We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different take on dining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pay As You Please - CLOSED

Pay As You Please
New Market Lane, Killarney, Ireland
087 190 2567
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Pay As You Please aims to give you a fantastically unique experience that you will not forget. Located in Killarney Town Center behind Quills shop, we are passionate about simple, fresh and healthy food and specialize in pizzas, salads, bruschetta's with other options such as fresh mussels and calamari. We have a great outdoor seating area for the fine weather and a quirky interior with all kinds of hidden gem's.Call in and try us out!
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A different take on dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Iv never visited a place like this, upon arrival we got to sit on an amazingly comfy couch... Once we ordered we were suprised by the food quality and the comfort of paying for what you please.

Felt a bit pressured to pay more money than I usually would though.... For this reason I didn't really enjoy the experience, however the food was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    58
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food and fun staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant has a beautiful atmosphere with really funky decor. Great place to come with your partner for a special occasion or just a quick lunch. I loved the sofa and all the old things around the room. they really have done a good job decorating this place. Their pizza is divine, really really tasty and not fattening at all. The menu keeps changing which is interesting, you get a lot of variety. Fantastic staff all really friendly and personable. Great way to run a business, pay as you please, wish more were like this. Great movies sometimes are playing. Would recommend, and have recommended to anyone and everyone. Great location, right in the heart of Killarney, near everything. Will be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - but room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked this place on the strength of other reviews on this site. Overall it was a fun experience and I was glad I tried it but, there are definitely some areas they can improve on. We had dinner on a Saturday evening, and enjoyed the general atmosphere, however they were projecting old movies against the wall where we were sitting, which meant we often couldn't look around without being blinded.
Also, I really liked my salad starter and LOVED the flour-less chocolate cake, but the pizza was quite disappointing, as the based was too stodgy and a bit too thick. Considering pizza is such a huge part of their menu, I'd say this is something they should improve. A more authentic dough and maybe a proper pizza oven would surely solve this.
Other than that, really enjoyed it, and would go back for the cake alone!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Funky decor, fabulous food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited on Saturday with wife and 2 friends. Food was fabulous. Had a delicious tomato and chilli soup, followed by a very tasty pizza (serrano, rocket and parmesan). My wife had a feta, aubergine and pomengranate bruschetta, followed by a yummy sweet potato and spinach curry. She also had a flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Everything was so tasty and the service was very friendly and efficient. The ambience was cool and the decor is funky. This place makes dining out fun. Can't fault it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Consistently good food withe a policy well worth supporting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was my third visit to this eatery and on each occasion the food has been excellent. This restaurant has not just an innovative billing system but also innovative food and presentation. I had a slimy smooth unctuous butternut squash soup with sage served in a kilner jar with excellent brown bread, a bruschetta with aubergine,feta and sprinkling of pomegranate seeds which was superb with a dense yet light flavour served with lovely leaves anointed with an excellent dressing. The coffee served in a cafetiere was also good quality and the service was friendly and genuinely welcoming. A great place and a great idea well with supporting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pay As You Please also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pay As You Please, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.