We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beds, nice view and perfect breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelmsford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelmsford House to your Saves list
Chelmsford House
1 Muckross View | Dromhale, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good beds, nice view and perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We loved this place.

We booked only 2 days before we arrived, so unfortunately only the small room facing the garden was available. I can understand that some people find it small, but it is definitely big enough for two. I've had smaller rooms in hotels.

The beds were perfect, we slept really well and deep. The real treat came in the morning though: breakfast. You choose the main part of your breakfast the night before and have a good choice of cereal and bread and jams to go with it. All the home-made food is very good, but we especially liked the porridge with bailey's and the crepes with fresh fruit. And all of this with a spectacular view out the bay-window towards the lake and mountains.

The house is on a very calm dead-end street, which makes for easy and stress-free parking. The 5 minute walk to town might be a bit optimistic, but it is less than 10 and it is easy to find. The free wifi works a bit weird. We had a good connection, even though our laptop was constantly trying (and failing) to validate our passwords to the wifi. It worked though and was fast enough.

All in all a very good stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    20
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were welcomed and treated very well. Everything was comfortable and delightful. This home is a showplace of crystal, art, and overall good taste.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful nights .
The view in the morning left us breathless!
Breakfasts were outstanding, a very clean , homely home.
We cant wait to come back next year.
Highly recommned the Chelmsford House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were in Ireland for 3 weeks in May and June of 2011, and this accommodation was the most uncomfortable of 11 B&B's that we stayed in on our trip. Basically, our displeasure was with the room size. We were traveling with another couple and there were only 2 rooms left, a rather large and comfortable one at the front of the house, and our "closet". There was no room to place suitcases, so they were against the room door and we were forever tripping on them. The bathroom (both sink and shower were very small and hard for 1 person to manuever. Also, the four of us the next day, laughingly referred to the pillows as bricks. Thankfully, my husband found 2 softer ones in the closet, while our friends in the large room made do with chair cushions. The food was very good, but after a poor nights sleep, and comparison to all of the other lovely places we stayed, it was hard to enjoy. To be perfectly fair, our friends would give this place a higher rating (so would we if we had gotten their room).

Room Tip: Avoid # 3 like the plague, upstairs, back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

excellent service, beautiful bed rooms...and the scenery is breath taking. and so close to killarney. the breakfast menu has a great variety .

pat and louise make you so welcome and arranged all our trips during our stay.
looking forward to our next visit to chelmsford house.

Room Tip: great location to visit the gap of dungloe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We woke up to an exquisite view of the mountains and lakes. Pat and Louise are perfect hosts...she is a gourmet cook and we so enjoyed our bountiful breakfast. They gladly help you plan your day. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. Quiet and safe. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My sister and I stayed 2 nights but most of our time was spent driving around (Ring of Kerry). If you go out at night, it's a bit far from city centre when walking but location is ok. Louise was very helpful with directions and suggesting things to do. Food was excellent, room was clean and comfortable. Area reminds me of BC.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelmsford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford House

Address: 1 Muckross View | Dromhale, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelmsford House offers bed and breakfast in a no-smoking home, all rooms with private bathroom, wi-fi, tea/coffee facilities in rooms, hairdryers, multi-channel TV, clock radio, all local tours arranged, free internet access in lounge so you don't have to bring your laptop. Run by locals Louise & Pat Griffin & family, we look forward to welcoming you to our luxury bed and breakfast here in Killarney County, Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelmsford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelmsford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.