We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning gardens, beautiful house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckross House and Gardens

Muckross House and Gardens
Muckross House, Killarney National Park, Muckross Rd, Killarney, Co.Kerry Ireland | Muckross Rd, Killarney, Co.Kerry Ireland, Killarney, Ireland
353-64-66-31440
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Muckross House and Gardens like an insider
Top Rated
$25*
and up
Afternoon Killarney Highlights Tour
Ranked #4 of 110 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful 19th-century mansion with a spectacular view of the Irish countryside.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens, beautiful house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

On an overnight stay in Killarney, Muckross House and Gardens was top of our list and boy were they beautiful. The gardens are simply stunning, the smell in the rose garden was amazing. Would loved to have taken one of the horse and carts around the grounds but as we really wanted to visit the house we didn't get a chance. The house it's out of this world, one of the best we have visited in Ireland. Our guide was very informative. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    443
    65
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a must see if you go to Ireland. It is by far the prettiest of all the Irish manors and castles we visited. And the location! It takes your breath away.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Manor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A beautiful manor with gorgeous gardens. Lots to do there but seeing as we turned up on a rainy day we decided to do the tour of the grand house. The tour guide was very informative and now I know why those Victorian beds are so short compared to modern day beds!!!! (You have to take the tour to find out!!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I found the Muckross House to be a very nice addition to our tour of Ireland. Our guide was nice and very knowledgeable about the house and its history. The gardens were lovely. The gift shop was great. Lots of locally made items such as pottery and woven items. Their prices were very fair and we bought quite a bit there. My only wish is that I would have bought a few more things! I wish they had a website where I could order the items that I should have bought!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a neat tour of a beautiful, old house. No photography is allowed inside, but the guides give you plenty of time to look around and see what the house has to offer. The tour gave a lot of detail and history of the area. Definitely worth checking out if you are in Killarney.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muckross House and Gardens also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Muckross House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckross House and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.