We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killarney Park Hotel - Wonderful Irish Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Killarney Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Killarney Park Hotel to your Saves list
The Killarney Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Chippenham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Killarney Park Hotel - Wonderful Irish Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a great trip in June 2013, stayed fro a couple of nights and ate in the restaurants both nights.
The quality and ambiance of the hotel was very good and we will go back again.
They were very helpful in providing local tourist maps and explaining some of the routes to follow on the Ring of Kerry.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate all the reviews that we get here.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we provided you with a good base to explore the Ring of Kerry. Our Concierge and Front Desk team have a wealth of information about the local sights here in Kerry.

Both Killarney and the County of Kerry have a huge offering to cater for all ages and requirements. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you here at The Killarney Park Hotel in the near future and be able to recommend some more local sights to explore on your return.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    90
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
143
351
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel brings new meaning to personal attention. Everyone - from housekeeping to front desk to restaurant staff - is attentive and friendly. The food was great, the bar was fun, our events were excellent, the hot tubs were wonderful. I just can't say enough good about this place. The rooms were spacious with king sized beds and a roomy area for relaxing. The gardens out back that we looked down on were a delight. The location can't be beat for sightseeing, shopping, and eating. And I have never seen such a clean bathroom in a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate the feedback we get from our guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that our service and attention to detail has impressed you. For a town centre hotel, having as much garden space as we do is a lovely feature of the hotel and offers guests a somewhat removed feeling from the town centre location.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you here to The Killarney Park Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first time to stay in this hotel and the experience was 5 stars all the way. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we were brought to the library for tea while we waited. The staff we met when we arrived on Sunday 27th October were really friendly and accommodating, we had our little 21 month old with us and they were great with her. Our room was beautiful when we got there; we were staying in a junior suite which was a nice treat. The Hotel has a really nice bar that does wonderful food and the bar itself is nice a cosy and relaxed with really friendly staff also.

The breakfast layout each morning had wonderful selections and having stayed in 5 star hotels in the past the Killarney Park are miles ahead in their presentation and different breakfast options. The hot food is freshly cooked to order.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the Monday night and we were really impressed by the food that was served to us. We both had the chateaubriand which was cooked to perfection and served to us by friendly waiting staff.

The pool area was really nice also and the outdoor hot tub was a nice surprise.
Overall we were extremely impressed with this hotel and we are looking forward to our return visit. The hotel is so central and there was no need for taxis to bring us in and out of town.
I really don't like to highlight anything bad about this hotel but there was just one thing that I feel could be improved. The restaurant manager that was on when we had dinner on the 28th October did not come across as being very friendly, we had our Daughter with us and he came over to seat us, he did not strike up conversation with us, he came over to us twice to see if we were ready to order but my wife was trying to settle our child first so we weren't ready, he didn't come back a third time and we got a lovely waitress who was patient and also very informative about the menu. The manager came back to clear the table and I tried to strike up conversation again but got no were, we felt we weren't good enough for him to have a conversation. Having said this I don't want one person to take away from our overall wonderful experience.

The real difference that the Killarney Park has over other 5 star hotels we have stayed in is simple, the staff with the exception of the restaurant manager are exceptional, they are the reason why we enjoyed our stay so much, the staff in all areas of the hotel were so pleasant to us at all times, Your staff are the key to your success to please don't let standards slip.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate all guest feedback that we receive.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and to hear that you felt very welcomed. Travelling with children can sometimes be a challenge and we always strive to help families and make them feel as relaxed as possible here at the hotel. While it is pleasing to read your positive comments, it is with great concern that I have learned management in the restaurant did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way. I would also like to assure you that we will take this feedback on board as an opportunity for our improvement.

We have a great team of staff here at the hotel and I am delighted that they have impressed you. Be assured that your comments will certainly be met with appreciation from them.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome your family back here to The Killarney Park Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Niamh O’Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our favorite hotel on our tour of Ireland! When we arrived, my husband asked for dinner recommendations since it was our anniversary and they upgraded us to a bigger suite(so sweet)! It was probably the nicest room we have ever stayed in! We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent! The staff was helpful, and super friendly. Also, It is within walking distance to everything in town. If you stay in Killarney, you should stay here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Park Hotel, we really appreciate all guest feedback.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Killarney and more importantly that your enjoyed our hotel. I am happy to hear that you loved your room also and they made your anniversary a little more special.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back here at The Killarney Park Hotel in the near future. Killarney has a lot to offer to its guests and hopefully you will come back for more exploring.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had another great stay at the killarney Park this weekend. We were lucky to be upgraded to one of the contemporary suites. Loved the tv in the bathroom, and the pop up tv at the end of the bed. We lounged in front of the gas fire in the sitting area, reading the Sunday papers after a 7km walk around the National Park, which is just across the road. Had a great sleep despite the stormy weather. The room was so well insulated that the wind just lulled us to sleep. The attention to detail from all the staff is amazing and I cannot emphasise enough how helpful and friendly they are, especially Aine, who met us on arrival and showed us up to our room, and also Hugh. We soaked in the hot tub and enjoyed the sauna too in the leisure centre and felt so relaxed afterwards. Would love to stay long enough to work my way through the choices for breakfast. I loved the omelette, but must try the steak and eggs and French toast next time. Every item served is so fresh, from the wide range of dried and fresh fruit, the delicious freshly squeezed OJ, to the pastries, breads, scones, etc. We were so full after breakfast that we didn't have the full afternoon tea experience but I can recommend the carrot cake and scones , which we ate in the drawing room. The waitress asked us did we want to change our order as the scones would take 10 minutes to bake. Thankfully we didn't change our order as the scones were perfect. The evening meal was also very tasty. The hotel has a mix of gas and open fires with plenty of sofas dotted around. We parked up the car on Saturday and didn't drive again until we left to come home. The hotel is so central to everything in the town that you can walk everywhere and still so quiet that you feel you are in the countryside. We enjoyed the lady pianist who played in the bar on Saturday night and also the male pianist in the dining room. We felt as if we were treasured friends and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate every review that we receive here for our hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and thank you for your lovely review! Our breakfast here in the hotel is beautiful and is something that we pride ourselves on. I am delighted that our hotel served its purpose in helping you relax and that you got a chance to explore the nearby Killarney National Park.

We hope to welcome you back here at The Killarney Park Hotel soon where you can sample the food that you missed on this visit. Aine and Hugh will appreciate your kind words.

Kind Regards,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Last holiday before my wife gives birth in December. Was upgraded to a very comfortable suite with seating area and cosy fire. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel retains an old fashioned feel but has all the modern touches you would expect. A good location close to the town restaurants and bars. Handy for the national park and Ring of Kerry. The Ross sister hotel has a funky bar and restaurant which we used. Killarney is a very beautiful part of the world and even in October the rain held off mostly, with a few sunny days! Great stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Il
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

With all but two stops done, the Park in beautiful downtown Killarney tops the list. After a warm greeting by the manager, we went to our spotlessly clean and spacious room, warmly decorated and ready for a rest. When dinner time came, we found a gracious, richly decorated dining room served by a prompt and helpful staff. An easily manageable and hot shower, directions for pub music down the street and an ample dinner set the stage for a solid night's sleep. The AM breakfast when beyond the beyond with options for Irish, American or whatever you wanted meal.
Like the phyisical plant and the service, the breakvast too was tops for the tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Address: Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Killarney Park Hotel is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery and welcoming people. Reflecting its location, the hotel in Killarney offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 69 bedrooms, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC facials, the Park Restaurant and Garden Bar in addition to the world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Killarney Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.