We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Lodge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Lake Lodge Guesthouse
Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 142 Killarney B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

don't miss Killarney, it was the highlight of our trip
Lake Lodge was a really good place to stay, very adequate room and facilities, very good breakfast and very welcoming and helpful hosts. Easy walking distance to middle of town, excellent restaurant nearby (Kaynes)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    22
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
86
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here in September and as on previous stays a warm welcome awaited us from the lovely Marie and Denis. Booked a twin room which turned out to be very spacious and had an extra bed and a well appointed en suite. Great variety for breakfast including juice, fresh fruit, cereal and a freshly cooked full Irish breakfast with generous pots of tea and coffee. Fantastic value for money. Plenty of parking and just a ten minute walk to town centre. The owners are lovely people full of chat and good humour and nothing is too much trouble for them. Thank you again Denis and Marie I would definately recommend this guesthouse and will once again stay here next year.n
Deirdre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A major problem with the management of his establishment is the way they deal with comments and/or complaints with service. They are also very concerned with when breakfast finishes as one of the first things you are told on arrival is that breakfast finishes at 9:30 sharp!! (also notice on your bedside locker). I arrived down for breakfast at 9:20am with my wife following in a few minutes. Before I took a seat I had to give both our orders and before I could take a mouthful of cereal the 2 cooked breakfasts arrived on the table. I asked could my wife's be kept warm in the kitchen but I was told absolutely not and was told by one of the owners to either text or ring my wife to hurry up! When I complained about this I was told to leave as soon as we had our breakfast. I tried to complain to the other owner but he would not listen to me, telling me to leave and used foul language. This was shocking behaviour and feeling upset we left immediately.
On the only positives, the location is good, bedroom is comfortable and the food is also good.
However, with the great selection of accommodation in Killarney we would not recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skisnowing
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The pressure and heat of our shower was great! It was the highlight of our stay at this B&B.

Booking the room was easy enough -- we booked online, no issues there. I asked for a jacuzzi, based on trip advisor tips and it was not available.

We showed up at 6pm -- right within the acceptable check in window, no issues with check in.

The room was HOT when we walked into it -- someone had left the heater on. If you want a warm room, I have no doubt this property can accommodate that. For me, I like a cool room.. some people may even consider it a cold room to sleep in -- which was easily obtained by opening the window.

This hotel's location is ideal for travelers seeking to walk to downtown eateries -- which we did. Walking to the city center takes all of 15-20 minutes and provides you with a bunch of options of places to eat. We chose Mexican food. (I know! In Ireland! it was good though, read my review there if you like) There are a BUNCH of options downtown to eat and in true Irish fashion, a bunch of lively pubs to quench your thirst.

Wifi was speedy once you entered the 2,000 character security code. (kidding, it wasn't 2,000 characters, it only seemed that long).

Bed was *below* average for the B&b's we stayed at on our trip to Ireland (we stayed at 5 properties). My girlfriend thought the spring was protruding out of the mattress and I just noticed the indentations of the folks before me. While we still slept ok the worn mattress reminded us that this is indeed a budget accommodation.

The breakfast was standard -- Irish Breakfast. Being new to B&B's, we didn't know if there were other types of breakfasts that were appropriate to ask for while staying here so we just always got Irish Breakfast everywhere we went. Trust me, after as many Irish Breakfasts as we had, I'm not looking to eat pork or eggs again anytime soon. My suggestion to the owner, and other B&B's, would be to let your patrons know of their options. I was even considering telling the owner of one B&B later in the trip that I'm vegetarian so I could politely stay away from all the greasy food found in many of these breakfasts. Coffee was plentiful and refills were offered. The owner's wife spoke with us during breakfast and was very friendly.

All and all, I'd probably look for other B&B's in the area and if they were a similar price and had a favorable rating on trip advisor, i'd likely consider staying there instead. If I couldn't find another B&B in this area with a similar price point, I would stay here again -- did I mention the shower was amazing?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a function in Killarney last week and booked in the Lake Lodge. Plenty of parking. Stayed in a lovely single room with a very well appointed en suite. Breakfast was freshly cooked and huge. The owners are lovely, friendly folk and I will definitely be staying again next year.. Des Goodwin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed last Tuesday 10th of sept 2013 for one night and I cannot understand how anyone could complain about it.

First off its like walking into a very nice hotel,Denis and Marie are so welcoming it was like going to stay at a family members home.our room was top floor and was spotless! Lovely bed , immaculate toilet and shower , TV on the wall etc

Lake lodge wouldn't even be a ten minute walk In to the centre of Killarney town so the location is perfect.

We headed into the town that night for some dinner and a few drinks, Killarney holds something very special I can't put my finger on what that Is but it has something that few other towns in Ireland do, if it wasn't for us heading up the west coast we would have been staying another night in lake lodge.

We headed down for breakfast about 9am to be greeted by Marie who is such a lovely woman so heart warming and genuine ( a massive contrast from the unemotional , detached people you get in hotels) the breakfast room is huge and so tastefully decorated (infact the whole house is ), again everything immaculate .theres a choice if all different fruits ,ceriel etc then you can get full Irish,big proper pots of tea with a few tea bags have it nice and strong !

I could write all day about Denis,Marie,lake lodge and Killarney but why spoil it for you, all I will say We will definality stay again with them,

Thanks for everything and take care.

Robert and Kerry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived in Killarney by train and underestimated how far Lake Lodge Guest House was to walk. It was a steady 20 minutes away.

The sign in the front garden advertises

"Dedicated to your absolute comfort. 14 Superior Guest Rooms : en-suite : Jacuzzi : tv., One of Killarney's well kept secrets"

The first that greets you when you leave the reception area and head up the stairs is a dirty carpet.
Our room had a double and a single bed. The pillows were too thin, the mattress "sagged" when you sat on it so you were actually on the bed base. There's no kettle - so no tea / coffee making facilities.

The en-suite doesn't have any shelves to put your toiletries on (the only "shelf" is the toilet cistern) and there's no where, once in the shower, for soap etc as there's no shelf in there.

Don't expect complimentary toiletries. All you get a small bar of soap. The towels are wafer thin. The TV (although functional) is an old CRT rather than a modern LCD / TFT variety.

Breakfast is 08:00 to 09:30 (sharp !!).

A table is laid out with a couple of types of cereals, some fruit and yoghurts. There's a "full" Irish Breakfast which is filling but we found to be a little too greasy.

We'd read comments about how nice the owners were - but thought they were a little "off-hand" until it was time to leave - then we couldn't get away as they were so busy chatting.

We have stayed in some absolutely fantastic B&B's in Eire. Sadly Lake Lodge is not one of them. However, Killarney is a very expensive place and maybe we shouldn't be too picky about the place considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Lake Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lodge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.