We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay and to return to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirreen House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dirreen House to your Saves list
Dirreen House
Tralee Road N22, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Groningen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A beautiful place to stay and to return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Dirreen House and we have a wonderfull time. The house is a very beautiful house and the bedrooms are luxurious. Mrs. Casey is a lovely lady and she suprised us every morning with an excellent breakfast. Her scones were delicious.
There is also a lovely guestroom in the house where you can relax. Mrs. Casey gives good
advice about things to do in the area.
It is definitly a B&B to return to. Thank you Mrs. Casey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 days at the Dirreen House B&B, we found the rooms and bathroom luxurious. This was the third place we sayed and it was by far the most comfortable. We had the best nights sleep in our two weeks of travels thru Ireland

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Dirreen House during our trip to Ireland. Mary is the most wonderful of people. She is very helpful when it comes to local travel...telling you how to get there…and the must see sights. And boy can she cook. The breakfast was great and her scones...absolutely delicious.

Keep in mind that when traveling to Ireland (Europe in general) that the rooms are small. But the house offers a cozy sitting and dining area.

For those who prefer the traditional B&Bs…you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed few days ago at Dirreen House, and for us it was one of the best B&B's we visited at our trip. It is owned by a very charming lady who cooks a delicious breakfast. For her it was a matter of course to get up early in the morning to make us a last Irish breakfast before we are leaving to airport.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We have stayed in Dirreen House this summer, which was very enjoyable. The house is beautiful, the room cosy and clean and the freshly cooked breakfast a wonderful start of the day. Mary is a lovely woman, who showed interest in what we visited and recommended some places of interest and a good restaurant.

We highly recommend Dirreen House!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying in Dirreen House bed and breakfast in June 2010. I was down their on a business trip for two days. One of my colleagues who had stayed here before had recommended this place to me.

Mary Casey runs the bed and breakfast. She is a very friendly host. Her breakfast was cooked fresh each morning and tasted great. SHe provides complimentary wi fi to her guests. Which i thought was a nice touch. It is outside the town so it is nice and peaceful. I got two very good nights sleep as a result of this.

I would highly recommend this guest house to any one visiting Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dirreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirreen House

Address: Tralee Road N22, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dirreen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirreen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.