desk clerk named Maria. What a joy after the long train ride from Dublin.we were given a great up grade because the three person rooms were all booked. Well this room was the height of comfort. Lovely decorated and spotless. Looking for some fresh seafood reasonably priced.Maria sent us down the street to East Ave Cafe top see her friend Cathy. Well she did an excellant job of steering us to a fabulous restaurant. Great food ,great service. When we arrived back at the Hotel there was Maria smiling that winning smile inquiring about our evening.. Great hospitality. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Deborah K,
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed it as customer service is our first priority and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Marie.
All our rooms are furnished to a very high standard with our Executive rooms having that little touch of luxury including Jacuzzi Baths.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and if you have the opportunity to visit our way again, we'd be delighted to welcome you back to the International
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Near everything and the hotel bar has great food. Great hotel and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear LonePalm07,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel so positively on Tripadvisor and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hannigans Restaurant is very popular with visitors and locals alike in Killarney and our Head Chef uses only the best of fresh, local produce.
We would be very pleased of the opportunity to welcome you back at another time
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

While handicapped rm unavailable 1st night, would transfer for 2nd if I wished. We were upgraded to, unrequested, superior rm and I would not move to another. Beautiful room, old school, furnishings understated yet elegant. Manager stopped us to inquire as to comfort of room and distance for me (walker). Cannot address comfort of standard room but if price is right, superior is laaarge, has two separate sleeping areas, sitting area between ea, two tv's, whirlpool bath and stall shower, etc. Dining room and pub quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Kaybeeboston,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us which we are delighted you enjoyed.
All our rooms are fully renovated but our Superior and Executive rooms do have that extra space and little bit of luxury. Going by the information given, I am not fully sure of the reasons for your room change after your first night, but I am very glad it did not take from your enjoyment of your stay with us.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Ireland and had a safe journey home.
Best regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the International Hotel in Killarney for two nights mid-week as part of a tour-Ireland package. The front desk staff was very helpful check-in, to directions, to check-out. The hotel was a great stay, comfortable and typically appointed. Our room was a queen-room on the second floor and included hot water pot for tea, blow dryer, wireless internet and plenty of other typical comforts.

The staff went above locating a power adapter for me, and was always quick to greet me by name. The only offer of improvement is parking - there is no designated point to let out, and only street parking is available near the hotel. Up the road about 250 meters is a municipal parking area (1 euro per hour during day), or covered park at a higher rate. Also, A/C was not available in this room, which made the mild afternoons a bit warm. With the window open the adjacent walk-lane was a bit noisy in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amcollins, Front Office Manager at International Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Chris,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay and we are delighted you enjoyed it.
Our staff are always happy to assist with any queries and thank you for commenting on this.
Just finally regarding air-conditioning, we do have AC in approx 50% of our rooms so if it is specifically required we do ask that it is requested in advance, and we generally have fans available too.
So we thank you again, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Ireland and that we get to see you again at another time.
Kind regards
Anne Marie Collins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel Killarney

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Killarney
#4 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International Hotel Killarney 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your International Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Killarney
Killarney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Hotel Killarney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.