We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "view" on the food...and a salute to Emmanuel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Shore, Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A "view" on the food...and a salute to Emmanuel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This surely must have been our 20th visit,at least, to the Lake Hotel and apart from its location, the quality of food that is served here is a major draw for us.We arrived shortly after the storm (Darwin) that wreaked havoc country wide and creating enough firewood to ensure the fires in the Piano room will burn brightly into the future. Niall Huggard, as usual, was armed with his camera supervising the felling of one or two unstable trees,he in turn was supervised by Joe who took a well deserved break from the bar. That's the beauty of the Lake Hotel its family run,which brings me to pay tribute to another Huggard family member. Often I would enquire as to the name of a Chef following a delicious meal, on this particular visit, turns out, it was another Huggard family member, and I believe his name is Coleman. So good was the food on the first evening that i ordered the exact same dish the second night, and it delivered again. My wife had in her own words "one of the best" rib-eye steaks ever and for her to say that speaks volumes - I was allocated a small portion, and i readily agreed,delicious.
Introduced to us by my 'in-laws', the Lake Hotel has consistently delivered in the food and beverage department .On either of us couples returning from the Lake we always discuss the food, and in the words of my mother-in-law following their visit after us, the food had "yet again, gone up a notch". Coleman, we look forward to the next culinary delight you produce and I wish you continued success.
Many's the enjoyable evening we've spent in the Castle Lough restaurant,the sun lounge for lunch or the restaurant again in the morning for breakfast. Many of these meals was made all the more enjoyable courtesy of an Italian, Emmanuel. He leaves now the Lake but I'm confident that his exemplary standards,his acute attention to detail and his love for his work has brushed off on his work associates so we can continue to not only expect fine service, but continue to enjoy the fine cuisine this this hotel delivers. At your service D & T.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us and for continuing to choose The Lake Hotel for your holiday in Killarney we really appreciate your loyalty. Colman will be delighted to hear of this high praise on his culinary skills and the satisfaction that you report on the food served here at the hotel. We also just newly recruited to our kitchen team a new head Chef Noel Enright who is working closely with Colman and the rest of the team in the kitchen to continue to produce top class cuisine using the finest local produce for our guests to enjoy. Between them both we hope to have an exciting and tasty food year at the Lake Hotel so many culinary delights to come we hope. We were very sad to loose Emanuele this year he was offered a promotional opportunity elsewhere that he simply couldn’t turn down. We also wish him every success in his new job. We have a new restaurant manager Anthony joining us shortly and we are confident that the standards will continue to improve on an ongoing basis. Two of our long term members of restaurant staff Denisa and Szymon have also recently been awarded promotions and I’m sure that they will continue to WOW our guests and deliver the best possible service to all in the years to come. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    189
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
169
599
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We popped in here for lunch last week as my friend said you can't beat sitting by the Lake in the sun sipping on a cold Guinness, and she was right. The view is stunning across the lake, just sit and watch the world go by. The only let down was the speed of service, we'd been sat waiting a good 20 minutes before someone came to see us, we were finally spotted by the lady who seemed to tell the waiters were to go and what to check. I ordered the chicken Caesar salad, my friend ordered the fishcakes and we shared a bowl of fries. My salad was so tasty, decent portion of everything in it, they really didn't skimp. For dessert we treated ourselves to one of their scones. Two huge scones arrived still warm with home made jam and fresh cream on the side, and at €3 they were a bargain and utterly delightful. Will be heading back for lunch and hopefully a quicker service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch at The Lake Hotel. What a lovely thought sitting by the lake and sipping a cold Guinness yum!! Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding the quality of food and that you felt that you got good value for money. The scones homemade by Marie in the kitchen are a real treat alright and are very popular with our guests. I am sorry that it took a while to get served on this occasion. Our team in the bistro always do their best to serve our guests as quickly as possible and not to leave them waiting. Sundays are particularly busy in the lakeside bistro and we have a full staff on duty but even then sometimes it can be hard to keep up with demand. We will continue to look at ways to ensure speed of service is maintained at all times. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Co.Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in the hotel on 16th March for our wedding anniversary. Stayed in the master deluxe lake view room! The view was perfect, the room exceptional, the food in the bar was very nice and the staff were very attentive and good fun! Would high recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay at The Lake Hotel for your special holiday time. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and I hope it was made all the more special by staying at the Lake Hotel. What more could we ask for when a guest describes their stay as perfect. Thank you for this lovely compliment we really appreciate your kind words The master deluxe rooms are a real treat alright and just perfect for a special occasion. Thank you also for your comments about the quality of food that you received during your visit to us I will pass those on to Noel and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in providing our guests with exciting and delicious locally produced cuisine. We appreciate you recommending us so highly to other trip advisor readers and take this as a big compliment. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for one night. The hotel is a little bit outside Killarney but we knew this in advance. It was 10 euros to the centre so that fine. The hotel has lovely views and our room had a great view of the lake and a balcony. Breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly. The room was vert nicely laid out. Two negative things though. The first thing was housekeeping set up outside our room from 8 on which was not relaxing as they made a lot of noise. Secondly they were not very relaxed about checking out time. If these things were sorted out we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay at The Lake Hotel for your special holiday time. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the breakfast that you received during your visit I will pass these on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen. Thank you also for your comments regarding our friendly team that we have here at the hotel of whom we are very proud. I will note your comments regarding the accommodation team to our accommodation manager to ensure that all the team are reminded to be as quiet as possible in early morning so as not to disturb our guests. In regards check in our check in time is 3pm however if a guest needs an earlier check in time we will always do our very best to accommodate them. If you mention when booking or by calling the hotel in advance of your stay that you require an early check in time we will do our very best to arrange this for you. Often guests arrive early and whenever possible we will re allocate their room if the one they booked is not ready or put a rush on their room to be finished as soon as possible. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

