We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice and affordable B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Lodge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Lake Lodge Guesthouse
Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Extremely nice and affordable B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Lake Lodge is only a few minutes walk away from the heart of Killarney so its excellently placed. Myself and my girlfriend booked to stay here for one night as a stop gap on our motorcycle tour of the south west but ended up staying for another night because the town and the B&B were so nice. Check in was hassle free and the breakfast was delicious. The rooms were nice and the thing that was most noticeable for my girlfriend was at how clean the rooms and B&B were (she's mad about that sort of stuff!). As a finishing note, I cant say enough nice things about the owners, truly lovely people. On the experience we had I don't think we'd stay anywhere else if the Lake Lodge Guesthouse was available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Owner's are friendly but room was a let down, shower was tiny, no tea or coffee makin facilities. Dogs barking all night and some lunatic deciding to mow the lawn at 8:45am did'nt help and window had to be left open because of the heat. Carpet needs to be cleaned badly, would i stay there again.....NO !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Lake Lodge B&B is average at best. The rooms are tiny, walls thin and doors noisy! You can hear squeeks in the floors and people talking in the next room. The owners are pleasant, but not overly so. Breakfast average. There are better places to stay, so keep looking! Carpets dirty, and not vaccuumed from the last guests! Fair hike to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just back from another trip to the bike fest , Again thank you to MARIE & DENIS for making our stay in Killarney such a wonderful experience . we arrived after travelling for 7 hrs and we were greeted with such warmth from both Denis and Marie that we soon forgot about the long journey we just endured. they showed us to our room and checked with us did we have any extra requirements that they could assist us with .Denis was a source of information re around were we could find suitable bars and restaurants that suited our dining requirements .The room was warm and comfortable and was more than ample for our needs . the breakfast each morning was cooked fresh as you came down to the dining room and there was an ample amount of cereals etc available . Marie ensures that everyone gets the breakfast they require and is pleasant and courteous at all times and they both make you feel so relaxed and welcome into their home .we cant recommend this B&B enough as we feel we have found the diamond in kerrys ring . Already planning our next trip to Killarney and we are looking forward to staying in LAKE LODGE again .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Absolutely outstanding stay with the most gracious, accommodating and helpful hosts.

My partner, Aine and I stayed at the Lake Lodge for one night and immediately resolved to return for a more extended period soon. Marie and Denis are Godsends. You may travel round the island of Ireland for a lifetime and a day and still not encounter more hospitable, genuinely caring and lovely hosts than Marie and Denis.

From the moment we arrived, they bent over backwards to ensure that our trip to Killarney was as memorable as it ought to be and it was with real regret that we left them (and Casey) the following morning.

From recommending places to eat and stay, to ringing ahead to our next destination to ensure we were treated as valued friends when we arrived, there is nothing that was too much to ask. Not that we had to ask for anything. It was done without prompting.

The rooms, location, price and the wonderful breakfast Marie cooked up in the morning would be enough on their own to earn the five star review. Marie and Denis simply make you wish there was a six star option.

Wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We couldn't have booked a better place to stay in Killarney! You could not wish to meet two more genuine, friendly and hospitable people than Marie and Denis. They made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. The guesthouse itself was fantastic. Room was warm, very comfortable and very clean. At breakfast the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Killarney or the surrounding area. If we're ever down that part of the country again, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

5 star Breakfast.. very nice owners, great location.. comfortable room, wifi.. reasonable price, highly recommend it.. perfect if looking for a nice quiet weekend away. Oh and great views from just outside. Recommend killarney too, great little town with great pubs and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lodge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.