We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAS to be the best restaurant in Killarney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
8 High Street, Killarney 1, Ireland
0872339611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 152 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“HAS to be the best restaurant in Killarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My friend and I LOVED our experience and the food at the Smokehouse...and I'm pretty sure that wasn't because the rest of the food we had in Ireland was so terrible. Nothing even came close to as good as the Smokehouse no matter where we were - including Bono's restaurant in Dublin! The menu was interesting and the food was prepared perfectly. The staff was attentive and kind. Great experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    128
    41
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food very understated / atmosphere amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

very busy but excellent service. Bread and food is all understated and the decor and atmosphere is perfect. Off beat and trendy shaddy chic with a European feel. Great for a couples dinner. Trendy without even trying

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, seating needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a lovely dinner here; starters and main were very tasty. Dessert is unusual in that you're given a choice of bottle jars with various mousse/panacottas -not the usual crumble & cheesecake. Service was efficient though we got the feeling it was for the purpose of moving us out more than anything. Only real downside for me was that we were seated in a 'diner style' seat which was not long enough for the table for 2 normal sized people so the edge of the seat was sticking into my back & I found it very uncomfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant doesn't take bookings so you might be stuck with the seating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quirky Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent burgers served on wooden board, very tasty meals and very good service, could improve the desert selection but overall very modern and quirky and a break away from the touristy 'oirish' cuisine available in most places in Killarney

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second Visit and still lovely food !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There was a group of us this time, 6 drunken blokes with a mighty hunger and this restaurant did not fail to deliver.
Thank you to the lovely waitress who put up with us, the banter was excellent and so was the food. My only criticism, the crab claws should be served in a bucket and not a on a plate :-) yes I liked them that much!!!!
I don't go back to a restaurant twice unless I think it is worth it as there are dozens of places to eat in Killarney, however you can never have too much of a good thing!!#

Oh yea, Cheers for paying for us all Dave!!! What a result that was :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.