From check-in to check-out, after a hearty breakfast to send us on our way, The Lake Hotel ,delivered a flawless stay. I am a Travel Consultant in San Francisco. The Lake Hotel, Killarney continues to keep up the highest standards.
Family owned , and at least one family member is always on duty, keeps an "out front" profile, and very available to make right even the smallest problem. The owner on duty wants to know and will attend to a problem on the spot.
This is the only hotel on the lake side. Stretch your budget to a lake view bedroom and they are luxurious. The unimpeded view of the lake ,with the swirling mist, with the castle ruins, with the deer, with the colors on the mountains, is sheer delight. Memorable!
The food is excellent, and locally sourced. You can dine in the elegant restaurant or have the same high quality food in the bar after a walk in the National Park which skirts the hotel.
Several very comfortable lounge areas for a chat. Even a Library upstairs, with a supply of games for the guests and a generous bowl of fresh fruit on the hall stand. The touch of" pride of ownership " is obvious in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note of thanks for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. It is a big honour for us that you recommend us so highly, being a travel consultant you must stay in some fantastic properties around the world. Thank you for pointing out the family involvement in our business as we feel that the difference with the Lake is that it is family owned and run and we are very proud to continue our family’s long tradition in the Irish hospitality industry today. It’s great to hear that you were pleased with the room you were allocated and of course the view from the window. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the standard of food which I will pass on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen. I hope your trip back to San Francisco went smoothly and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to this little part of the world in the future.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A relaxing few days in Killaney was made better by the stay in the Lake Hotel in Killarney. A lovely old world hotel with lots of character. Staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast and evening meals were of a high quality and the location just outside Killarney wa perfect. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely comment to make that your trip to Killarney was made all the better by staying with us here at the Lake Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the quality of food that you received during your visit I will pass these on to Noel our Head Chef and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in producing top class locally produced cuisine for our guests to enjoy. Thank you also for the kind comments you made about our team here being so friendly and helpful. We are very lucky to have a great team who make it their business to ensure our guests have a holiday to remember in Killarney. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again.
Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A beautiful location on the shores of a lake, room was wonderful and the bath, near the bed, just under a window, a brilliant bonus in terms of winding down after the day. The food was very good and the portions quite big. Staff are very friendly and engaging. the hotel is a little way out from Killarney town, but it has views that would be hard to get in a town. Lots of deer to be seen walking outside hotel and along the edges of the lake. Mini fridge in room was a welcome bonus also.

Room Tip: Lake view, with a balcony, higher up for view. Ground floor, lake view have a small pation instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note of thanks for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. It is always lovely to hear that our guests left us feeling happy and relaxed and pleased with the products and services that they received during their stay with us. We are extremely blessed with our location alright with the beautiful Lough Lein, Mc Carthy Mór Castle and the nature that surrounds us you couldn’t ask for a better location in which to kick back relax and unwind. The photos that you posted are really lovely and give Trip Advisor readers a great opportunity to see what the Lake Hotel is like so thank you for taking the time to post those also. The in room Jacuzzi bath is a lovely added treat in some of our rooms and what a view to look out on while you relax. I will pass your kind comments regarding the quality of food on to Noel our Head Chef and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in providing top class local cuisine for out guests to enjoy. I’m glad to hear that you also got the opportunity to see the deer during your visit, we are very lucky that they frequent us on nearly a daily basis to the delight of our guests. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you for this lovely report once again.

Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Lake Shore, Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.