We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Shore, Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Glenbeigh, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We like to make the short journey from Glenbeigh to Killarney for a night away. We had the pleasure of staying in The Lake Hotel recently oh my what a glorious place. The view from the hotel is out of the world!...the lakes of killarney,framed my fabulous mountains and deer roaming about.Very welcoming reception staff, beautiful view from the very spacious bedroom.Good trad in the bar that night after we returned from town. Lovely breakfast room and nice self service breakfast.
If I was being picky,the only little negative would be that the bedroom furniture is a bit tired,but it may come back into fashion.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a lovely idea to try out what is on offer locally and we are very happy to welcome our local guests. I’m glad to read that you were pleased with what the hotel has to offer. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the bedroom that you were allocated for your stay and of course the views from the window. We are indeed lucky in Kerry to be blessed with some of the most beautiful scenery in the world along with friendly welcoming people and great service which would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team at front desk which I will pass on to them. I hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely review.

Kind Regards
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    188
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
169
598
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is our second stay in this beautiful hotel. All the pluses equals A gorgeous spacious room immaculately serviced each day views over the lakes that cannot be surpassed delightful helpful staff and delicious food. The sound of the free roaming deer was welcomed day or night. We have made a careful note of our room number ready to book next year.

.( The Chefs convention though a large gathering didn't really bother us but the inebriated guests trying to do an impression of a stag at the break of dawn makes us laugh now wasn't very funny at the time)

Room Tip: If you can opt for a balcony room and stress uninterrupted views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for choosing the Lake Hotel for your holiday in Killarney and for marking us so highly on your report. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back on repeat visits and we appreciate your loyalty. It sounds like you had a great time on your holiday in Killarney. The Lake is a great place to come to completely relax unwind and tune in with the beauty of the nature all around you. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of accommodation on your visit and of course the delicious food that you received in our restaurant. I will pass your kind comments on to our team of whom we are very proud as they always do their very best to ensure that all of our guests have a holiday to remember in Killarney. I’m sorry that you were slightly interrupted by a guest doing an impression of the stag (someone obviously got a little carried away with all the excitement of the deer rut at that time) and I’m glad to read that you can now look back on that memory with a smile in your eyes. I hope that we can welcome you back to us soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely review.

Kind Regards
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after five very relaxing nights in this family run hotel and everything we experienced was positive. We were in a deluxe bedroom with a wonderful view of the lake and the red deer! The food in both the restaurant and bar was excellent. The staff very helpful and friendly. A trip to the spa should not be missed, Kristen is fantastic with her treatments and it was lovely to sit in the outdoor hot tube in the evening. Well worth a visit, we will be back.

