We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHERRY TREE GUESTHOUSE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cherry Tree Guesthouse to your Saves list
Cherry Tree Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
San Diego
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“CHERRY TREE GUESTHOUSE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful small B&B just a short walk to Killarney shopping / eating district. Nice size rooms,
lots of hot water and comfortable beds.

Just a few blocks walk from the central bus station and the train station.

The place looks like it was just remodeled.

Breakfast and the staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: Be sure to try SALVADORS Italian restaurant in the Killarney shopping district. Excellent food valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Cherry Tree Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you Wayne! we really appreciate your kind review! Iam glad you had a great stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

had a recent stay in the Cherry Tree and i agree about the location and how handy it is but the house itself is fairly run down and drab, the breakfast was awful with cheap sausages and rashers. The bedding although clean was completely mismatched and dated. the bathroom was newly decorated and lovely but no shelf for anything so couldnt even hang a towel or put tootbrush in there. The only lady working there was lovely but seemed run off her feet between cleaning and cooking and dealing with a grim reception area. it needs a good revamp and in comparison to other places it is sadly lacking. Thumbs up to the lady working there she was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

i stayed here with my sisters. would not return. we were asked to pay when we arrived. also one woman was the only staff there. she asked about paying, she cooked breakfast. she cleaned rooms.the breakfast was terrible. i would say sausages were deep fried and kept warm in oven.streaky bacon and tiny bit of tomato. we will not be returning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location of this place is superb. We walked from the train station in the rain and it was quick and easy to find. We were not even soaked before we found it. Danny was so helpful and pleasant, even when we descended upon him with a large extended family in Ireland for a wedding, two double strollers, and many bags. We had many rooms and four noisy happy babies- he did not seem the least bit daunted. We were given a choice of rooms when we arrived and everyone seemed happy with their abode. All had ensuite bathrooms with hot water (although the water pressure was a bit weak) and plenty of towels. Our room was one of the ones facing the street- and it is a semi-busy street- and we were not bothered by traffic noise at all. The beds were comfortable with plenty of blankets and good pillows. The rooms and public areas were a little worn but spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was very filling. We thought at first that it was a continental since the cereals, toast, juice, and yogurts were there in the morning. The waitress brought coffee and tea to each guest and then began to deliver hot full Irish breakfasts to all. I think that the people who posted their dissatisfaction with the breakfast being a cold one did not wait around long enough to see the rest of it. The kitchen also provided us with wonderful gluten free sourdough bread that toasted up beautifully and was delicious. They were careful to let us know which items for breakfast were not gluten free (the puddings) and cooked our eggs as we asked (poached separately from the other eggs). We could walk very easily to the heart of town and ate at some great local places. We booked a tour ahead online with Killarney Jaunting Cars and they picked us up right at the Guest House since they were down the road. We walked to Muckross Abbey, farms, and house and toured them all. The scenery in this part of Ireland was particularly spectacular. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will be back again to Cherry Tree Guest House. Thank you Danny!

Room Tip: There was no room on the ground floor and stairs were steep. I would not recommend this house to dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night and it was lovely. The hosts are quite helpful especially when it comes to showing what life is like in Killarney. I was shown all the best views and the national park which was amazing. Everything was very clean and I loved the look of the entire place. When I go back to Killarney, I don't think I can stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The place is nice and cozy. We were allowed to make bbq in the back garden(sorry that we didn't offer any kebabs :D ) Staff was verry verry verry helpfull. Beds were clean and comfortable. Great location especially when u planning night out in the town. Breakfast was like at home. We had a really good time.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Ive been to this Guesthouse twice and am going back a third time this September with a few of my friends. House is perfectly located near the town. Hosts are very welcoming and very helpful. Looks to me like the house is been decorated as my parents stayed in a brand new room(first room on right of stairs). I was in a single room and was perfect for a person on a solo trip. As another reviewer said bathrooms are small but its a single room so you cant expect much. would recommend this Guesthouse to everyone. great value and great location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Tree Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Guesthouse

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cherry Tree Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.