Room Tip: Always go for a room with Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It sounds like you and your husband had a lovely relaxing and enjoyable holiday in Killarney. It gives us great pleasure to hear that our guests left feeling happy and satisfied with the products and services that they received during their visit to us. Thank you for your lovely comments about the quality of the food and the service that you received during your visit. I will pass your compliments on to Kirstin our beauty therapist as you mention her in particular in your report she does a fantastic job looking after our guests in our beauty treatment rooms. I’m glad to read that you availed of our lovely outdoor hot tub a great place to relax, unwind and take in the beauty of the nature that surrounds us. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Only perfect as usual made to feel welcome and everyone so friendly. We love it as always . Good food and the deer is beautiful . No matter what room we stay in they are always perfect. Child friendly too so important.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely thing to say that no words can describe that the Lake Hotel is perfect. That is such a kind compliment. I’m glad that you are always pleased with the rooms that you have been allocated during your visits and that you enjoy the quality of food that we offer here at the hotel. Thank you also for your comment about the hotel being child friendly as a family run hotel this is very important to us. I will pass your kind comments on to our team and thank you most sincerely for recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times ... and we have just come back from another wonderful short break. We always book a room with a lake view, as the views are spectacular whatever the weather! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Having breakfast looking out at the lake and watching the red deer wandering around is always one of the highlights for us. We will be back next year. Thank you Lake Hotel for yet another lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers. We appreciate your loyalty choosing to return to us time and time again. It is always a pleasure to be able to welcome our guests back to us on repeat visits. The Lake View rooms are indeed always beautiful no matter what the weather. Whether it is on a cold crispy morning, a sunny day or a day when the showers cause a rainbow to form over the lake each vista has a beauty and charm all of its own for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud I will pass those on to them. The deer as you mention in your report are a great addition to the landscape around the hotel alright. Only this morning we have several of them on the lawn grazing peacefully by the lake shore to the delight of our guests. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wow!! Wow!!How great is this Place??????????? - The Lake Hotel Killarney.
Some Hotels make such a lasting impression that you feel no matter what you write or say – you could not highly - confidently praise or strongly recommend the place enough to people.
As a guest of the ‘Lake Hotel in Killarney Co Kerry’ at the ‘Rockwell Catering Students Reunion Function’ on Sunday evening last (12- Oct 2013) is just that perfect case and point to try to impress.
If you are looking for a traditional high class hotel experience in Kerry, ‘The Lake Hotel in Killarney’ is a great and inspirational option. Everything about this place is just awesome. Beautiful building and rooms. The grounds are also beautiful and so well maintained and cared for. The native Wild Deer even pay a visit to the lawns outside to see that everything is going well and to plan for you.
When you experience firsthand this level of” Professional Commitment to Guests” – you are absolutely convinced that the ‘Irish Hospitality and Catering Industry’ – is in very Safe Hands into the future with and under the Stewardship /Direction and Commitment of the Huggard Family at the Lake Hotel in Killarney Co Kerry
It was great to see such real ‘Professional Catering Showcased’ at its very best on the night.
The Reception personal were so incredibly friendly and helpful, and really had a great and very compressive knowledge of things and actives to do in the surroundings areas
The Service Dining Staff / Bar Staff were so cordial and kind - genuine smiles with a level of efficient service to match. Their knowledge and explication of the food they were serving – showed all the characteristics of what you could only describe as very High Class Personal Service.
The food was absolutely faultless and oozing with flavor and freshness– and fabulous in taste, as was the detail with its presentation absolutely outstanding for each and every course served
Top marks also to all the service staff that were so attentive and pleasant and special thanks and hats off to all that made all the little touches for such high quality service and a great and such an enjoyable and unforgettable night for everybody
My final words as an invited quest I will make an answer to my opening first sentence

Wow!! Wow!!How great is this Place!!!!! Sincerely - Honestly - Truthfully
It is ---- DELIGHTFUL - AWESOME – EXCEPTIONAL – CHARMING – RELAXING – etc – etc >>>>>>>>>>
Any person who relay appreciates amazing high quality food and service the Lake Hotel in Killarney is an experience not to be missed that you will want to experience again and again.
Sincerely Yours
John O Sullivan

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. The Rockwell Re Union event was a great success and a night enjoyed by all. Thank you so much for this wonderful report and praise that you have given to us. We are extremely lucky at the hotel to have a fantastic team working with us to deliver the very best to our guests and they are what make it all possible. Thank you most sincerely for this really lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are just back from our favourite hotel in Killarney, The Lake Hotel is a most beautiful place to stay, the staff are all excellent, the food in the dining left a lot to be desired - You must to stay in the Lake View room and see the Deer skipping around in the morning, plenty of rooms to sit and relax with a drink. Very enjoyable stay, but need to go to town for dinner.

Room Tip: lake view with balcony best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for recommending us so highly to Trip Advisor readers. How nice of you to mention that the Lake Hotel is your favourite hotel in Killarney, thank you very much for this kind comment. We are very lucky indeed to have a great location and a great team working here at the hotel to ensure that all of our guests have a most enjoyable holiday while staying with us. The deer are very active at this time of year and it’s a great opportunity to see them up close from the comfort of your in room balcony, or from one of the many lakeside viewing areas throughout the hotel. I was disappointed to read that you were not happy with your dining experience here at the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further as there are no details provided in your report. We normally receive exceptional feedback from our guests regarding our AA Rosette Castlelough Restaurant and our Lakeside Bistro so I would be interested to hear of any issues that you may have experienced. I hope that we can welcome you back to Killarney soon again or as I say please don’t hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss the above further.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Lake Shore, Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.